We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Tell Me Three Things Audiobook

Tell Me Three Things

Regular Price:$32.20
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

What if the person you need the most is someone you've never met?

Julie Buxbaum mixes comedy and tragedy, love and loss, pain and elation, in her debut YA novel whose characters will come to feel like friends. Tell Me Three Things will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart.

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least that's what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she's thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

It's been barely two years since her mother's death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son. In a leap of faith - or an act of complete desperation - Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can't help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

©2016 Julie Buxbaum (P)2016 Listening Library

What the Critics Say

"Here are three things about this book: (1) It's sweet and funny and romantic; (2) the mystery at the heart of the story will keep you turning the pages; (3) I have a feeling you'll be very happy you read it." (Jennifer E. Smith, author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight)

"Three Things about this novel: (1) I loved it. (2) No, really, I LOVED it. (3) I wish I could tell every teen to read it. Buxbaum's book sounds, reads, breathes, worries, and soars like real adolescents do." (Jodi Picoult, New York Times best-selling author of Leaving Time and Off the Page)

"The desire to find out whether Jessie's real-life and virtual crushes are one and the same will keep [readers] turning the pages as quickly as possible." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (263 )
5 star
 (168)
4 star
 (72)
3 star
 (20)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.5 (247 )
5 star
 (155)
4 star
 (66)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.6 (245 )
5 star
 (175)
4 star
 (50)
3 star
 (15)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amber Rae San Francisco, CA 09-10-16
    Amber Rae San Francisco, CA 09-10-16 Member Since 2014

    I'm a clinical psychology doctorate student. I love to read a good romance or ya novel to escape from the everyday stresses of life.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    78
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    82
    27
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved the Love Story Part"
    What did you love best about Tell Me Three Things?

    I love the friend, the outlet, and the realness provided by Somebody Nobody. It was a little annoying in the beginning when they were emailing back and forth, with the combination of the email addresses and subject lines sometimes being longer than the email content. It is a quite bit predictable, but there's a few curves thrown in to make it more interesting at the end. This is not only a good book for someone who has lost someone. It is also a good book for anyone who has moved across the country and had to start over. Overall, I really loved this book and am looking forward to reading more from this author in the future.


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Karole Schoepf 04-29-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good book, enjoyed the narrator."

    They say you spend your whole life getting over High School. This novel was a "crossover " , written from a teen girl perspective, but your able to get a lot out of the book as an adult. I always say, if you can get 1 life changing experience from the book you read it's worth it. This book was worth listening to.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    irishred507 03-27-17
    irishred507 03-27-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    56
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    87
    78
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Cute story"

    I listened to this book because it was on a list of unputdownable books, and that particular blogger said it was one of her favorite reads of the year. While I wouldn't at all consider it unputdownable or anything close to a favorite, it was a cute and sweet story. It's definitely a book for high schoolers and is entirely written from that perspective, but it had enough insightful moments and meaningful or emotional scenes that kept me interested (I'm 37). The narrator, however, was annoying for various reasons. A lot of the time it sounded like she had a very stuffy nose. The rest of the time she pronounced every single word that has a "g" in the middle of it- like English, dangle, or finger- strangely and it's those types of things that grate on me throughout a book. Why is it so hard for narrators to pronounce words, especially common ones, correctly? I run into this all the time with audiobook narrators and I guess it's my pet peeve.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Caity K 03-13-17
    Caity K 03-13-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautifully written, touching."

    I loved this story. It's beautifully written and full of heart. Completely gripping until the last sentence.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Deya 01-28-17
    Deya 01-28-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "THE BEST AUDIO BOOK IN HERE"

    A very touching story yet still giving you butterflies! no words can implied the joy of the ending!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Katie Engelbrecht 05-27-17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "My favorite!!"

    I would recommend this book who enjoys reading about love, secrets, friendship, and overcoming hardships. I could not stop listening to this book! It is so captivating and inspiring and funny and serious all at the same time! I loved listening to all the characters growing into themselves the whole time!

    SUCH AN AMAZING BOOK

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    whoa! North Carolinaa 05-03-17
    whoa! North Carolinaa 05-03-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nice"

    It was definitely aimed towards teens, but I was still able to enjoy it. The main question is, who is SN? There's a lot of twist and misdirections. It's a good book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jordyn 04-13-17
    Jordyn 04-13-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    33
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Effortlessly Charming!"
    Any additional comments?

    A delightful young adult/teenage love story with more depth than your average romance. At 25 I didn't find the depictions of high school overly cheesy or irrelevant. I smiled as I recalled the awkwardness and joy that comes along with being 16. Definitely happy I listened to this book especially after listening to how it related to the author's own experience losing her mother at 14.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rita 04-10-17
    Rita 04-10-17

    Audiobooks have changed how I drive! I look forward to driving for work when I have a good book on deck.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    126
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    126
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Sweet Storey"

    I enjoyed the main character, and a few of the supporting characters turn out to have more depth by the end. I listened to it in less than 2 days, not necessarily because it was a great read, more likely due to wanting to know who "Somebody Nobody" was (even though it was fairly apparent who it was despite the author throwing in a couple of red herrings.) Generally, a sweet story if you can ignore the gross lack if disregard and care the father has for the main character.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sunshine 04-09-17
    Sunshine 04-09-17 Member Since 2017

    Enjoy romance, erotic, and YA

    HELPFUL VOTES
    87
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    267
    130
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    11
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable YA romance!"

    This is a light, clean YA romance. No sex here. You must wait to find out who the male and I LOVED that meeting at the end of the book. Yes, worth my credit!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.