Swimming for Sunlight

Narrated by: Madeleine Maby
Length: 10 hrs and 1 min
Categories: Fiction, Contemporary
4.5 out of 5 stars (23 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

When recently divorced Katie Ellis and her rescue dog, Bark, move back in with Katie’s grandmother in Florida, she becomes swept up in a reunion of her grandmother’s troupe of underwater performers - finding hope and renewal in unexpected places, in this sweet novel perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Claire Cook.

Aspiring costume designer Katie gave up everything in her divorce to gain custody of her fearful, faithful rescue dog, Barkimedes. While she figures out what to do next, she heads back to Florida to live with her grandmother, Nan.

But Katie quickly learns there’s a lot she doesn’t know about Nan - like the fact that in her youth, Nan was a mermaid performer in a roadside attraction show, swimming and dancing underwater with a close-knit cast of talented women. Although most of the mermaids have since lost touch, Katie helps Nan search for her old friends on Facebook, sparking hopes for a reunion show. Katie is up for making some fabulous costumes, but first, she has to contend with her crippling fear of water. 

As Katie’s college love Luca, a documentary filmmaker, enters the fray, Katie struggles to balance her hopes with her anxiety and begins to realize just how much Bark’s fears are connected to her own, in this thoughtful, charming novel about hope after loss and friendships that span generations.

©2019 Allie Larkin (P)2019 Simon & Schuster

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another winner from Allie Larkin

Allie Larkin is an incredibly talented author. Like her two other titles, Stay and Why Can't I Be You, her heroine is facing a hurdle she needs to overcome. She quickly draws you into Katie's world and has you rooting for her. I finished the book in a day because I was that invested in it. I wish Ms. Larkin published more books. If you haven't, check out her other two books. She a great find.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

First let me say I listed to Allie Larkin's other two books and loved them. I was so looking forward to this one! Unfortunately, the narrator is not to my liking. When she speaks in any voice other than the main character's, her voice slows down (almost like the character had a stroke). I sped up the audiobook hoping it would be better, but it's not. The storyline isn't grabbing me either. The premise is nice but I'm not enjoying the book. I'm a little over half way through and have decided to call it quits. Life is too short and there are other books I want to read/listen to. Perhaps the written version would be better. I'm disappointed...

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Breathtaking

Everyone has phobias, they made be small, they be overwhelming, but learning to deal with those phobias is the overriding theme of this book.

When Kate's husband divorces her, she's left with nothing but a few articles of clothing and her rescue dog Barkimedes. Bark is timid and afraid of this own shadow (and cardboard). Kate takes Bark and moves to Florida to stay with her Grandma in a wonderful community of active seniors.

This book is heartbreaking, heartwrenching, and the story of starting over and rebuilding a life from scratch. It captivated me at the first page and kept me listening hopefully that all would be okay for Kate and Bark and all the rest of the wonderful characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Doesn't Disappoint!

Loved it! felt swept up in the story and loved the characters! A sweeping story of loss, recovering, and love.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thoroughly enjoyed this one! <br />

The emotional depth of the lead character and her intern battles had me completely engaged and certain the author was writing from firsthand experience. Whether true or not, it had me riveted.