Regular price: $35.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From the New York Times best-selling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.

Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

Kit: I don't know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I'm going through. How could they? I don't even understand.

David: In the 622 days I've attended Mapleview High, Kit Lowell is the first person to sit at my lunch table. I mean, I've never once sat with someone until now. "So your dad is dead", I say to Kit, because this is a fact I've recently learned about her.

When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David. Kit appreciates David's blunt honesty - in fact, she finds it bizarrely refreshing. David welcomes Kit's attention and her inquisitive nature. When she asks for his help figuring out the how and why of her dad's tragic car accident, David is all in. But neither of them can predict what they'll find. Can their friendship survive the truth?

©2017 Julie Buxbaum (P)2017 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"Charming, funny, and deeply affecting all at the same time." (Nicola Yoon, New York Times best-selling author of Everything, Everything and The Sun Is Also a Star)
"Heartfelt, charming, deep, and real. I love it with all my heart." (Jennifer Niven, New York Times best-selling author of All the Bright Places)
"Told in the alternating voices of a girl whose world has been shattered and a boy who is the only person in her life who sees her clearly, What to Say Next is about the power of connection and the beauty of compassion. With sensitivity, wisdom, and heart, Julie Buxbaum weaves a story in which loss and grieving are balanced by humor and insight. This novel is so compulsively readable that you'll be surprised how deeply your emotions are stirred." (Christina Baker Kline, author of the New York Times best seller Orphan Train)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    60
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    62
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    57
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Doha
  • New York, NY, United States
  • 09-06-17

Couldn't Put It Down !!

Oh my god .. OH MY GOD .. that was so so good :D
I think Julie Buxbaum will be on the list of my favorite authors .. I really adored this book to no end and I devoured every word that I couldn't put it down until I finished it .. ahh it feels so good to read such a great book
David is amazing both in representation and in character and I really felt for him and loved him so much .. Kit is a nice person too and both of them has a great dynamic together, most recommended if you want a story about facing yourself and what it means to be you :))

The Narration was AMAZING both of them did a great job to bring the story to life, amazing work, totally worth the credit :D

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Astonishing

"A brillantly delighful, yet astonishing captivation through an intense array of emotional expostions on all levels of the human experience. Just when you think it absolutely can not get any worst or better, it does, and with so much passion, wit, conviction and morale consciousness.

I recommend this novel for anyone who has a heart, mind, or soul 100%."

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Loved it!

I have a brother with autism who is nothing like David in this book, but David clearly has what my brother does. I loved this book so much! I had no idea it had anything to do with autism when I started reading it and it was a great surprise for me. This is the first book I have read by this author, but will read them all now.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Happy Tears!

I love this story more than words can say. Kit and David are wonderfully round characters. Buxbaum brings them to life vividly and masterfully. This is a must read.