Regular price: $3.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Seven Souls on the Road to Riches or Ruin

Seven unsuspecting souls face choices that could result in life-changing riches, ruin, and realizations. Old-fashioned captivating tales take you into new worlds filled with magical treasures, twists of fate, and dire consequences. Fans of Pilgrim's Progress, O. Henry, and C. S. Lewis will love this book.

Audiobook narration by Thomas W. Ashworth

The Emblems Audiobook is beautifully narrated by professional film and voice actor Thomas W. Ashworth (Can't Stop the Feeling music video, Superstore, Criminal Minds). Ashworth brings the characters and scenes of Emblems to life with exciting, lively expressions and outstanding character voicing.

A Work of Refined Storytelling

These seven young adult fantasy stories, along with their 14 sister stories in books two and three of the Allegoricon Parables, have been rewritten, edited, and organized into their most perfect form over seven years since their original versions were put to paper. Collected here, they represent great examples of American storytelling style.

©2016 Jason P Doherty (P)2017 Jason P Doherty

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Parables

I received this audiobook in exchange for an honest review.

This novel was comprised of seven short stories, of which at the heart of each is a parable, of which I took to be 'be happy with what you have'. One consists of a blind man achieving sight and wishing to return to blindness. Another consists of a town suffering greed. It was a good book, if somewhat strange.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

loved it

what a good time spender. the stories were great. definitely worth a listen. narrator did a great job.
“This audiobook was given by the author, narrator, or publisher at no cost in exchange for an unbiased review via Audiobook Boom.”

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Just Fantastic! Great for All Ages!! Moving

I was truly engaged and moved by Mr Doherty's collection of Parables in this Audiobook. I truly enjoyed all of them. They were well written and moving but two have stuck with me and I cannot not get them out of my head but this is a good thing. All the parables have a message. The first is "Makers and Takers". Story of a village where half the village produces products for the other half until one day the makers disappear forcing the takers to deal with life in their own. I won't spoil the rest of the parable. The second one Is 'When Opportunity Knocks' it just gives a lesson on being kind and polite to strangers who knock at your door. This is a short audio book but one that is well worth listening to many times. It is really suitable for all ages and something that would be a great conversation starter for people with their kids.

The narrator does a very good job and brings just the right tone to this excellent work. This is the first time I have heard any of his vocal work but will seek out more of his work now based on this performance it was that good in my opinion.

This review copy audiobook was provided by the author/narrator/publisher free of charge via Audiobook Boom.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A Good Collection of Stories

Emblems was an interesting listen. I think a few of the allegorys were obvious but I'll have to listen again to see what hidden tidbits I missed. A few weren't so obvious to me. I'm left pondering and that's a good thing. The stories were poetic not only in the written word but the narration.

T.W. Ashworth's performance was very well done. He had a classical tone and it worked with the audiobook. I'm curious to hear more from both reader and author.

I was provided this audiobook by the author, narrator, or publisher at no cost in exchange for an unbiased review courtesy of AudiobookBoom dot com.