Regular price: $14.82

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The Stick Dog series continues in Tom Watson's hilarious Stick Dog Tries to Take the Donuts!

Stick Dog and his team of strays are off on another outrageous canine caper. To snatch some breakfast treats for his hungry pals, Stick Dog will need to stop a moving truck, outfox a man on a telephone pole, and calm down a very caffeinated Karen. But that's not all. He'll also need to manage the greatest confrontation in history when his good friend, Poo-Poo, comes face to face with the ultimate enemy - a squirrel.

With Stick Dog's smarts, daring, and loyalty - and patience - he just might lead his buddies to the best breakfast ever. Perfect for fans of Big Nate, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and the previous Stick Dog books.

It's morning. The dogs are hungry. It's time to take the donuts!

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your Library section along with the audio.

©2016 Tom Watson (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

A Few Questions

Why was the man gone for so long? Stick dog's friends seen to disagree with him a lot. And the one who starts it is Stripes. Is Stripes now against Stick dog? Why didn't the man start investigating when Karen drank his coffie? And maybe stick dog could have said "Yes, he did show his superiority to squirrels... He let it go."

Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-28-16

Painfully laborious storytelling

Any additional comments?

Listened in the car with a 5 and 9 year old. The story started off with some promise - early laughs as the characters were introduced, and the voices were fun. But all too quickly we found ourselves frustrated by the painfully drawn-out storytelling. Every minor event in the short storyline is described repetitively with a tedious and unnecessary level of detail.