Regular price: $4.58

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Bill Vokes has played Santa at the children's Christmas show for years. But with the show just hours away, he vanishes with no explanation. The whole village is baffled. Did something bad happen to loveable Bill, upstanding citizen, churchgoer, life and soul of the party and the holiday season? Jack and Sarah are on the case - and soon discover there are secrets about this Santa that no one could have imagined...

Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new audio episode released every two weeks. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick listen for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa.

For fans of Agatha Christie's "Miss Marple" series, Lilian Jackson Braun's "The Cat Who" series, Caroline Graham's "Midsomer Murders", and the American TV series "Murder She Wrote", starring Angela Lansbury.

Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90's, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few. Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham.

The narrator of the audiobook, Neil Dudgeon, has been in many British television programmes including the roles of "DCI John Barnaby" in "Midsomer Murders" and "Jim Riley" in "The Life of Riley". He is also known for his film roles in "The Nativity", "Sorted" and "Son of Rambow". In 2012, Dudgeon starred as "Norman Birkett" on BBC Radio 4's Afternoon Play series written by Caroline and David Stafford.
©2017 Bastei Lübbe (P)2017 Lübbe Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    359
  • 4 Stars
    88
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    6

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    359
  • 4 Stars
    62
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    316
  • 4 Stars
    70
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love this series! please make more!

really wish there were more in English! I have up to episode 18 but can't find the next chapters read by the same narrator

19 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great story

As always, wonderful storytellers and perfect narrator. Thanks for an engaging holiday respite in Cherringham!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

What happened? Unimaginable and Predictable

I've enjoyed the other books in this series so I don't know what happened to this one. It reads as though it was written over night. Ex-cop Jack spent more time drinking than thinking and Compute whiz Sarah was written to miss the obvious. It was all very sad.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

audible - pls offer books beyond nr 19 in english!

love this series - we really got into it -- is disappointing that beyond nr 19 in the series - the books are only offered in german. i hope audible considers offering the remaining books in english soon.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great!

More, please!!!!! Love this series, please do more. A fun perfect bite of a mystery. Neil Dudgen is a perfect narrator for this series!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Diana
  • Antelope Valley, CA, United States
  • 04-19-18

Another well done audio mystery story - very good

This crime series is a nice way to spend time being entertained - the characters are interesting - there isn't sex, gore, and horror - the focus is on people, their behavior and lives.

I like the way this series skips months and years and the people are changing and growing over time - yet friendships stay the course.

The ideas the authors come up with for the mysteries to be solved are good - there are some really interesting twists and observations of human behavior and lives and choices.

The narration is very good.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Cherringham

This is a terrific series and Neil Dudgeon does a great job on it. Looking forward to more!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful story & narration

I love all of these Cherringham mysteries. Easy listening, but also very engaging. I love trying to solve the mysterious along the way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

easy reading

lovely light reading you can listen to anytime can't wait to read more thank you

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good a usual.

Loved it, and wish there were more. If you love the others, then listen to this.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Julie
  • 01-16-18

A really great listen all round!

Where does Secret Santa (Cherringham - A Cosy Crime Series: Mystery Shorts 25) rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

These stories are just so comfy, like your favourite slippers. The plots are believable, Neil Dudgeon is just fantastic at narration, and I am always desperate for the next story from these writers. Keep them coming!

What did you like best about this story?

The ease and flow of the plot

What about Neil Dudgeon’s performance did you like?

His voice and style of performance is really relaxing

Any additional comments?

I love these books and if you like a straightforward whodunnit they are just the job!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • anne edwards
  • 01-08-18

Xmas

Very well written and very well read. It will keep your wondering what is coming next

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CharmayneFB
  • 04-12-18

Love this series!

Really enjoy the mix of characters each episode brings to the established cast. Beautifully warm and funny too. Superbly narrated.

Please, please can we have episodes 22 to 24 compilation available in English in Audible, rather than just in German? As we have missed those three out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Linda
  • 01-03-18

More more more!

I love these stories, the characters, the village & Jack sounds so nice 😃 These mysteries are everyday type of things that could happen in any village. Please Neil Dudgeon read them all as soon as possible so we can enjoy listening to them.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Scottish reviewer
  • 02-27-18

Where are the next Cherringham stories

Loved every bit of it, as usual. Always interesting.
AUDIBLE get a move on and record more in this series please, lots of people waiting!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • spider
  • 09-19-18

great story

loved it. shortish, kept my interest just right for a relaxing afternoons listening by the fire

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Judy Lovelock
  • 02-13-18

Very good

That was a very good story with a feel good factor, a nice light hearted tale

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • KATHLEEN HARVEY
  • 01-06-18

Cheltenham secret sants in

Found this to be interesting and well done
It was a nice mystery and did not want to stop listening

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Fleetwoodboy
  • 01-03-18

Where’s Santa Gone ??

Neat little novella which had an entertaining story line and read brilliantly. As one of a series it kept its credibility. Worth a read / listen .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 12-30-17

Absolutely perfect

I can picture every word. Fantastically gorgeous writing. Always puts a smile on my face x

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • 🦋 Percyville 🦋
  • 03-09-18

"A good light read"

A friend put me onto this series which I am thoroughly enjoying. I have more books in my wish list to follow-up.
Loving the mystery!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • SP Parkinson
  • 01-21-18

When will there be more?

It felt like revisiting old friends listening to Jack and Sarah’s latest mystery. Thoroughly enjoyed this and all the other books and can’t wait for those last few stories to be released in English.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-18-18

A good sound read

I love this series what more needs to be said. Just a good light read

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Ms Debora Picone
  • 06-11-18

What a shame

I am a avid audible listener. I simply will not be able to listen to this book because of the narration. It is forced, annoying & over the top.

In future the narration should be tested with listeners.