• Shield-Maiden: Under the Howling Moon

  • The Road to Valhalla, Book 1
  • By: Melanie Karsak
  • Narrated by: Lesley Parkin
  • Length: 7 hrs and 21 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (255 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Shield-Maiden: Under the Howling Moon  By  cover art

Shield-Maiden: Under the Howling Moon

By: Melanie Karsak
Narrated by: Lesley Parkin
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Chosen by Odin. Destined for Valhalla.

In my dreams, Odin whispers to me.
He tells me I'm destined to wield a legendary sword.
He tells me my road will bring me to Valhalla.

But when I wake, I'm only Hervor. Fatherless. Unloved. Unwanted. Jarl Bjartmar, my grandfather, calls me cursed. My mother, her memories stolen by the gods, has forgotten me. Everyone tells me I should have been left to the wolves, but no one will tell me why.

None but Eydis, a thrall with völva magic, believes I'm meant for a greater destiny. Yet who can believe a devotee of Loki?

When the king and his son arrive for the holy blót, the runes begin to fall in my favor. A way forward may lie in the handsome Viking set on winning my heart, but only if I unravel the mystery hanging over me first.

Fans of Vikings, The Last Kingdom, and The Mists of Avalon will relish Shield-Maiden: Under the Howling Moon. This sweeping Viking Historical Fantasy retells the Norse Hervarar Saga, depicting the life of the shieldmaiden Hervor, the inspiration for J. R. R. Tolkien's Éowyn.

©2020 Clockpunk Press (P)2020 Clockpunk Press