adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP

Try our newest plan – unlimited listening to select audiobooks, Audible Originals, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
$7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $23.07

Buy for $23.07

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Tony Hillerman and Joseph Wambaugh comes this suspense thriller reuniting Bureau of Indian Affairs Criminal Investigator Emmett Quanah Parker and FBI Special Agent Anna Turnipseed, two Native American cops torn between their heritage and the law.

A fire-gutted police cruiser found in a remote part of the Navajo reservation bears witness to a horrific crime. Inside are the bodies of a tribal patrolman and his wife. As BIA Investigator Emmett Parker and FBI Special Agent Anna Turnipseed know, a cop's murder is never simple, raising countless questions and suspicions. When another murder is discovered, the case explodes into an otherworldly realm.

Both Parker, a Comanche, and Turnipseed, a Modoc, are well acquainted with the eerie shadow land between native myth and modern homicide investigation. Now they will have to touch minds with a murderer who has woven personal madness with Navajo myth to create his own reality - and with it the need to kill and kill again.

©2000 Kirk Mitchell (P)2009 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

Critic Reviews

"In his second suspense novel featuring unseasoned FBI Special Agent Anna Turnipseed and relentless Bureau of Indian Affairs Investigator Emmett Parker, Mitchell pulls out all the stops....Mitchell [is] a powerful writer of deep emotions, breathtaking natural beauty and nail-biting suspense. ( Publishers Weekly)

What listeners say about Spirit Sickness

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    290
  • 4 Stars
    141
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    298
  • 4 Stars
    80
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    254
  • 4 Stars
    116
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

An excellent entry in the series

Kirk Mitchell is a good alternative to Tony Hillerman and the fictional detective duo of Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed make for a nice combination of police procedural, murder mystery with a bit of native American lore.

Veteren Audible narrator Stefan Rudnicki also did a good job on the book.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Good but not Hillerman

Good suspense and well developed characters. And, a lot of surprises in the plot. Pretty graphic though, a route not taken by Tony Hillerman. I hope Audible supplies us with future episodes. Its a solid four stars.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Different and entertaining

Well written. The pace was quite good. The narrators deep voice and slow speach took some getting used to. The whole storyline reminded me of a fantasy novel. I haven't checked how factual the setting is. The book placed me in a different world. If this world exists as written then it is even more fascinating. I really liked this book

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Gritty mystery of the native American southwest

It’s fairly obvious that Tony Hillerman‘s success with this particular genre has inspired the author. The writing is pretty good except for an occasional misused word - apparently there are no editors anymore and dictionaries are a thing of the past - and the plotting is tight and makes sense, generally speaking. The story is more violent and less spiritual than Hillerman fans might expect, but compelling nevertheless.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • SP
  • 08-09-21

Tough read

I’ve always been interested in Indian culture so although this didn’t measure up to the first I stuck with it. Like the characters and learn a bit more with each story so shall probably try another in a while.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Spirit Sickness

It started out okay then the language became terrible. Would not recommend! Very disappointed. I listened to over half of it and that was enough.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Some cw

cw for incest and abuse

author handles the topics respectfully with focus on charecter healing and survivor process within cultural context

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not Hillerman but still good

No this Kirk is not Tony Hillerman but still a darn good author in his own right. Good characters, wonder story line.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

The Emmett and Anna series is so good. I am surprised that this hasn’t been turned into a series and I would love to see what happens and see more books in the series come out.
The characters are so rich and the plots are so well written.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can't wait to start the next one!

Another GREAT book, well narrated, with well developed characters and an interesting storyline. Thanks for this freebie Audible, the series is excellent!
A side note; As someone with way too many possessions (think hoarder), I can tell you with certainty that what you keep or throw away absolutely effects your well being!