We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
What to Say Next Audiobook

What to Say Next

Regular Price:$35.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

From the New York Times best-selling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.

Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

Kit: I don't know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I'm going through. How could they? I don't even understand.

David: In the 622 days I've attended Mapleview High, Kit Lowell is the first person to sit at my lunch table. I mean, I've never once sat with someone until now. "So your dad is dead", I say to Kit, because this is a fact I've recently learned about her.

When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David. Kit appreciates David's blunt honesty - in fact, she finds it bizarrely refreshing. David welcomes Kit's attention and her inquisitive nature. When she asks for his help figuring out the how and why of her dad's tragic car accident, David is all in. But neither of them can predict what they'll find. Can their friendship survive the truth?

©2017 Julie Buxbaum (P)2017 Listening Library

What the Critics Say

"Charming, funny, and deeply affecting all at the same time." (Nicola Yoon, New York Times best-selling author of Everything, Everything and The Sun Is Also a Star)

"Heartfelt, charming, deep, and real. I love it with all my heart." (Jennifer Niven, New York Times best-selling author of All the Bright Places)

"Told in the alternating voices of a girl whose world has been shattered and a boy who is the only person in her life who sees her clearly, What to Say Next is about the power of connection and the beauty of compassion. With sensitivity, wisdom, and heart, Julie Buxbaum weaves a story in which loss and grieving are balanced by humor and insight. This novel is so compulsively readable that you'll be surprised how deeply your emotions are stirred." (Christina Baker Kline, author of the New York Times best seller Orphan Train)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (56 )
5 star
 (41)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.6 (56 )
5 star
 (40)
4 star
 (13)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.8 (55 )
5 star
 (44)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Krystal Parker 10-06-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Astonishing"

    "A brillantly delighful, yet astonishing captivation through an intense array of emotional expostions on all levels of the human experience. Just when you think it absolutely can not get any worst or better, it does, and with so much passion, wit, conviction and morale consciousness.

    I recommend this novel for anyone who has a heart, mind, or soul 100%."

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Gina 09-29-17
    Gina 09-29-17 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    48
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it!"

    I have a brother with autism who is nothing like David in this book, but David clearly has what my brother does. I loved this book so much! I had no idea it had anything to do with autism when I started reading it and it was a great surprise for me. This is the first book I have read by this author, but will read them all now.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Doha New York, NY, United States 09-06-17
    Doha New York, NY, United States 09-06-17 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    151
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    169
    167
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    26
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Couldn't Put It Down !!"

    Oh my god .. OH MY GOD .. that was so so good :D
    I think Julie Buxbaum will be on the list of my favorite authors .. I really adored this book to no end and I devoured every word that I couldn't put it down until I finished it .. ahh it feels so good to read such a great book
    David is amazing both in representation and in character and I really felt for him and loved him so much .. Kit is a nice person too and both of them has a great dynamic together, most recommended if you want a story about facing yourself and what it means to be you :))

    The Narration was AMAZING both of them did a great job to bring the story to life, amazing work, totally worth the credit :D

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jbay 08-20-17
    Jbay 08-20-17 Member Since 2015
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    9
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Happy Tears!"

    I love this story more than words can say. Kit and David are wonderfully round characters. Buxbaum brings them to life vividly and masterfully. This is a must read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.