Regular price: $19.60

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In Firstlight, best-selling author Sue Monk Kidd offers readers an intimate glimpse into the early years of her journey as both writer and spiritual seeker. Drawn from the author's early writings for Guideposts and, to a lesser extent, other publications, this selection of personal reflections and essays is organized around 13 spiritual motifs and interwoven to create a compelling narrative about the author's spiritual awakening.

Included are writings about the author's multiple roles as mother, daughter, wife, nurse, and writer. There are recollections about her extensive travels and reflections on her childhood and marriage. And there are musings on a stream of ordinary moments: watching a bird feeder, a homeless man, a golf tournament, all of which added richness and meaning to the author's journey.

©2006 GuidepostsBooks; (P)2006 Penguin Audio, a member of Penguin Group (USA) Inc. All rights reserved.

Critic Reviews

"Fans of Joan Bauer and Louise Rennison will flock to this sweet confection of a first novel, as enjoyable as any treat from the real DQ." (School Library Journal)
"This humorous, romantic romp excels at revealing a situation seldom explored in YA novels." (Booklist)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 3.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Cliff B
  • Bedford, NH, United States
  • 01-20-12

Worthy Read

Sue Monk Kidd is one of my favorite authors, so I found it interesting to hear her early thoughts... It wasn't as "schmaltzy" as I expected, and she clearly came out of the box as a pretty polished writer... Don't read expecting a story - it's a series of essays organized by theme. I wish that someone would do an audible version of Dance of the Dissident Daughter.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Simplicity. Depth. Inspiring.

I always enjoy every word, story, meaning, and lesson Sue Monk Kidd brings to life from observations of every day life.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful