Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.11

Buy for $18.11

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The much-anticipated fifth thriller in Lars Kepler's best-selling series featuring Joona Linna. Perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.

A video clip is sent to the National Criminal Investigation Department. Someone has secretly filmed a woman through her window from the garden. The next day she is found dead after a frenzied knife attack.

The police receive a second film of another unknown woman. There is no way of identifying her before time runs out. When her husband finds her, he is so traumatised that he cleans the whole house and puts her to bed. He may have seen a vital clue but is in such an extreme state of shock that the police are unable to question him. Psychiatrist Erik Maria Bark is called in to hypnotise him - but what the man tells him under hypnosis leads Erik to start lying to the police.

If the lights are on, a stalker can see you from outside. But if the lights are off, you can't see a stalker who is already inside the house.

©2016 Lars Kepler (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

Praise for Lars Kepler: "Kepler's plots are always thrilling, but The Sandman is one of the most hair-raising crime novels published this year." ( The Sunday Times)
"Hurtles along...full of nuanced detail which sets it far above the average thriller.... You'll be terrified." ( Evening Standard)
"Taking Europe by storm...ferocious, visceral storytelling that wraps you in a cloak of darkness." ( Daily Mail)
"Deeply scarifying stuff." ( Independent)
"Kepler has a direct line to a very dark place in the human soul." (Lev Grossman, Time)

What listeners say about Stalker

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome book. A page turner... Highly recommended.

The narrator made a hell of a good job. He managed to drag me into the narrative. Can't wait for listening to an other book by Kepler.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for vincent mawhinney
  • vincent mawhinney
  • 09-15-17

Stalker

I really enjoyed this book. It was well read and keeps going apace from start to finish. I have read previous offerings from Lars Kepler. This is at least on a par with those if not better. The plot is well played out and finishes with a crescendo of tension.
If you want a book that hooks you and keeps you reading, then this is a book for you.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for marimax
  • marimax
  • 04-13-17

Over-long and over-hyped

What did you like best about Stalker? What did you like least?

I have not listened to any previous books in this series and perhaps if I had I would have got more out of it than I have so far. I am listening to the second part and I had to check to see why I selected this book in the first place. Like a great many people I looked at the reviews and some were so complimentary that I thought it must be me.The basis of the story was that three women had been video-taped in their home before being brutally-murdered. Any tension was completely lost in the over-use of red herrings which introduced two-dimensional characters who lead nowhere and are quickly discarded after a "set piece" such as the orgy or the incident in the tunnels The psychologists are completely unprofessional and implausible. The chief one, Erik, reaches for prescription pills all the time (perhaps earlier books would explain why) and his female colleague, Nelle (if that's how it's spelt) behaves like a silly schoolgirl. I found the story rambling and descriptions repetitive, particularly of the heavily pregnant, investigating police officer Margot. Not one of the characters is likeable or sympathetic, Again I may have missed something not having read the previous books,

Would you ever listen to anything by Lars Kepler again?

No, not on the basis of this book.. .

Did Saul Reichlin do a good job differentiating each of the characters? How?

Saul Reichlin did a sterling job as always and he did his best with the material but I found his delivery stilted and I do think the use of the present tense (which I personally find irritating) did not help.

Was Stalker worth the listening time?

No. It was far too long and padded out to no good effect but I shall persevere to find out "whodunnit",.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Seayeaitch
  • Seayeaitch
  • 07-08-16

Clear the Decks, once you start you will not .....

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

want to put this down until you are finished.A gripping story with twists and turns throughout, it captures the location and the atmosphere and creates an enthralling dialogue that you feel part of the plot.

What does Saul Reichlin bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

The voice encapsulates the region and the theme it is an added dimension providing a perfect compliment to the written word.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Definitely if you can organise it this is a great one sitting listen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bookworm
  • Bookworm
  • 06-03-16

Kepler's masterpiece

Certainly value for money here as a very long listen/read.

The story builds slowly and there are a few surprises along the way. Featuring Joona Linna again his character is developed here into a risk taker. Perhaps he feels he has nothing to lose after the death of his partner, and the trauma that preceded that .

Would recommend this to those who love the Joona Linna series, but it can also be read as a standalone.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 05-20-16

A fascinating book with a complex plot.

Highly enjoyable. The end is a real nail biter, read with style and passion by a superb narrator. The protagonist is fascinating and the characters believable. it has some very dark moments which add to the tension.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for "supersapper"
  • "supersapper"
  • 09-07-20

Top Notch

From start to finish a gripping, fantastic book! The narration by Saul Reuchlin is second to none!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Delroy Spencer
  • Delroy Spencer
  • 04-02-20

Not Engaging at all..

I started to loose so much interest in the story I didn't want to finish the book... the narrator was not very good also..

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Liz Young
  • Liz Young
  • 01-16-19

Brilliant in every way!

Another masterful, intricate and utterly gripping tour de force from Lars Kepler brilliantly brought to life by Saul Reichlin’s narration. Six stars!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-16-18

Bit disappointed

First book I'd listened to by Lars Kepler. I was very distracted from the story by the narrater's irritating voice changes for the characters. I had planned to listen to the Rabbit Hunter next but I think the annoying "voices" have put me off.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr G Marsh
  • Mr G Marsh
  • 03-17-18

Nail biting

Totally gripping although some parts overlong in descriptive. Nevertheless super story I found it difficult to breath at times. As usual flawless narration by Saul.