We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Tell Me Three Things Audiobook

Tell Me Three Things

Regular Price:$32.20
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

What if the person you need the most is someone you've never met?

Julie Buxbaum mixes comedy and tragedy, love and loss, pain and elation, in her debut YA novel whose characters will come to feel like friends. Tell Me Three Things will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart.

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least that's what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she's thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

It's been barely two years since her mother's death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son. In a leap of faith - or an act of complete desperation - Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can't help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

©2016 Julie Buxbaum (P)2016 Listening Library

What the Critics Say

"Here are three things about this book: (1) It's sweet and funny and romantic; (2) the mystery at the heart of the story will keep you turning the pages; (3) I have a feeling you'll be very happy you read it." (Jennifer E. Smith, author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight)

"Three Things about this novel: (1) I loved it. (2) No, really, I LOVED it. (3) I wish I could tell every teen to read it. Buxbaum's book sounds, reads, breathes, worries, and soars like real adolescents do." (Jodi Picoult, New York Times best-selling author of Leaving Time and Off the Page)

"The desire to find out whether Jessie's real-life and virtual crushes are one and the same will keep [readers] turning the pages as quickly as possible." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (380 )
5 star
 (241)
4 star
 (105)
3 star
 (29)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.5 (356 )
5 star
 (224)
4 star
 (95)
3 star
 (34)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.6 (356 )
5 star
 (257)
4 star
 (76)
3 star
 (17)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    irishred507 03-27-17
    irishred507 03-27-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    65
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    91
    82
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Cute story"

    I listened to this book because it was on a list of unputdownable books, and that particular blogger said it was one of her favorite reads of the year. While I wouldn't at all consider it unputdownable or anything close to a favorite, it was a cute and sweet story. It's definitely a book for high schoolers and is entirely written from that perspective, but it had enough insightful moments and meaningful or emotional scenes that kept me interested (I'm 37). The narrator, however, was annoying for various reasons. A lot of the time it sounded like she had a very stuffy nose. The rest of the time she pronounced every single word that has a "g" in the middle of it- like English, dangle, or finger- strangely and it's those types of things that grate on me throughout a book. Why is it so hard for narrators to pronounce words, especially common ones, correctly? I run into this all the time with audiobook narrators and I guess it's my pet peeve.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amber Rae San Francisco, CA 09-10-16
    Amber Rae San Francisco, CA 09-10-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    84
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    82
    27
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved the Love Story Part"
    What did you love best about Tell Me Three Things?

    I love the friend, the outlet, and the realness provided by Somebody Nobody. It was a little annoying in the beginning when they were emailing back and forth, with the combination of the email addresses and subject lines sometimes being longer than the email content. It is a quite bit predictable, but there's a few curves thrown in to make it more interesting at the end. This is not only a good book for someone who has lost someone. It is also a good book for anyone who has moved across the country and had to start over. Overall, I really loved this book and am looking forward to reading more from this author in the future.


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Karole Schoepf 04-29-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good book, enjoyed the narrator."

    They say you spend your whole life getting over High School. This novel was a "crossover " , written from a teen girl perspective, but your able to get a lot out of the book as an adult. I always say, if you can get 1 life changing experience from the book you read it's worth it. This book was worth listening to.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Caity K 03-13-17
    Caity K 03-13-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautifully written, touching."

    I loved this story. It's beautifully written and full of heart. Completely gripping until the last sentence.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Deya 01-28-17
    Deya 01-28-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "THE BEST AUDIO BOOK IN HERE"

    A very touching story yet still giving you butterflies! no words can implied the joy of the ending!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brittany 09-01-16
    Brittany 09-01-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Potential Turned Predictable YA"
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    Perhaps this is better read than listened to. The text and email sections of the book which are pretty important to the plot, are hard and annoying to listen to. The narrator struggled to create unique characters with her voice and inflection and I found them all running together.


    Would you ever listen to anything by Julie Buxbaum again?

    As far as the story went, I called the ending as soon as we meet the characters. Every turn was easy to spot three chapters before. I enjoyed the writing style and perhaps if I wasn't so well read it would have been more enjoyable.


    Would you be willing to try another one of Jorjeana Marie’s performances?

    I would not purchase an audiobook with this narrator again. She had difficulty annunciating and her separation of characters was almost non existent.


    You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    The potential for this novel was great. Wonderful story setup and bones and interesting characters to work with. Nothing was fleshed out enough though and so much more could have happened. The author spent too much time in the predictable "mystery" than exploring the fascinating characters she had invented.


    Any additional comments?

    I would recommend this to a truly young reader or something who doesn't read often. The biggest downside for me was the predictability that dragged on. For a less experienced YA reader it might not be as obvious and they can enjoy the story more.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Gina 10-11-17
    Gina 10-11-17 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    49
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it!"

    I lost my dad at 17 and am now 35. Definitely a teen book, which is all I really read, but a really good one. I actually told my son's friend who just lost her dad at 15 that it would be a good book to read. Very relatable for me.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michelle 09-02-17
    Michelle 09-02-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I love the perspective of this book."

    it reminded me what it was like to be a teenager. I love the story and the narrator.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charlotte Frost Hansen 08-27-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great book"

    worth a listen definitely. its very teenage-problem-y tho. but I would still recommend it yup

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Scott 08-23-17
    Scott 08-23-17 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great read, tough listen"

    due to the nature of the emails/instant messaging/texting it wasn't my favorite to listen to, I wish I had read it - but it was an incredible story! I would definitely recommend it :)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.