• Sherlock Holmes and the Eisendorf Enigma

  • Sherlock Holmes in Minnesota, Book 8
  • By: Larry Millett
  • Narrated by: Steve Hendrickson
  • Length: 8 hrs and 22 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (229 ratings)

Try our newest plan – access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Plus plan is $7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.47

Buy for $24.47

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Dogged by depression, doubt, and - as a trip to the Mayo Clinic has revealed - emphysema, 66-year-old Sherlock Holmes is preparing to return to England when he receives a shock: a note slipped under his hotel room door, from a vicious murderer he'd nearly captured in Munich in 1892. The murderer, known as the Monster of Munich, announces that he has relocated to Eisendorf, a tiny village near the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota.

If Holmes is not what he once was, the same can be said for Eisendorf: once a thriving community founded by German idealists but now a dying town with only 40 residents - two of whom have, indeed, died recently under highly mysterious circumstances.

Replete with all the Gothic richness of Larry Millett's earlier Holmes novels, Sherlock Holmes and the Eisendorf Enigma links events in 1892 Germany with those in small-town Minnesota in 1920 in a double mystery that tests the aging detective's mettle - and the listener's nerve - as never before. Guided by Eisendorf's peculiar archivist and taunted by the Monster, Holmes finds himself drawn into the town's dark history of violence and secrecy and into the strange tunnels that underscore the old flour mill where answers and grievous danger lie in wait. No longer the cool, flawless logician of times past, Holmes must nonetheless match wits with a fiendish opponent who taunts him right up to an explosive final confrontation.

©2017 Larry Millett (P)2017 Audio-Visceral Media

What listeners say about Sherlock Holmes and the Eisendorf Enigma

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    176
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    174
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    157
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good

I liked this story better than the Disappearance of Sherlock Holmes, the Rune Stone Mystery and the Ice Palace History. I liked that the usual themes of city vice weren't prevalent in this story. I also liked that the story was told from an omniscient third party standpoint for the most part. All of the Millett books are smart and have a good plot.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perhaps the best of Millet's Holmes novels

Engaging, exciting, and interesting final (one hopes) tale of Holmes', and--briefly, this time--Watson's, adventures in MN. Must say I particularly appreciate the growth in Holmes' character as he comes to appreciate both life and relationships; good to see some [tentative] emotion and humanity in the old detective, especially in his care and concern for Willi.
I must say, tho, that I really missed the presence of Watson throughout most of the tale; as well as any real involvement of Rafferty & Thomas in the story. A couple of new good local characters appear in Boyd and Torgleson, but their development is too shallow to count.
But, overall, it's closer to a 5 star book than a 4, maybe 4.55? Fans of Doyle's S.H. & J.W. should be quite happy with this book, #8, and book #5. And Audible ought to record books 6 & 7 for us!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Every book in this series has been phenomenal!

excellent story, and keeps it interesting all the way through. highly recommend. I wish they would narrate all the other stories between this book and the time stone mysteries

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully written character study

Beautifully written character study of an aging Holmes who realizes he must grapple with the life changes we all recognize eventually. I have enjoyed all of the installments in Millett's Holmes series and this I think is the best. Holmes' emotional assessment of himself is completely consistent with the entire Holmes cannon. My only complaint in the past with this series has been that at times Watson has been just a little too dense, but even that is remedied in this installment.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great performance, fastidious plot

Excellent story and talented performance. Worthy homage to the genre. Try it you will not be disappointed.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Roo
  • Roo
  • 05-12-22

difficult to follow

narrator kept changing accent, not sure if Irish or German! glad I didn't pay for the book.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jeremy Nicholson
  • Jeremy Nicholson
  • 11-12-21

Rubbish

This is complete drivel. How this ever got published is beyond me. Avoid like the plague.