Regular price: $19.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Red Rising comes a gripping sci-fi adventure in which a group of teenagers wake up in a mysterious corridor with no knowledge of who they are or how they got trapped. Their only hope lies with an indomitable young woman who must lead them not only to answers but to survival.

A teenage girl awakens to find herself trapped in a coffin. She has no idea who she is, where she is, or how she got there. Fighting her way free brings little relief - she discovers only a room lined with caskets and a handful of equally mystified survivors. Beyond their room lies a corridor filled with bones and dust but no people and no answers.

She knows only one thing about herself - her name, M. Savage, which was engraved on the foot of her coffin. She finds herself in charge. She is not the biggest among them or the boldest, but for some reason the others trust her. Now, if they're to have any chance, she must get them to trust one another.

Whatever the truth is, she is determined to find it and confront it. If she has to lead, she will make sure they survive. Maybe there's a way out, a rational explanation, and a fighting chance against the dangers to come. Or maybe a reality they cannot comprehend lies just beyond the next turn.

©2015 Del Rey (P)2015 Empty Set Entertainment

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    452
  • 4 Stars
    273
  • 3 Stars
    156
  • 2 Stars
    56
  • 1 Stars
    36

Performance

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    504
  • 4 Stars
    221
  • 3 Stars
    109
  • 2 Stars
    33
  • 1 Stars
    33

Story

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    426
  • 4 Stars
    240
  • 3 Stars
    147
  • 2 Stars
    46
  • 1 Stars
    38
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

worth two credits!!!

great story and I love the narrator, she really brought the story to life. Scott Sigler dose it again!!!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Another great Sigler book!

Great read! Not exactly what I was expecting from Sigler, but very entertaining nonetheless. As a trilogy, this is a very nice setup of what's to come in the next books...very excited! I would highly recommend this read.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

ANOTHER GREAT BOOK

Another great book by Scott Sigler! And Emma Galvin is very easy to listen to!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Not up to Sigler standards

I have been a long time listener of Scott's. This book at times left me bored. While the premise of the story was good it only moved along slowly. I kept waiting for the classic twist and when it finally got here it was....ok. He has done better. If I had the printed version of this book and not the audiobook I would have skipped entire chapters.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Ken
  • Frankfort, IL, United States
  • 07-16-15

Great book hope its not too long for the sequel

Scott really puts together a riveting story, I listened to the book straight through. Should make a great movie

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

An excellent listen!!

Have you ever been watching a composer and he is holding a crescendo with one hand and using the other hand in a "more more come hither underhand wave"?? That's how this book was for me. Nonstop thirst for more as it built up and I am truly excited for the next book! The story is excellent and the narration is award worthy. Something about her voice fits this story perfectly. If you enjoy edge of your seat Sci fi this is a great choice.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Nice, unique story.

Some of the other reviews complained about the constant second guessing of the main character. It bothered me also but I fell more into the story and got past it.

The lack of action after the first events made the story a little boring but then the action picked up. I haven't decided yet if I'm interested in the sequel stories. Sometimes I just like a story with a basic beginning and ending. I can make up my own future events.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

awesome

loved it would recommend to other readers. absolutely breath taking constant action. always kept me guessing

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great Listen

Loved it. Wish there was more development on what actually happened to create this scenario and the intervening years leading up to the appearance of the main characters. Things happen with out a lot of background.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

I want more

I enjoyed the book very much narrator did a great part, bringing you into the story. The story itself is awesome and I can't wait for more?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • MsRanPan
  • 12-05-15

Intrigued...

*Disclaimer* I love Scott Siglers work so am potentially very biased! I loved it, I like how the main character develops and whilst others have complained about her 'moaning', I really liked that the main character was a young woman facing challenges for leadership whilst facing an older female enemy. I felt a lot of the self doubt was very realistic for a young woman and I wish I had read this a few years ago when I was younger. Considering it is written by a man I think this is an excellent role model for young women. I also enjoyed the story line and although at times it risked being a little slow it didn't quite drop to that point. I will definately be getting the next instalment!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • mr peter a r pryde
  • 07-14-15

Winner

As a fan of sigler I was nervous as a female lead is a hard thing to get my head around as a fan but OMG Emma galvin knocked it out of the park.
This will appeal to any fan of sci fi or dystopian fiction

Nice one Scot

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Louise Hartgen
  • 08-17-15

So, So Disappointed!

What disappointed you about Alive: Book One of the Generations Trilogy?

I have truly loved the work of this author for years. I've followed him since he was a podcast novelist and watched his rise to bestseller with delight. I have to say I had qualms when I heard he was writing what I consider to be yet one more too many in the endless series of Hunger Games variants. Sorry, harsh words I know, but I've seen so many from the un-put-downable to the awful and this just doesn't work for me.<br/><br/>I didn't find anything to like in the main character, which for Sigler is very unusual. I mean, when someone like Quentin Barnes is being at his most bratty and unbearable you still can't help liking him. This kid is just bratty, and she gets more bratty as time goes on. In fact you can say the same about most of them up to the time, over half way through, when I turned off in disgust. Chances are if I haven't learned to care about the characters by then, I never will. It's such a shame. Scott's characters are what I really love usually. These were just like cartoons almost, so unlike him. I was also unhappy with the narration, but that's a matter of taste. Emma Galvin does a good job but I find her voice nasal, sharp and unpleasant to listen to.

Would you ever listen to anything by Scott Sigler again?

Oh I would certainly listen to Scott's books again! That's why I'm so vehement probably. I know he can do miles, miles better than this!

Would you be willing to try another one of Emma Galvin’s performances?

No. I really don't like her voice.

You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

I'm sorry, but I'm afraid not. I do try to find something positive to say, and Scott Sigler is an author, and a person, I truly admire, but I really didn't like this at all.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Derek
  • 03-14-17

Wow

Scott Sigler @ his best hooked from the first page eagerly waiting for book 2 now

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • ablove
  • 04-24-16

Scott Sigler does it again! <br />

How great would it be to see a big budget, Hollywood adaptation of this book?

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • tariq
  • 04-04-16

As usual from Scot & team, fantastic.

As usual from Scot & team, fantastic.
From the opening words to the closing lines, I was completely immersed.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Crawf
  • 10-10-15

interestingly different

I did not expect to enjoy this novel as much as I have. Without realising it I was drawn into M's world and the story just flowed from there. I had guessed some of the plot before it happened but that did not take away from the pleasure of the book. A great performance from the narrator also helped hold my interest and slowly immerse me in the plight of the birthday children.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • James
  • 08-17-15

Really enjoyed it...

Another great Sigler book. Can't wait for the next instalment. Narrated and acted well and despite the lack of Scott's voice acting was thoroughly immersive. Well done all involved.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mr. Daniel M. Rimer
  • 08-14-15

Scott never ceases to amaze!

Admittedly, I guessed part of the plot within the first couple of chapters but that didn't so me enjoying the whole audio book!

I was particularly impressed with the author's first person monologue, seeing a strange world through the eyes of a young girl.

The presentation was excellent with the narrator conveying the fears and insecurities of the 12 year old girl with apparent ease. it was a joy to listen to!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Kenneth Thornhill
  • 07-29-15

Yet Another Brilliant Title From Mr Sigler!

This book weaves a spellbinding journey of discovery in a setting that you not expect!

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Grant Green
  • 07-15-15

Shock and Gore

After listening to the innocent voice of the narrator in the free podcast, I had to hear more, this book will not not disappoint, the author is a master cunninglinquist and creates scenarios full of suspense and sets up scenes that take you from empathy to horror and back again! A true tale to surprise.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful