Regular price: $19.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Seventeen year old Kris Young is on the run from a throng of superhuman golden-eyed freaks hell-bent on seeing her dead, and she doesn't know why. Good thing she has her guardian angel to protect her...sort of. Kris is aided by Nathan, the mysterious man that ends up being anything but angelic when he rescues her for the fourth time in fourteen years. Even if the handsome hero illusion is shattered by his harsh treatment of her, he knows how to fight this strange enemy and is determined to keep her safe at all costs. As the body count rises in their wake, Nathan introduces Kris to a world in which not everyone is human and the battle lines between good and evil are clearly drawn. Kris's piece in the puzzle is something neither is aware of and, as they uncover the truth, neither is prepared for what they find. Overcoming twists and revelations that shatter both of their lives, they discover that nothing is as it seems and nothing, least of all their hearts, are safe. From debut author, Desni Dantone, Ignited is the first novel in a tale of first love, mystery, and adventure that will introduce you to an exciting new world as Kris discovers how she fits in it.

©2013 Desni Dantone (P)2013 Desni Dantone

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    137
  • 4 Stars
    82
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    5

Performance

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    130
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    120
  • 4 Stars
    70
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Narrator is torture!!!

Struggle with the narrator, I think that the story had a good plot but the narrator ruined this book for me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good story narration needs help

I really enjoyed this book however the narration left something to be desired. It is difficult to picture a horrific car crash when the person telling you about it is upbeat and happy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

love but

the story was good but it skip and get stuck in some places however it still a good book

  • Overall

This is an amazing book. A must read

I loved getting to know the characters of thus story and the bond between them. A story of good and evil with lines crossed, so amazing. Kris and Nathan have so much chemistry but don't really know if they should act on it. A story of protection and love. Don't miss out on this one and the narration for the audio book is fantastic

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Just okay

This book was interesting enough that o finished it but not so great that I would go out of my way to recommend it to friends. I will go on to the next book in the series because I hate unfinished stories and the second book did get better reviews.

  • Overall

I kept staying up way too late listening to this.

This isn't my first ya pnr but it certainly was original. Fans of Jennifer Armentrout and Karen Lynch will love Desni Dantone. The narrator distinguished the characters well and though I listened at 25 percent faster it was only to find out thevstory sooner.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

needs work

the reading of the story was choppy at best. it was a good story line though from what I could hear though.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good story, bad narrator

Wouldn't be so bad to listen to if the narrator didn't emphasis every other word. Other than that the story was good.

  • Overall

Great story

It was missing something for me not sure what but it just needed a little more for me. The overall story was great but it was a bit too teen for me. I love the mystery but yet it was a predictable mystery.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Definitely young adult

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Sure. It had a very immature main character but also some interesting and delightfully unexpected plot twists. I also found the writing and main character to be a bit inconsistent.

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

I enjoyed the mythology undertone of the book, and I liked the twist near the end of the book when we find out what Kris really is. I didn't enjoy the typical teenage main character with an attitude. I thought she was a bit obnoxious, but again, she is a 17 year old (so that might be expected).

What about Lisa Larsen’s performance did you like?

Very pleasant to listen to. Liked her vocal interpretation of the characters.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

War of the Demi gods

Any additional comments?

Overall, good story and enjoy able to listen to.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Lynn Worton
  • 04-05-15

A Fantastic Read!

This is a wonderful YA paranormal romance. I really enjoyed it!

I was recommended this book by Audible due to my reading/listening history. The blurb sounded intriguing, so I listened to the audio sample. I decided that it would be something I would enjoy, and I was right.

The audiobook is narrated by Lisa Larsen. She did a wonderful job in reading this story. Her voice, I felt, suited the character of Kris and her interpretation of the story kept me hooked from beginning to end. Her reading pace was neither too fast, nor too slow, which allowed me to picture the scenes perfectly. I would definitely listen to other books narrated by her.

Kris Young is a great character. I liked her very much. She is a normal teen, going through the usual teenage problems, but with one difference. She has had to contend with a lot in her seventeen years - her parents' dying in an accident for one. She is very level-headed but, she can be a little stubborn and gung-ho at times, which I found a bit irritating. She joins forces with Nathan, her guardian angel, and realises that there is no such thing as "normal". Kris finds out something about herself that completely shocks and terrifies her. She is a pawn in a war that could change the balance of power between the Scotadi and Culla. These two groups have been at war for millennia.

I have read quite a few YA books over the last couple of years or so. This story is very similar to others I have read but, also completely original. This book has a unique take on good and evil that had me thinking about those concepts. There are shades of grey, rather than black and white in this story, so one never knows whose side to cheer for!

We are introduced to several different characters that come to life as the story unfolds. I really liked Nathan. He is a bit of an enigma at first, as he has always been in Kris's life but only on the periphery. He has saved her several times throughout her life, but as I got to know him better, I realised that he is a hero in more ways than one.
I also liked Callie Sanders, who has been her best friend since the sixth grade. She is fun to be with, changes her boyfriends (and her hair colours) often and loves shopping.
Alec Sierra is also a wonderful character. I liked him too, as he is a great guy. He has a wonderful sense of humour and has a warmth to him that instantly charmed me. However, he has a secret that, when it is revealed, completely threw me. I didn't see it coming and thus, my conundrum with the good and evil aspect of this book. This story is full of twists and turns, action and danger. It's exciting and enthralling. However, I am not overly fond of love triangles and this story has a definite love triangle thing going on. Both Nathan and Alec are completely opposite from each other, which is why I can understand Kris's dilemma. But, it made it extremely difficult for me to pick one to like more! It reminded me of the Edward/Jacob debates that ruled the social media sites for years, when those books first came out. However, I love a bad boy and Alec gets my vote, even if Kris disagrees with me. Or does she? Her confusion over her feelings for both of them made me empathize with her. I felt sad when I reached the end of the story, because I wanted to keep listening to it. It ends on a twist rather than a cliffhanger, so I am now looking forward to listening to the next book in the series, Sacrificed, as soon as possible.

Desni Dantone has written an exciting, pulse pounding debut novel. I loved her writing style, which is fast paced but, not rushed. Her characters and the scenes come alive through her descriptions and they are easy to picture in the mind's eye. The flow is wonderful and each scene runs seamlessly into the next. She has mixed ancient myths of Greek gods into a modern YA paranormal romance that will completely hook you in. This is one debut novelist to keep an eye on!

I highly recommend this book to readers aged thirteen up who love books like the Percy Jackson series, with Demi-gods and myths mixed in with a little romance.There is no explicit sexual content, apart from a few steamy kisses, so if you are looking for a little more heat, this book may not be for you. I also recommend this book to adults who love to read YA paranormal romances. - Lynn Worton

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Skye
  • 01-26-17

Fantastic surprise

First off let me say that I wasn't expecting to LOVE this book like I do. I was bored and looking for something new to read but had my doubts. After scrolling through a few reviews on GoodReads I decided to give it a go, and boy am I glad I did. The entire story is written in such a way that you just can't stop. The tension between the characters is a beautiful balance of funny, loving and serious that leaves you all gooey inside. There was never a moment that I thought "well that could've been said better" or "this is dragging". If you are on the fence about this one I seriously urge you to give it a go. Like me, you won't be disappointed!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-28-16

Compelling

I didn't think it would be any good but i was wrong, this book is fast paced, thrilling and an unexpected twist ending, the narrative makes it extremely hard not to get sucked in the story. X