Regular price: $35.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance - perfect for fans of Ally Carter

Avery West's newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.

To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle - beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family - but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she's falling in love with.

©2014 Maggie Hall (P)2014 Listening Library

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    340
  • 4 Stars
    250
  • 3 Stars
    127
  • 2 Stars
    38
  • 1 Stars
    19

Performance

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    426
  • 4 Stars
    198
  • 3 Stars
    51
  • 2 Stars
    25
  • 1 Stars
    7

Story

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    300
  • 4 Stars
    218
  • 3 Stars
    120
  • 2 Stars
    46
  • 1 Stars
    24
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Hooked on Julia Whelan

This was my first time listening to a book narrated by Julia Whelan, and I'm officially a fan-girl. She did an excellent job with the stories and the characters (and the Russian accents!), and I'm eager to find my next listen with her at the helm.

The Conspiracy of Us was a fresh, Da Vinci Code-esque book for YA fans. I loved the Russian/Alexander the Great angle -- highly original given that most conspiracy / historical fiction books these days center on historical figures from Italy/France etc. The book is begging for a sequel, and I can only hope that Hall doesn't keep us waiting too long!

17 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Perfect for My Roadtrip

Last weekend I took a road trip with my toddler. I was facing ten hours of driving with only a nonverbal and mostly asleep passenger as company: I needed something that would keep me awake, engaged, and on the edge of my seat, but not scandalize my little guy’s delicate ears (he’s at that stage where he understands WAY more than he lets on). A recommendation from fellow editor Katie, The Conspiracy of Us, fit the bill perfectly. The publisher describes it as a Da Vinci Code with teens, and while this is fairly accurate, I think it undersells it somewhat. This first book in Maggie Hall’s planned trilogy is intriguing but light, with touches of romance, and plenty of fast-paced action. Enter one world-controlling secret organization and a high-stakes treasure hunt, and my imagination was completely captured. Julia Whelan’s accents (necessary with such an international cast of characters) were spot on and totally sucked me right into the story. And best of all, it wrapped up exactly as I pulled back into town at the end of my trip!

16 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

I enjoyed this one!

Any additional comments?

I went into this book with zero reservations or expectations. Honestly, I snagged this up with my credit because the narrator was recommended to be by another avid audiobook listener. I was pleasantly surprised by both the book and Julia’s narration.<br/><br/>The plot – while far-fetched – was fun and beyond intriguing. It’s fast pace, mystery and non stop action had my gripping my steering wheel and listening way beyond my break times. The romance, while subtle, was so cute and added flare of the “forbidden” of it made it that much sweeter. There is a slight hint at a possible triangle – but I don’t think it will go that far.<br/><br/>Julia is a fantastic narrator! I can see why she is a favorite (and now one of mine). I always have issues when the narrator sounds too mature for the character and that just was not the case with The Conspiracy of Us. There are many different accents in this book and she nailed each one.<br/><br/>Also, hello cliff hanger! Absolutely adored this one!

13 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Impressive narration for an intriguing story!

Story was intriguing and entertaining. Very much have a love/hate relationship with some of the characters. Julia Whelan did an amazing job with the all different accents and there were many. Can't Wait for the next book!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Captivating

I thoroughly enjoyed this audio book. The writing was captivating and the reading performance was superb. I look forward to the second book.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • cristina
  • Somerville, MA, United States
  • 01-12-16

Warning: it's clearly Part One

Entertaining and fun if you like fantasy (I do). And yet, I was unprepared for the ending, which leaves you hanging (the reason why the "overall" score is three stars even though I'm giving the story four). Still, I will quickly download the sequel when it arrives.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Stacey
  • FRESNO, CA, United States
  • 03-19-15

Great book but ended on a sequel note.

I enjoyed this book. It had a fast pace and action. I did wish the heroine had a few more fighting skills: with a blade or kick ass karate. She seemed to "throw up" a lot. But overall I liked her as she was intelligent and well-read. She figured out all the clues to the mandate. She is also 16 so this may be more of a YA selection. The narrator was very good and kept the pace and interest going. I am looking forward to a sequel ASAP.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Too wordy!

I was very disappointed in this book after reading all the reviews. The author goes on and on and drags things out way to long. A good part in the book gets lost because the author feels the need to over explain everything. Thus ruining a good part of the book. The main character drives me batty. She is very whiney. The narrator was the best part of the book.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

NOT like da vinci's code! more like twilight....

Would you try another book from Maggie Hall and/or Julia Whelan?

No I would not try a another book by maggie hall. This book was far too childish for me.

What was most disappointing about Maggie Hall’s story?

cliche romantic intrigue.

What about Julia Whelan’s performance did you like?

Julia Whelan's performance was great, but the story was so ridiculous I only listened to half of it

8 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Absolutely amazing!

I recommend this to anyone who is seeking adventure, thrills, and reading interpersonal connections taking place. I almost wished there were separate male voices for the Jack and Stellan, but the narrator did a pretty good job with male voices and accents. I really hope for more books following this to come!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful