Regular price: $38.50

Free with 30-day trial Membership
Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free - plus an audiobook, on us.
  • 1 credit a month after trial - good for any title.
  • Easy exchange. Don't love book? swap it for free.
  • Exchange books you don't like
  • After your free trial, Audible is $14.95 a month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Conversion and Mean Girls comes a debut novel where the trials of high school start to feel like a modern-day witch hunt for a teen with all the wrong connections to Salem's past.

Salem, Massachusetts, is the site of the infamous witch trials and the new home of Samantha Mather. Recently transplanted from New York City, Sam and her stepmother are not exactly welcomed with open arms. Sam is the descendant of Cotton Mather, one of the men responsible for those trials, and almost immediately she becomes the enemy of a group of girls that call themselves the Descendants. And guess who their ancestors were?

If dealing with that weren't enough, Sam also comes face to face with a real live (well, technically dead) ghost. A handsome, angry ghost who wants Sam to stop touching his stuff. But soon Sam discovers she is at the center of a centuries-old curse affecting anyone with ties to the trials. Sam must come to terms with the ghost and find a way to work with the Descendants to stop a deadly cycle that has been going on since the first accused witch was hung. If any town should have learned its lesson, it's Salem, but as Sam and her frenemies soon find, history may be about to repeat itself.

©2016 Adriana Mather (P)2016 Listening Library

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    310
  • 4 Stars
    80
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    269
  • 4 Stars
    78
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    289
  • 4 Stars
    66
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

turn it into a movie

I loved this story. it has the potential to be a great movie. I hope you do consider this review as what many fans would want.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Worth the Read!

What other book might you compare How to Hang a Witch to and why?

I liked the Secret Circle series and was on the fence about whether or not this book was going to be up to par compared to similar books I read in the past. It was definitely a unique story with some extra love thrown in. I found it interesting that the author is related to Cotton Mathers herself and ties in accurate historical information with the novel. I also liked how the book wasn't as predictable as some of the other ya books I've read recently. I definitely stayed guessing on a few things in the book, so there were a few good surprises. It's definitely worth the credit!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

well researched creative

A wonderful adaptation of the Salem witch trials. The story is rich with history and well researched and creative. We I am not a fan of the author being the narrator of the book, the book itself was very interesting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Lacy
  • WAXAHACHIE, TX, United States
  • 11-30-16

Witch Hunting Role Reversal

I love the Salem witch trials and November always makes me think about it because of the Pilgrims/ Puritan contribution to the holiday. This book is exactly what I've been looking for in a witch story! What makes it even more amazing is that the author, Adriana Mather, is descendant from the infamous Cotton Mather. She also narrates this audible book!

Samantha Mather feels like a black cloud has always followed her in life. Things get worse when her father goes into a coma and must be transferred from New York City to Boston. She and her step-mother, Vivian, move to her dad's old house in Salem to be closer to him. Little does she know, she will meet the cute guy next door named Jackson and his mother (who was her dad's best friend growing up.) She will also encounter a ghost named Elijah that is not too fond of her messing with his belongings.

High school is tough but it's even tougher when your last name is Mather in Salem High School. Samantha faces the challenge of having rumors spread about her by "the descendants," a group of girls who are directly related to the women that were hanged during the witch trials. Luckily, she has Jackson to help her navigate but she is not prepared for the challenge ahead of her! She will have to believe in the unbelievable, fight through betrayal, and persevere through strife to make things right!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Very original !

I loved this book! It's very original I don't think I've ever read anything like it ! Wi would recommend it to anyone who like history or suspense. I hope to see more book from this author soon!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Beautiful

This book is a lesson of incredible intensity. Thank you so much for in a way taking the time to teach everyone this. Adriana Mather, you are more correct than you know, kindness of any kind definitely does count. Thank you so much for your talent.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Such a great read!

This story kept me wanting more! It was a great new look at the witch trails. The narration was excellent and very enjoyable. Definitely recommending this book!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

love this book

can not wait to read by this beautiful author! she has given me a new look on the salem trials

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

LOVED it!

Adriana Mather narrating her book was a real treat. The story has the perfect amount of humor, mystery, romance, and heart with historical references sprinkled throughout. I have always been intrigued by the Salem Witch Trials and this book provided a new lens with which to view the subject. What I love most about this book is that KINDNESS is the key to everything. Thank you for the great audible experience.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

excellent YA book

Enjoyed listening to this book. Met the author last year through Anderson's Books in Naperville, Il at Granger Middle School where I work and bought a copy for my daughter. Listened on Audible since she has her copy with her at college.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.