Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.50

Buy for $31.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

PNBA best seller

"A powerful and inspiring story. Guido Rahr’s mission to save the wild Pacific salmon leads him into adventures that make for a breathtakingly exciting read." (Ian Frazier, author of Travels in Siberia)

Editors’ Choice: The New York Times Book ReviewOutside MagazineNational Book ReviewForbes

In the tradition of Mountains Beyond Mountains and The Orchid Thief, Stronghold is Tucker Malarkey’s eye-opening account of one of the world’s greatest fly fishermen and his crusade to protect the world’s last bastion of wild salmon.

From a young age, Guido Rahr was a misfit among his family and classmates, preferring to spend his time in the natural world. When the salmon runs of the Pacific Northwest began to decline, Guido was one of the few who understood why. As dams, industry, and climate change degraded the homes of these magnificent fish, Rahr saw that the salmon of the Pacific Rim were destined to go the way of their Atlantic brethren: near extinction. An improbable and inspiring story, Stronghold takes us on a wild adventure, from Oregon to Alaska to one of the world’s last remaining salmon strongholds in the Russian Far East, a landscape of ecological richness and diversity that is rapidly being developed for oil, gas, minerals, and timber. Along the way, Rahr contends with scientists, conservationists, Russian oligarchs, corrupt officials, and unexpected allies in an attempt to secure a stronghold for the endangered salmon, an extraordinary keystone species whose demise would reverberate across the planet.

Tucker Malarkey, who joins Rahr in the Russian wilderness, has written a clarion call for a sustainable future, a remarkable work of natural history, and a riveting account of a species whose future is closely linked to our own.

Praise for Stronghold

"This book isn’t just about fish, it’s about life itself and the fragile unseen threads that connect all creatures across this beleaguered orb we call home. Guido Rahr’s quest to save the world’s wild salmon should serve as an inspiration - and a provocation - for us all, and Tucker Malarkey’s exquisite book captures Rahr’s weird and wonderful story with poignancy, humor, and grace." (Hampton Sides, author of In the Kingdom of Ice and Blood and Thunder)

"A crazy-good, intensely lived book that reads like an international thriller - only it’s our beloved salmon playing the part of diamonds or oil or gold." (David James Duncan, author of The River Why and The Brothers K)

©2019 Tucker Malarkey (P)2019 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

“All fishermen know that we have to fight to save the waters we love. Stronghold tells a captivating story of the struggle to save the last great salmon rivers.” (Johnny Morris, founder/owner of Bass Pro Shops, owner of Cabela’s)

Stronghold lets us tag along on the unpredictable adventure that is loving nature, and spares us neither its sacrifices nor its rewards. It's a book for everyone who has wished for a place where life is defended and upheld - for a place on earth that will make us whole.” (Hope Jahren, author of Lab Girl)

“The wild salmon is the world’s most wondrous, most improbable fish, with a life that is epic, heroic, and tragic. Malarkey’s narrative action, pacing, and human hero - Guido Rahr - all rise to the level that the subject requires. With our nets, dams, and clear-cutting, we do salmon no favors and add greatly to their tragedy. This book is about a man who is in many ways a passionate master of fighting for one of earth’s living miracles. And within his story are many lessons for how to lead, get things done, and hold on to the imperative to keep at it - no matter what.” (Carl Safina, author of Song for the Blue Ocean and Beyond Words)
 

What listeners say about Stronghold

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing story

A truly inspiring and amazing story of a life worth lives. A unique person dedicated to saving the environment. I learned so much about the impact of a keystone animal - the salmon - and how it impacts our world. Incredible.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One for all

This is a fantastic book for all fisherman and fisherwomen. One that everyone should listen to. Excellent job of sinking in the importance of salmonids and their importance in the ecosystem and why they need to be protected.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Made me an environmentalist!

I was “hooked” by this story! I appreciate our rivers and the interconnectness of all things much more after hearing it! The beauty described was palpable and the story itself had enough of everything to appeal to a wide variety of readers. I was sorry it had to end!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unbelievable Story!

I loved this book from the first page. So many experiences and feelings that resonated strongly with me. It's a fantastic read that I couldn't put down.