We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Crown's Fate Audiobook

The Crown's Fate

Regular Price:$28.51
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The gorgeous and darkly compelling sequel to The Crown's Game - perfect for fans of Red Queen and Shadow and Bone.

Magic is growing, shadows are rising, and the throne is at stake...

Russia is on the brink of great change. Pasha's coronation approaches, and Vika is now the Imperial Enchanter, but the role she once coveted may be more difficult - and dangerous - than she ever expected.

Pasha is grappling with his own problems - his legitimacy is in doubt, the girl he loves loathes him, and he believes his best friend is dead. When a challenger to the throne emerges - and with the magic in Russia growing rapidly - Pasha must do whatever it takes to keep his position and protect his kingdom.

For Nikolai, the ending of The Crown's Game stung deeply. Although he just managed to escape death, Nikolai remains alone, a shadow hidden in a not-quite-real world of his own creation. But when he's given a second chance at life - tied to a dark price - Nikolai must decide just how far he's willing to go to return to the world.

With revolution on the rise, dangerous new magic rearing up, and a tsardom up for the taking, Vika, Nikolai, and Pasha must fight - or face the destruction of not only their world but also themselves.

©2017 Evelyn Skye (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (66 )
5 star
 (39)
4 star
 (17)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.3 (63 )
5 star
 (35)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.7 (63 )
5 star
 (50)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amazon Customer 10-04-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    33
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good, but..."

    [SPOILER] I hated that my favorite character turned dark and unrecognizable until the every end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jeffrey B Nattania Northern VA 09-10-17
    Jeffrey B Nattania Northern VA 09-10-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    34
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    122
    75
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Fate Fit For Czar"

    Talk about action, decide, devotion and a death. This book really had all you, as a young adult or older, could desire in a great tale. Well written , as most fables are, this story takes you on a journey to a culture rich in history and magic. Truly recommend this for any patient reader, for it takes a while to get into, but rewards in the end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brittany Illinois 08-11-17
    Brittany Illinois 08-11-17 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    39
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    85
    85
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A lot more political than the first"

    ** Warning: This review DOES contain spoilers for the book! I will be talking about specifics! **

    THE CROWN’S GAME was one of my favorite reads of 2016 and I absolutely loved how much it reminded me of THE NIGHT CIRCUS in so many ways (which I actually just finished re-reading and it cemented this feeling even more)! Naturally, I was very excited to read THE CROWN’S FATE and it was one of my most anticipated reads of 2017! It’s always so hard when I have an most-anticipate read coming up because I tend to hype the book up for myself so it was an interesting experience reading THE CROWN’S FATE!

    There’s no way I can talk about this book without specific spoilers, so first I’ll talk about some non-spoilery things! I loved that this world felt the same! There are some times with sequels that it feels like a totally different book but I was able to fall back into this world right where I left off.
    The world where we left it after THE CROWN’S GAME was much more political and while I don’t mind that, I did miss some of that fun and a “challenge” aspect of THE CROWN’S GAME itself (the game, not the book) because it was a fun structure and involved some creativity on the characters’ parts to explore their abilities.
    And I still love Pasha. He was very different in this book because of all the political ramifications and situations that he had to deal with so he just wasn’t as much fun but I still loved his spirit.

    Okay, so here are the spoilers. While the world felt the same, why why whyyyyy did we have to have Nikolai turn bad?! Nikolai was too pure and sweet and precious and he was my favorite part of the whole darn book, so I was SO SAD to see that his character was essentially removed from the story line since his whole personality changed. I know it was because of REASONS, yes, but still. My favorite part of this story was changed and to boot, that affected the romance too which I wanted to see developed even MORE but that got put on hold because “bad” Nikolai, of course, wasn’t pursuing romance. SIGH. The book was still enjoyable but this changed so many things and took away those little nuances that really had me enjoying the series so much!

    I also just wanted more magic…? The magic involved in this book was kind of dark, which is cool, I can appreciate dark magic… But I missed that sparring between Vika and Nikolai so much. I guess I’m just tired of everything ending in war or battles (which is silly considering that this series is also kiiiiind of historical fiction, with magic) so I didn’t really want to see things come to that. I just really loved the structure of the Game itself, which encouraged the enchanters to grow and explore their powers and THE CROWN’S FATE was more of a desperate battle for power or to stop that power, so it lost that magic and that spark that I loved so much. I didn’t feel as enchanted, no pun intended.

    I DID appreciate that things didn’t turn out too sunshine-y though. I actually liked what happened to Vika in the end, actually. There has to be something in the events of war because no one comes out wholly unscathed and it’s a great shock to readers when something happens to a main character, even if it’s not a death. I applaud Evelyn Skye for taking it there like so many other authors have avoided. I know it’s hard to have something difficult happen to your characters without a way to “save” them but these things need to be done to keep things realistic or at least not a cheesy happy ending.

    When it comes down to it, this was not the ending I was expecting or hoping for the series but I also appreciated how it wrapped up. I think I just wanted more romance and more Nikolai. Always more Nikolai.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nicole 06-05-17
    Nicole 06-05-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    67
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Where did the riveting connection go?"

    Vika's connection with both Pasha and Nikolai were absent this entire book. Both boys still love her and it's mentioned off handedly here and there but Vika seemed to be off in her own little world feeling like she'd be better of if she saw neither again. The first book had spark, magic, the ultimate love triangle, a forbidden connection between two enchanters that I couldn't get enough of. Everything died in book 2.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.