Regular price: $26.23

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The first book in a witty, suspenseful new trilogy about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever detective yarn will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter.

Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers were one of the most infamous pairs in history. But the Holmes family has always been odd, and Charlotte is no exception. She's inherited Sherlock's volatility and some of his vices - and when Jamie and Charlotte end up at the same Connecticut boarding school, Charlotte makes it clear she's not looking for friends.

But when a student they both have a history with dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Danger is mounting, and nowhere is safe - and the only people they can trust are each other.

©2016 Brittany Cavallaro (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    92
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    33
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    79
  • 4 Stars
    65
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Excellent concept

Would you consider the audio edition of A Study in Charlotte to be better than the print version?

Yes. The performance by Graham Halstead brought Jamie to life.

What other book might you compare A Study in Charlotte to and why?

I don't think I have read another book I would compare this too. The concept of the future Holmes/Watson generations is a unique one.

What about Graham Halstead and Julia Whelan ’s performance did you like?

Graham Halstead's performance was excellent as Jamie in narration. His unique voices for each character made the story feel like a clear reconnection of Jamie's. I fully enjoyed his performance. Julia Whelan captured Charlotte's cool and detached personality.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes. The first time I listened to this book, I hated having to press pause to get back to the real world. I have since listened to the book several times, many in one sitting. The story is fast paced and exciting. Each chapter left me wanting to know what would happen next. Some plot points required re-listening to fully understand what happened. It is a story I enjoy re-listening to.

Any additional comments?

The concept of a future Holmes/Watson generation is a unique one. Every modern adaptation of the Sherlock Holmes stories has placed the original pair in modern day. This take of what Sherlock and John's descendants' lives might be like was intriguing and exciting.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Very, very good. interesting plot.

Eh, James is a bit sappy, romanticizing everything, especially Charlotte, but the story is 10/10. Very interesting.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Modern, retelling of Doyle's A Study in Scarlet

I found this fun and a good way to clear my mind after studying. While this author is no Anthony Horowitz her story moves along well, is funny and she updates the Victorians story well. I would read another one.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

So boring

While the narration of this novel was good. I thought both narrates did a good job. The overall story was SO boring and ridiculous. I did not enjoy it at all.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Okay

I love Sherlock Holmes. This is not Sherlock Holmes. The story is okay but it just seems to resolve quick and there's some semi forced relationship between charlotte and Jaime. I was also a little concerned with pretty casual drinking and drug use amongst high school kids in a dorm without really any consequences. It was okay though

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

What if Homes and Watson were teenagers?

So... generations after Sherlock and John, their families continue their legendary work. Charlotte and Jamie must deal with a past as they move to creating their own legacy.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful