adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Fans of The Help and Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will delight in this comic novel of family secrets by acclaimed author Susan Gabriel (The Secret Sense of Wildflower, a Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2012 and an Amazon number one best seller).

In Savannah, Georgia, one woman holds all the secrets. When she dies of a possible voodoo curse, the secrets start coming out. The ghosts are upset. And for the Temple family women, everything is about to change forever.

Aristocratic 80-year-old Iris Temple has a fondness for exotic meats, and her poison-pen Book of Secrets keeps her family and all of Savannah's elites in line. Shortly after Iris dies, compromising tidbits from the Book of Secrets are mysteriously published in the newspaper, and the quiet lives of the Temple family women explode.

Iris' estranged daughter, Rose, escaped to Wyoming 20 years ago and married a cowboy. Will she accept the outrageous terms of the will?

Queenie, Iris' black half sister, lives in the historic family mansion, suffering Iris' arrogant ways as her personal assistant. After all she's tolerated with Iris, will she inherit the mansion, as promised?

One hundred-year-old Old Sally, who keeps the old Gullah traditions alive, is Queenie's mother by her white employer, Iris' father. For Rose, she is the mother Iris could never be. Did Old Sally put a voodoo curse on Iris?

When they discover who will inherit the historic family mansion and Iris' multimillion- dollar estate, the whole boisterous business of secrets forces the women into challenging - and sometimes hilarious - situations as they put the past to rest and forge a brighter future.

Temple Secrets is Southern Gothic fiction at its best. If you like strong women, plots full of twists and turns, characters who are funny and unpredictable, and sibling rivalry of biblical proportions, you'll love Susan Gabriel's rollicking tale of the cost of keeping secrets, the healing that comes with their exposure, and the bliss of coming home again.

Buy Temple Secrets and start unlocking the mysteries today!

©2015 Susan Gabriel (P)2015 Susan Gabriel

What listeners say about Temple Secrets

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    209
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    47
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    13
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    197
  • 4 Stars
    62
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    12
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    185
  • 4 Stars
    62
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Southern Fiction at its Finest

This novel had me in its grasp from the very beginning to the very end. The characters came alive and almost felt like my own family. I was not always sure where the story was heading, and that made for an exciting read - never a dull moment. Anyone who likes Southern charm, quirky relatives, and a bit of the supernatural will love this book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The story is good, although told a bit melodramatic...

I wish I read it instead of listened to it. The reader was too melodramatic at times...

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

awesome

love it so far not finished yet but all of susan gabriel's books are great

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An Entertaining

The story was good but understand it gives credit to engaging in the spirit world of ghosts & voodoo-like spells. The story moved forward at a continuous pace making me eager for each of my listening sessions. I found it amusing when the narrator would periodically/ randomly (various characters) switch to a perfect Dixie Carter ( Designing Women sitcom) accent. Each time the narrator randomly switched accents it seemed as if she was trying to become the Julia Sugarbaker character so famously noted for her unique way of speaking on the sitcom. Overall I enjoyed the narration and the story. I will read the next book by this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Savannah Old Secrets...A Roaring Good Time!

I loved this book. It was entertaining with great characters. Secrets abound. I couldn't wait to turn the page!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Savannah secrets?

I wasn't sure about this book when I started it... However, by the time I was finished with it I fell in love with most of the characters (hssss for a couple... Hsss is what the Shakespearean audience used to do when the villain walked in!). and the story line...

I loved the interaction between the characters and the twist and turns! I am looking forward to getting the sequel!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Temple Secrets

Found this book to be entertaining but not especially good hoping the next in the series will be better.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A must read!

Loved the book, characters and narration! Savannah is one of my favorite places to visit and I could envision the scenery all through the book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Book

It was entertaining, funny, and I really enjoyed the story.
I really loved this book!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story but needed an editor!

The idea for this story was quite clever but goodness it droned on and on. An editor could have made this book great!