Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Shadows of Self  By  cover art

Shadows of Self

By: Brandon Sanderson
Narrated by: Michael Kramer
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $21.78

Buy for $21.78

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Fans of Robert Jordan and George R. R. Martin alike have found a new champion of epic fantasy in Brandon Sanderson. And now, in the first of two sequels to The Alloy of Law, the Sunday Times and New York Times best-selling author returns to the world of Mistborn.

It is more than 300 years after the events of the The Final Empire shaped Scadrial. Waxillium Ladrian has returned to the capital city of Elendel from the far-flung roughs.

Elendel is crisscrossed by canals and railways, and towers reach for the sky, but this is still a city of dangers and of magic; Allomancy and Feruchemy can still change the world. Wax faces many more adventures.

Sanderson is a master of rich worlds, appealing characters and gripping plots, and his return to Mistborn shows him at the height of his powers.

©2015 Dragonsteel Entertainment, LLC (P)2015 Macmillan Audio

What listeners say about Shadows of Self

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    257
  • 4 Stars
    88
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    270
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    208
  • 4 Stars
    82
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brandon Sanderson delivers a great adventure!

Brandon Sanderson's storytelling skills are amazing. Very quickly he has taken a place among my favorite authors. This book is funny, thoughtful, has interesting mystery, adventure and drama.
Seriously, if you appreciate a good story, you will most likely enjoy this book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Incredible

Better than THE ALLOY OF LAW. SHADOWS OF SELF has so much mentions to the MISTBORN TRILOGY and focuses on the THREE METALLIC ARTS which is so amazing I love this magic system so unique 😊❤️

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great book and the plot twist at the end…

Chef’s kiss!!! Brandon did it again! This book made me reflect so much on religion and it’s part in modern society… it’s just amazing!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

Sanderson is a master of his craft. With Kramer's performance the story is given a life of its own.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great addition to the mistborn universe

I've loved every book in the Mistborn series, and Sanderson's extension to the universe continues to delight. This was well-read, and had just the right amount of suspense and tension to make it almost a noir crime thriller.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great book and series. author is awesome!

Brandon Sanderson is an amazing author! every series he writes is unlike anything else. and it makes me unable to choose what series of his is my favourite! in general the cosmere is my favourite!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!