Your audiobook is waiting…

Sherwood

Narrated by: Fiona Hardingham
Length: 13 hrs and 20 mins
4 out of 5 stars (15 ratings)

Regular price: $34.22

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Danielle Paige, Marissa Meyer, and Alex Flinn will devour New York Times best-selling author Meagan Spooner’s next fierce fairy-tale-inspired story, which Illuminae author Amie Kaufman calls “a kick-ass, gender-flipped feminist retelling”.

Robin of Locksley is dead. 

Maid Marian doesn’t know how she’ll go on, but the people of Locksley town, persecuted by the sheriff of Nottingham, need a protector. And the dreadful Guy of Gisborne, the sheriff’s right hand, wishes to step into Robin’s shoes as lord of Locksley and Marian’s fiancé. 

Who is there to stop them? 

Marian never meant to tread in Robin’s footsteps - never intended to stand as a beacon of hope to those awaiting his triumphant return. But with a sweep of his green cloak and the flash of her sword, Marian makes the choice to become her own hero: Robin Hood. 

©2019 Meagan Spooner (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My favorite version of Robin Hood thus far.

This tale made me giddy and proud to be a woman. I loved the twists and vivid language as well as the imagery. I loved the villian and hero as they changed depending on how you looked at things. This version made my heart happy and soul soar. I would listen again amd again.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • K. J. Noyes
  • 04-22-19

Historical feminist role reversal

Role reversal, feminist historical rewriting of myth/history. Worked for me.

An idea I can't believe hasn't been thought of before, now I've read it! 'What if' Robin wasn't really Robin, but was really... Marian?

One of the most famous heroes/criminals of all time, Robin Hood, dead before he could become the legend. In Spooner's world, Robin of Loxley has died overseas in the Crusades. His fianceé, she can't quite believe it, but the common people need a protector, a hero, someone to look after their interests against the ruling lords.

Marian finds herself taking on the identity of her dead childhood friend, and herself an accomplished archer, might be able to serve her people AND protect her own interests as Guy of Gisborne attempts to woo her.

A very interesting take on the story, and the questions you would ask yourself about a woman taking on a man's role all come up. The way she feels about fulfilling the job, how she keeps herself both hidden and seen as a male, how it changes her perception of other women in a medieval world, how her own confidence and expectations alter.

Personally, my favourite aspect of the story was Guy of Gisborne. I just loved how he begins as the definite bad guy, but gradually both Marian and the reader sees some of his backstory nad you can't help but feel that he might not be wholly someone you should loathe.

A good feel for the period, and a great exploration of a woman's perspective of the legend. Some light sexual content and references, so one I'd recommend to ages 14 and above.

A good Audible choice, the voice of Marian is well-conveyed, with a younger-sounding voice for the younger Marian in flashbacks, and an easy story to follow along with the narrator.

With thanks to Nudge Books for providing a sample Audible copy.