Regular price: $28.51

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Discover the world of the Queen's Thief

New York Times best-selling author Megan Whalen Turner's entrancing and award-winning Queen's Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner's Queen's Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin.

Eugenides, no stranger to desperate circumstances, has gotten himself into difficulties he can't get out of. Used to being treated with a certain measure of wariness, if not respect, he suffers the pranks, insults, and intrigue of the Attolian court with dwindling patience. As usual, nothing is as it appears when he rescues a hot-headed young soldier in the Palace Guard. The Queen's Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans and have been honored with glowing reviews, "best of" citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, A Conspiracy of Kings, and Thick as Thieves, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen's Thief.

©2006 Megan Whalen Turner (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"One of the most fascinating and original children's fantasies to appear in years...Rarely does one see a hero as psychologically knowing and irresistibly attractive as Turner's Thief." (The Horn Book)
"A winner." (Kirkus Reviews )
"Eugenides, the former Thief of Eddis, is back and just as clever as ever." (School Library Journal )

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    108
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    99
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    100
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

By far my favourite book in a long time.

Unique and captivating story, amazing characters. Probably the best series in terms of plot, setting, and character relationships. Narrator did a fantastic job.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Narrator makes the story colorful.

The narrator really brings this character driven story to life. It is exciting and moving, and another great chapter in the life of Eugenides.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Love, love, love this book!

Megan Whalen Turner is an excellent writer and Steve West is an awesome narrator. You really need to read this book! You won't regret it. In the tradition of the Scarlet Pimpernel, Eugenides, the thief of Eddis will steal your heart through this story.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Favorite Character; favorite book

5/5; 5 stars; A+

I LOVED this book! Megan Whalen Turner has created a character of such depth and complexity in Eugenides that I am in awe. He has been revealed, bit by bit, throughout The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, and now The King of Attolia. But only now does the reader see the whole picture.
I am not normally enthused about reading books with court intrigue and political maneuvering but this book was so much more than that. It was a beautiful study in human relations, personality profiles, and my favorite, the capacity of humans to grow, change, learn, and be humbled.

I first read the paperback a few years ago and recently listened to the audio version with Steve West narrating. It does not disappoint.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

My favorite in the series

This is my favorite of The Queen's Thief series. I've read it several times in print and this is my first in audio. I've come to love Steve West's narration of this series, and this book is no exception. It is an even richer experience to hear Gen's tale come to life, and I can't wait to hear the next installment.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Perfect

If you could sum up The King of Attolia in three words, what would they be?

It is awesome (Three words are not enough!)

Who was your favorite character and why?

Eugenides. Do I really need to say why? Ok: he's cunning, sweet, human, funny. Knowing the story was centered on him made my day and this book perfect.

Which character – as performed by Steve West – was your favorite?

I can't choose. All of them were incredibly performed, so easy to know who was talking each time, the feeling, all of it. I just found a new must listen to narrator.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

It made me cry, laugh, grind my teeth, squint my eyes, and hold my breath.

Any additional comments?

Steve west did an excellent job narrating this book, so I look forward to listen to the rest of the series.