We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Emblems Audiobook

Emblems: The Allegoricon Parables, Book 1

Regular Price:$3.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Seven Souls on the Road to Riches or Ruin

Seven unsuspecting souls face choices that could result in life-changing riches, ruin, and realizations. Old-fashioned captivating tales take you into new worlds filled with magical treasures, twists of fate, and dire consequences. Fans of Pilgrim's Progress, O. Henry, and C. S. Lewis will love this book.

Audiobook narration by Thomas W. Ashworth

The Emblems Audiobook is beautifully narrated by professional film and voice actor Thomas W. Ashworth (Can't Stop the Feeling music video, Superstore, Criminal Minds). Ashworth brings the characters and scenes of Emblems to life with exciting, lively expressions and outstanding character voicing.

A Work of Refined Storytelling

These seven young adult fantasy stories, along with their 14 sister stories in books two and three of the Allegoricon Parables, have been rewritten, edited, and organized into their most perfect form over seven years since their original versions were put to paper. Collected here, they represent great examples of American storytelling style.

©2016 Jason P Doherty (P)2017 Jason P Doherty

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (4 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.3 (4 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.3 (4 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Emily 04-02-17
    Emily 04-02-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    60
    58
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Parables"

    I received this audiobook in exchange for an honest review.

    This novel was comprised of seven short stories, of which at the heart of each is a parable, of which I took to be 'be happy with what you have'. One consists of a blind man achieving sight and wishing to return to blindness. Another consists of a town suffering greed. It was a good book, if somewhat strange.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Andrew Hart 03-21-17
    Andrew Hart 03-21-17 Member Since 2016

    I love a good Audiobook.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    108
    64
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "loved it"

    what a good time spender. the stories were great. definitely worth a listen. narrator did a great job.
    “This audiobook was given by the author, narrator, or publisher at no cost in exchange for an unbiased review via Audiobook Boom.”

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joseph Mahoney 02-26-17 Member Since 2017

    Quiet man who enjoy Audible Audio-books as a way to escape from the world each day. They provide an excellent soundtrack for my daily walks.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    100
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    206
    102
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just Fantastic! Great for All Ages!! Moving"

    I was truly engaged and moved by Mr Doherty's collection of Parables in this Audiobook. I truly enjoyed all of them. They were well written and moving but two have stuck with me and I cannot not get them out of my head but this is a good thing. All the parables have a message. The first is "Makers and Takers". Story of a village where half the village produces products for the other half until one day the makers disappear forcing the takers to deal with life in their own. I won't spoil the rest of the parable. The second one Is 'When Opportunity Knocks' it just gives a lesson on being kind and polite to strangers who knock at your door. This is a short audio book but one that is well worth listening to many times. It is really suitable for all ages and something that would be a great conversation starter for people with their kids.

    The narrator does a very good job and brings just the right tone to this excellent work. This is the first time I have heard any of his vocal work but will seek out more of his work now based on this performance it was that good in my opinion.

    This review copy audiobook was provided by the author/narrator/publisher free of charge via Audiobook Boom.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Teresa 02-23-17
    Teresa 02-23-17

    I love listening to audiobooks with my three compadres: two sweet tabby cats and a Great Dane!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    737
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    737
    727
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    23
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Good Collection of Stories"

    Emblems was an interesting listen. I think a few of the allegorys were obvious but I'll have to listen again to see what hidden tidbits I missed. A few weren't so obvious to me. I'm left pondering and that's a good thing. The stories were poetic not only in the written word but the narration.

    T.W. Ashworth's performance was very well done. He had a classical tone and it worked with the audiobook. I'm curious to hear more from both reader and author.

    I was provided this audiobook by the author, narrator, or publisher at no cost in exchange for an unbiased review courtesy of AudiobookBoom dot com.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.