Regular price: $28.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of We Were Liars and How I Live Now comes an addictive, sexy, twisty YA novel you won't want to miss.

Every October, Cara and her family become inexplicably and unavoidably accident prone. Some years it's bad, like the season when her father died, and some years it's just a lot of cuts and scrapes. This accident season - when Cara; her ex-stepbrother, Sam; and her best friend, Bea, are 17 - is going to be a bad one. But not for the reasons they think.

Cara is about to learn that not all the scars left by the accident season are physical: There's a long-hidden family secret underneath the bumps and bruises. This is the year Cara will finally fall desperately in love, when she'll start discovering the painful truth about the adults in her life, and when she'll uncover the dark origins of the accident season - whether she's ready or not.

©2015 Moïra Fowley-Doyle (P)2015 Listening Library

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    60
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Different in all the good ways.

This won't be a book for everyone, because of the themes of ghosts, monsters, and secrets that hide in families. The characters are oddly authentic and relatable if you have similar experiences. The writing is whimsical and dark at the same time, and I greatly enjoyed the performance.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cairhys
  • GRANTSVILLE, UT, US
  • 01-07-17

Read this book!

The Accident Season is creepy, beautiful, strange, lovely, haunting, powerful, and sad: all in one.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very interesting story

What made the experience of listening to The Accident Season the most enjoyable?

I loved the way the person reading it really felt like Cara. It was interesting way to tell a sad story. I had an experience that was similar to the one told, where I replaced hurt/sadness with fantasy. Books like these make me feel a little bit more sane!

What did you like best about this story?

The imagery was beautiful & I enjoyed the struggle between the characters to figure out what "normal" is.

Have you listened to any of Colby Minifie’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

No

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The moment of understanding what has really happened to Cara and her siblings. You really understand what made her mother worry so much & why "accidents happen"

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Starts out cute, but does not stay that way

The story starts out cute, a creative tale of horror anticipating the close of October. But as the story progresses in this YA novel, an urge builds up in me to grab a knife and slice off the Y. At least to ward off unwary readers not comfortable with horror in drunken orgies and from abusive step Dads. And a few other themes. That done, the sophistication of the telling of the story, not the joy of reading it, is what I remember, so I give it high marks.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Creepy Coming of Age Story

This is one of those books that is creepy and disturbing without being too much. The dab of magical realism involved in the story echoes that of Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane. I recommend this to anyone in the mood for a good metaphor.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

dreamlike

Wonderful narrator! her voice made the story so much more enjoyable. it was like listening to a dream.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A sweet, haunting story

This book feels like a lovely escape into a world that feels real, but with a touch of mystery.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful