Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Fans of The Help and Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will delight in this comic novel of family secrets by acclaimed author Susan Gabriel (The Secret Sense of Wildflower, a Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2012 and an Amazon number one best seller).

In Savannah, Georgia, one woman holds all the secrets. When she dies of a possible voodoo curse, the secrets start coming out. The ghosts are upset. And for the Temple family women, everything is about to change forever.

Aristocratic 80-year-old Iris Temple has a fondness for exotic meats, and her poison-pen Book of Secrets keeps her family and all of Savannah's elites in line. Shortly after Iris dies, compromising tidbits from the Book of Secrets are mysteriously published in the newspaper, and the quiet lives of the Temple family women explode.

Iris' estranged daughter, Rose, escaped to Wyoming 20 years ago and married a cowboy. Will she accept the outrageous terms of the will?

Queenie, Iris' black half sister, lives in the historic family mansion, suffering Iris' arrogant ways as her personal assistant. After all she's tolerated with Iris, will she inherit the mansion, as promised?

One hundred-year-old Old Sally, who keeps the old Gullah traditions alive, is Queenie's mother by her white employer, Iris' father. For Rose, she is the mother Iris could never be. Did Old Sally put a voodoo curse on Iris?

When they discover who will inherit the historic family mansion and Iris' multimillion- dollar estate, the whole boisterous business of secrets forces the women into challenging - and sometimes hilarious - situations as they put the past to rest and forge a brighter future.

Temple Secrets is Southern Gothic fiction at its best. If you like strong women, plots full of twists and turns, characters who are funny and unpredictable, and sibling rivalry of biblical proportions, you'll love Susan Gabriel's rollicking tale of the cost of keeping secrets, the healing that comes with their exposure, and the bliss of coming home again.

Buy Temple Secrets and start unlocking the mysteries today!

©2015 Susan Gabriel (P)2015 Susan Gabriel

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    57
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    7

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Southern Fiction at its Finest

This novel had me in its grasp from the very beginning to the very end. The characters came alive and almost felt like my own family. I was not always sure where the story was heading, and that made for an exciting read - never a dull moment. Anyone who likes Southern charm, quirky relatives, and a bit of the supernatural will love this book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Slow!

Slow with a ver predictable end. Would be much better read than listened to because a lot of the book didn’t have to do with anything.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great southern fiction...loved it...

was hooked from the beginning..... a great funny witty southern read. my favorite book so far this year.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding!

This audiobook was wonderful. Each of the characters had strong personalities thanks to the writer, and the narrator brilliantly became each character. Not a small feat with the diversity of the individual personalities. I really enjoyed the story and look forward to the sequel.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

stick with it

it started a little slow but got much better as it went along. wish it had more details on the past

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The story is good, although told a bit melodramatic...

I wish I read it instead of listened to it. The reader was too melodramatic at times...

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Historical fiction at its best

I love Georgia history, Savannah and its stories. Beautiful characters and surroundings. You can almost see what the reader is reading.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this story! Could not stop listening!

Great story about the quirkiness of the South. Great narration. Characters were believable and well developed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved It From Start To Finish!

Thoroughly enjoyable story. Eccentric characters, ancient wisdom, and old secrets bubbling to the surface are expertly woven together in this wonderful southern tale - a true delight to listen to. Excellently performed by this very talented narrator.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Temple Secrets

I enjoyed this book with all of the twists and turns and secrets. Great book