Regular price: $24.49

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Following the events of Scorpia Rising, Alex relocates to San Francisco as he slowly recovers from the tragic death of his best friend and caregiver, Jack Starbright, at the hands of terrorists working for SCORPIA. With Jack gone, Alex feels lost and alone, but then, out of the blue, he receives a cryptic email - just three words long, but enough to make Alex believe that Jack may be alive. Armed with this shred of hope, Alex boards a flight bound for Egypt and embarks on a dubious quest to track Jack down.

Yet SCORPIA knows Alex's weakness. And the question of whether Jack is alive soon takes a backseat to a chilling new terrorist plot - one that will play with Alex's mind as he grasps the magnitude of what is at stake.

From Egypt to France to Wales, from luxury yachts to abandoned coal mines, Alex traverses a minefield of dangers and cryptic clues as he fights to discover the truth. The number one New York Times best-selling series, perfect for fans of James Bond and Jason Bourne, is back with a vengeance!

©2017 Anthony Horowitz (P)2017 Recorded Books

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

VERY ENJOYABLE, BUT CIND OF PREDICABLE.

if you have read/listened to any other books by Anthony Horowitz and like them, then this 1 will not disappoint ether. In the end this novel is really no different then any of his other previous books, once you have listen to 1 you have listen to them all. but still, its by far one of his better books. If you have a 10 to 15 year-old they would really enjoy it. Also, it will take a lot of getting used to Simon Prebbles voce, because his voce has clearly changed from his other earlier narration jobs.

So in summery if i could give this book 4.5 stars i would, but i just rounded up, still, its really enjoyable if you liked any of his previous works. very worth the money/credit if you have young kids, but don't expect a lot.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

amazing book!

I absolutely loved it! his previous books have been amazing and this one's no different Anthony Horowitz has done it again another amazing book in the Alex Rider series.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Ryan
  • Bozeman, MT
  • 11-16-17

Teenage spy with awkwardly out of date tech lingo

It was nice to see the Alex Rider series renewed and overall the story brought to life many of the elements I've enjoyed from the previous series. The author also did an excellent job stitching together the enemies' persona in such a way that makes some of the far stretched ideas seem plausible.

I mainly struggled with the narrator's description of various commonly used technology; the biggest offense being his reference to connecting to a local WiFi network as connecting to a local "wireless network." I'm not saying this is wrong but I am saying that Alex most certainly would not have called it as such. The narrator, even though they are separate from any character of the book, should mimic the knowledge or lingo of either the main character in the book, or the reader. Otherwise a connection is not being made between the narrator and the reader and therefore the reader's attention falters. During the section where the narrator talks about the wireless network, the term that should've been used, in my opinion, is WiFi as that was in fact where the network connection was referring to and not a cellular network or anything else. Now I am not an expert as to what London teenagers call their "WiFi" but even if they did call it a wireless network, Alex spent enough time in America to have picked up that lingo and used that.

This is just one example of the narrator's description when describing technology that made it sound like Alex Rider has the body of a teenager but the mind of a 50 year old adult. It created an awkward contrast. Besides that, the book was a fun read.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful