Regular price: $38.50

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Black Mirror and HBO's Westworld, Otherworld is the first book in New York Times best-selling authors Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller's new YA sci-fi-thriller series.

The future is now. And the future is terrifying.

There are no screens. There are no controls. You don't just see and hear it - you taste, smell, and touch it, too. In this new reality, there are no laws to break or rules to obey. You can live your best life. Indulge every desire.

It's a game so addictive you'll never want it to end. Until you realize that you're the one being played.

Welcome to Otherworld, where reality is dead. Step into the future. Leave your body behind.

The frightening future that Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller have imagined is not far away. Otherworld asks the question we'll all soon be asking: If technology can deliver everything we want, how much are we willing to pay?

©2017 Jason Segel (P)2017 Listening Library

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    101
  • 4 Stars
    65
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    6

Performance

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    118
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    7

Story

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    88
  • 4 Stars
    59
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    9
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Dante's Inferno for the LitRPGs

While I normally dislike the author reading his own story, Jason Segel does a great job of bringing his characters to life. However, his orc sounds suspiciously like monster with a fondness for cookies.

I think that comparing this story to Ready Player One is unfair. The only thing in common with it would be the virtual reality. The majority of the plot does not even take place in the video game. Otherworld is more of a setting for the characters to be in another realm and it is not described like video games in most litRPG books. And the parallels to Dante's Inferno seem evident throughout the book and it addresses similar themes.

You can find a summary in other reviews, but I would recommend this story to anyone looking for a story with a young protagonist who had his morals challenged over the course of his journey while trying to save the one thing he cares about. It is near-future sci-fi with great characters.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Jason Segel killed it.

This book is fantastic and I couldn't stop listening. I was listening to the audiobook while on a hike and next thing I knew it was raining, and I'd walked nine miles. Jason Segel is the most talented narrator I think I've ever listened to, and I listen to a lot of audiobooks. He brought the story to life. It felt like I was watching it happen. He and Kirsten Miller created an incredible story and made it colorful and real, and his narration took it up another notch. Listening to Otherworld has been a fantastic experience. I've enjoyed every minute of it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Interesting Story

The novel was a fun listen to, but slow to start. Too much backstory in the initial chapters. It was hard to believe some parts of the story and characterization seemed rushed. Overall, once it got going story was interesting enough to compell me to finish.

  • Overall

Mind blown

What an amazing concept for a book. Loved Jason narrating the story, made it come to life. I really hope they continue with another, they sure leff it open with me wanting more

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Nailed it!

Thank you Jason Segel for continuing to make quality entertainment. And I love the way you narrate. I hope you continue doing so.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

4.5/5 ⭐

If you like Ready Player One, you will like this one as well! really good!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

not terrible, but not good either

What disappointed you about Otherworld?

The story overall was ok, but could've ended fairly well with another few chapters; no real reason to make this a series.

Jason Segel (love him as an actor) did a well enough job as a narrator (more experience and he could be really good) but the story was just lacking for my taste. The concept is a good SciFi plot but now i see why the genre was Young Adult instead. I'm not much of a YA reader but still....

What three words best describe Jason Segel’s performance?

in-training potential-to-be-good not-quite-there-yet

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

I guess the author got tired of writing.

Can't believe I waded through the whole book just to have it end with no resolution.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

good book

If you liked Ready Player One, chances are that you will enjoy this book as well. I had several moments reading it, that I was impatient for a time to sneak away and finish it.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Most of a great book

I loved the story and characters. My only quibble would be that the ending felt incredibly rushed, like someone needed to hit a deadline and just decided to take whatever was ready.