We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Beast Audiobook

Beast

Regular Price:$24.47
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A witty, wise, and heart-wrenching novel that will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan.

Tall, meaty, muscle-bound, and hairier than most throw rugs, Dylan doesn't look like your average 15-year-old, so naturally, high school has not been kind to him. To make matters worse, on the day his school bans hats (his preferred camouflage), Dylan goes up on his roof only to fall and wake up in the hospital with a broken leg - and a mandate to attend group therapy for self-harmers. Dylan vows to say nothing and zones out at therapy - until he meets Jamie. She's funny, smart, and so stunning, even his womanizing best friend, JP, would be jealous. She's also the first person to ever call Dylan out on his self-pitying and superficiality. As Jamie's humanity and wisdom begin to rub off on Dylan, they become more than just friends. But there is something Dylan doesn't know about Jamie, something she shared with the group the day he wasn't listening. Something that shouldn't change a thing. She is who she's always been - an amazing photographer and devoted friend, who also happens to be transgender. But will Dylan see it that way?

©2016 Brie Spangler (P)2016 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (18 )
5 star
 (12)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.2 (17 )
5 star
 (11)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.4 (18 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    B. J. Neary Oreland, PA USA 06-15-17
    B. J. Neary Oreland, PA USA 06-15-17 Member Since 2015

    bjneary

    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    61
    47
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Boy Falls for Girl & Sparks Fly!"
    Would you listen to Beast again? Why?

    Yes!!!


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    I could not stop listening to Andrew Eiden as he narrated flawlessly the voice of Dylan called Beast by everyone because of his size and friend to one jerk, JP who makes him beat up kids to collect money owed him. Andrew Eiden's rendition of Jamie, the girl Dylan meets & falls for in group. What he doesn't know (because he tuned out) is that Janie is transgender & when he finds out, he deals with it all wrong. I ached for Dylan, his life, his yearning to get signs from his dead father, and his lack of faith in his mother. I rooted for Dylan & Jamie to triumph over themselves, other's judgments, and grow to appreciate the very horribleness of the world. A must read & recommended for all libraries!


    Have you listened to any of Andrew Eiden’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    No, but I look forward to more of his narrations.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Whenever Dylan hated himself, I was so sad- so that was most of the book because his self-hatred was so complete.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    whoa! North Carolinaa 01-07-17
    whoa! North Carolinaa 01-07-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unexpectedly very nice read"

    This book was honestly a good read. It was an impulse buy. I have a horrible habit of throwing things in my wish list and not being able to decide which deserves a credit. I let this title sit in my wish list for ages, and even when I bought it, It was a forceful "thing." I just made myself waste a credit on something, so I wouldn't overthink it. I'm so glad I did. It was a lovely read, and it kept me interested. I usually put audiobooks on to help me fall asleep, but this one kept me awake. So, in the same way I forced myself to buy this book, I had to force myself to put it down. The narrator did an excellent job. He captured the characters well. Go buy it! Be like Shia labeouf and "JUST DO IT!"

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.