We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Body Parts Audiobook

Body Parts

Regular Price:$19.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Never Let Me Go meets The Island for YA - perfect for fans of Cat Patrick and Suzanne Young.

Raised in an elite foster center off the California coast, 16-year-old Tabitha has been protected from the outside world. Her trainers at the center have told her she'll need to be in top physical condition to be matched with a loving family. So she swims laps and shaves seconds off her mile time, dreaming of the day when she'll meet her adoptive parents.

But when Tabitha's told she's been paired, instead of being taken to her new home, she wakes up immobile on a hospital bed. Moments before she's sliced open, a group of renegade teenagers rescues her, and she learns the real reason she's been kept in shape: PharmPerfect, a local pharmaceutical giant, is using her foster program as a replacement factory for their pill-addicted clients' failing organs.

Determined to save the rest of her friends at the center, Tabitha joins forces with her rescuers, led by moody and mysterious Gavin Stiles. As they race to uncover the rest of PharmPerfect's secrets, though, Tabitha finds herself with more questions than answers. Will trusting the enigmatic group of rebels lead her back to the slaughterhouse?

©2017 Jessica Kapp (P)2017 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (24 )
5 star
 (11)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
3.8 (24 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.3 (24 )
5 star
 (16)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Anonymous 09-24-17
    09-24-17
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Riveting"

    It was hard to stop listening to the audio of this book. I didn’t want to stop listening to go about daily responsibilities! I lost myself in the main character and went on the exciting adventure and heart pounding moments with her. A totally engrossing novel that had me crying emotional tears at the end. This is a must read novel for adults and young adults alike!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brian Niagara Falls, NY 09-22-17
    Brian Niagara Falls, NY 09-22-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    746
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    276
    273
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    52
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "YA Readers Will Love This"

    3.5 out of 5 stars

    If you were to re-make the movie "The Island" and make it for a younger audience, then you would have the book Body Parts. Imagine a world where when you are hoping and praying that you will be adopted some day. You work hard to make sure that you are the best candidate to be adopted. You work on every aspect of your life -- hoping that you'll someday find parents to love and keep you. Imagine that what you think is the start of your life, could be the end.

    As I mentioned earlier -- Body Parts is really similar to the plot line of The Island (which in my opinion is easily one of Michael Bay's best and most underrated films). But it's written for a younger audience. Now, I'm not young (or old by any stretch) but I'm also not the target audience for this. Knowing that going into it made some of my "issues" with it easier to deal with.

    First things first, there is a lot of "young love" and "young problems" in this book. As a 30-something-year-old, these "HUGE PROBLEMS" for some of these teenagers were really just small bumps in the road that you will never remember. As I said above, I understand that this is written for a younger audience, so I'll forgive that. But, then there were some bigger arching issues that this was covering, and I thought that Kapp did a really nice job showing a "worldview" instead of just a "personal view" for some of the characters.

    The plot itself was heavy on the romance with some thriller and dystopian over-arching themes (also typical for YA books). But, it was able to keep me reading from beginning to end. The occasional moment was ruined with (what I would call) young love, but a YA-heavy reader or an actual YA would love those scenes.

    Overall, I thought that Kapp wrote an interesting book (that felt a little copied from The Island), but also made it her own in a lot of ways. YA-heavy, so if you're a big YA fan, this book is definitely for you. If you're looking for the more dystopian/thriller aspects -- I don't think you'll hate it, but the love and romance scenes will probably put you off for a bit.

    Kapp is an author to watch out for in the YA space. She has all the right aspects and is able to reach an insanely engaged audience with Body Parts.

    I received a free copy of this which has not affected my review in any way. If you liked my review, please vote for it! If you'd like to see more reviews like this please check out BriansBookBlog DOT com.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jen 08-20-17
    Jen 08-20-17 Member Since 2017
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "So good!"

    Body Parts is hands down the best read of the summer! Great story; great characters; great plot. I can't say enough good about this book!

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.