We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The King of Attolia Audiobook

The King of Attolia

Regular Price:$28.51
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Discover the world of the Queen's Thief

New York Times best-selling author Megan Whalen Turner's entrancing and award-winning Queen's Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner's Queen's Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin.

Eugenides, no stranger to desperate circumstances, has gotten himself into difficulties he can't get out of. Used to being treated with a certain measure of wariness, if not respect, he suffers the pranks, insults, and intrigue of the Attolian court with dwindling patience. As usual, nothing is as it appears when he rescues a hot-headed young soldier in the Palace Guard. The Queen's Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans and have been honored with glowing reviews, "best of" citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, A Conspiracy of Kings, and Thick as Thieves, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen's Thief.

©2006 Megan Whalen Turner (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What the Critics Say

"One of the most fascinating and original children's fantasies to appear in years...Rarely does one see a hero as psychologically knowing and irresistibly attractive as Turner's Thief." (The Horn Book)

"A winner." (Kirkus Reviews )

"Eugenides, the former Thief of Eddis, is back and just as clever as ever." (School Library Journal )

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.8 (122 )
5 star
 (103)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.7 (115 )
5 star
 (95)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.8 (115 )
5 star
 (95)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Anonymous 06-05-17
    06-05-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "By far my favourite book in a long time."

    Unique and captivating story, amazing characters. Probably the best series in terms of plot, setting, and character relationships. Narrator did a fantastic job.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JONATHAN Denver, CO 05-26-17
    JONATHAN Denver, CO 05-26-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narrator makes the story colorful."

    The narrator really brings this character driven story to life. It is exciting and moving, and another great chapter in the life of Eugenides.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kyahgirl Alberta 11-08-17
    Kyahgirl Alberta 11-08-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    56
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    83
    62
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Favorite Character; favorite book"

    5/5; 5 stars; A+

    I LOVED this book! Megan Whalen Turner has created a character of such depth and complexity in Eugenides that I am in awe. He has been revealed, bit by bit, throughout The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, and now The King of Attolia. But only now does the reader see the whole picture.
    I am not normally enthused about reading books with court intrigue and political maneuvering but this book was so much more than that. It was a beautiful study in human relations, personality profiles, and my favorite, the capacity of humans to grow, change, learn, and be humbled.

    I first read the paperback a few years ago and recently listened to the audio version with Steve West narrating. It does not disappoint.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    LoLaJ 10-16-17
    LoLaJ 10-16-17 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "My favorite in the series"

    This is my favorite of The Queen's Thief series. I've read it several times in print and this is my first in audio. I've come to love Steve West's narration of this series, and this book is no exception. It is an even richer experience to hear Gen's tale come to life, and I can't wait to hear the next installment.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carmen ZRO 08-23-17
    Carmen ZRO 08-23-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Perfect"
    If you could sum up The King of Attolia in three words, what would they be?

    It is awesome (Three words are not enough!)


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Eugenides. Do I really need to say why? Ok: he's cunning, sweet, human, funny. Knowing the story was centered on him made my day and this book perfect.


    Which character – as performed by Steve West – was your favorite?

    I can't choose. All of them were incredibly performed, so easy to know who was talking each time, the feeling, all of it. I just found a new must listen to narrator.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    It made me cry, laugh, grind my teeth, squint my eyes, and hold my breath.


    Any additional comments?

    Steve west did an excellent job narrating this book, so I look forward to listen to the rest of the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.