Regular price: $30.79

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

National Book Award Winner!

Perfect for fans of NBC's This Is Us, Robin Benway's beautiful interweaving story of three very different teenagers connected by blood explores the meaning of family in all its forms - how to find it, how to keep it, and how to love it.

Being the middle child has its ups and downs.

But for Grace, an only child who was adopted at birth, discovering that she is a middle child is a different ride altogether. After putting her own baby up for adoption, she goes looking for her biological family, including:

Maya, her loudmouthed younger bio sister, who has a lot to say about their newfound family ties. Having grown up the snarky brunette in a house full of chipper redheads, she's quick to search for traces of herself among these not-quite-strangers. And when her adopted family's long-buried problems begin to explode to the surface, Maya can't help but wonder where exactly it is that she belongs.

And Joaquin, their stoic older bio brother, who has no interest in bonding over their shared biological mother. After 17 years in the foster care system, he's learned that there are no heroes, and secrets and fears are best kept close to the vest, where they can't hurt anyone but him.

Don't miss this moving novel that addresses such important topics as adoption, teen pregnancy, and foster care.

©2017 Robin Benway (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    187
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    178
  • 4 Stars
    49
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    158
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Touching

As an adoptive parent I feel this story was realistic and empathetic to all involved. Well done.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A delightful suprise

I bought this book beause of the narrator, Julia. The book is fabulous and timely.



9 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Liked

Brought some very personal memories up for me. I'm glad there is open adoption now. I wasn't so lucky.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Very personal...

This one hit home for me. I'm adopted and, over the past 3 years, have located my birth mother, father, and 6 siblings.
This is a must read for anyone involved in adoption.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

It hit home

Too close to what I went through finding my family, it was spot on! Great context, narrative awesome...must listen.

  • Overall

true to the experience

I worked inn the field of child welfare for 40 years, and I gave a child up for adoption. This writer has captured the essence of those experiences in a very realistic way and it evoked both sad and happy emotions in me. Great job.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Loved it

This book ruined me emotionally. Not everything was plausible, BUT the characters were so well written it didn’t even matter.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Beautiful

No complaints here! Excellent read! Pacing, characterization and plot we're all an A+!

I honestly didn't know what to expect, I had read the summary--I had just heard so many good reviews and I knew this would be a great first 2018 listen and it was!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Denise
  • Montclair, NJ, United States
  • 01-07-18

Moving and sweet.

Enjoyable story presenting some of the complexities of adoption, foster care, and cross cultural adoption. If only all such stories could be so n aptly tied up in a bow.

  • Overall

Far from the tree

Slow , would not recommend it,the very ending was the best, thank goodness. They all can't be winners!