Regular price: $28.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A beautiful love story for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon: Two teens find their way back to each other in a bookstore full of secrets and crushes, grief and hope - and letters hidden between the pages.

Years ago Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved away, she tucked a love letter into his favorite book in his family's bookshop. She waited. But Henry never came.

Now Rachel has returned to the city - and to the bookshop - to work alongside the boy she'd rather not see, if at all possible, for the rest of her life. But Rachel needs the distraction. Her brother drowned months ago, and she can't feel anything anymore.

As Henry and Rachel work side by side - surrounded by books, watching love stories unfold, exchanging letters between the pages - they find hope in each other. Because life may be uncontrollable, even unbearable sometimes. But it's possible that words, and love, and second chances are enough.

©2017 Cath Crowley (P)2017 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"One of the loveliest, most exquisitely beautiful books I've read in a very long time...I didn't just read the pages, I lived in them." (Jennifer Niven, New York Times best-selling author of All the Bright Places)
"Original, wise, and essential.... This love story is an ode to words and life." (Kirkus Reviews)
"Reading Words in Deep Blue feels a little bit like a slow dance, or falling in love, or swimming in the ocean on a rainy day. It's a stunning reminder of the power of words and books and stories that will leave your heart full and heavy and hungry for more. Cath Crowley is magic." (Krystal Sutherland, author of Our Chemical Hearts)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    74
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    71
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    5

Story

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    68
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Sweet yet Sorrowful Story

Any additional comments?

Achingly heartbreaking book, but the characters begin to learn how to move on by the end.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Beautiful writing & wonderfully developed characte

I adored this book. The imagery was unreal and characters stunningly portrayed. loved loved loved it.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Absolutely AMAZING.

From the start till the end and absolutely amazing book. Well worth the time and money definitely. An amazing read!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

I Adored This Book About Books!

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Absolutely!

Any additional comments?

I'll admit I'm a sucker for books centered around books. However, this book is absolutely amazing. <br/><br/>I now want to create a letter library in our home but I'll need to get over my aversion to writing and highlighting books. In the interests of my conscience, we'll be using pre-owned books.