Regular price: $6.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

"My dad had limitations. That's what my good-hearted mom always told us. He had limitations, but he meant no harm. It was kind of her to say, but he did do harm." (Gillian Flynn, Gone Girl)

"People say you need to be strong, smart, and lucky to survive hard times, war, a natural disaster, or physical torture. But I say emotional abuse - anxiety, fear, guilt, and degradation - is far worse and much harder to survive." (Lisa See)

There is a problem in our world. The sociopaths/narcissists run free (well, mostly) while the survivors of their abuse fill counseling offices and courtrooms.

"Why does he treat me this way?" "Do I deserve such treatment from her?" "Does he know what is going on in our relationship?"

You've asked yourself these questions again and again. Now you have the chance to see inside the minds of angry and controlling partner - and change your life.

If someone has ever approached you and said that you are being abused, it might seem absurd due to the fact that no scars are showing. Or if a close friend told you an experience they are currently going through at work with their boss, and the abuse they get from them - and you immediately realize what it is, but they don't. You might want to buy this book for them.

The book explains in explicit detail some instances that emotional abuse takes place and what it looks like. This book might be what they actually need to finally understand and accept that what they are going through is not right.

An abuser is not aware of how they are towards their partner and do not understand this; the book does explain this and how they can change. It is a great book to know the ways you can stand up to your abuser without being too fierce but still have some grit in you.

Perfect for fans of Barrie Davenport and Patricia Evans.

©2017 Naomi McCullough (P)2017 Naomi McCullough

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An eye-opener.

An Eye opener, and a stepping stone for a new horizon. I hope this book will help.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best guidebook

Overall, it's a great book for learning about how to navigate expressing yourself in areas you feel vulnerable, whether you're in an emotionally abusive relationship or not. As a bonus, it teaches you how to notice, prevent, and manage potentially abusive behavior in yourself and others, too.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unique book!

Very insightful. An easy listen. Very helpful. Several personal surveys to help examine behaviors. It explains the process of abuse, explains the position of the "victim" and everything. If you are in a abusive relationship this is a must read for you!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A+

This book was very informative for me. So much of what I experienced as every day behavior was listed here as abusive. It was a step for me to free myself from the abusers in my life and to empower myself to accept no more.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Incredibly useful

This is the most detailed, supportive and insightful view on the relationship problems a lot of people are experiencing, very helpful for those suffering from personality disorders and their families. Can't thank the author enough for the deep understanding of the dynamics that lay beneath the abusive relationship.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Super

Naomi McCullough uses questionnaires, lists and example interactions to guide you through various concepts and action steps for building your own sense of self-esteem, self-awareness, and boundaries. Naomi McCullough also breaks down some helpful descriptions for Borderline Personality Disorder and Narcissistic Personality Disorder (or tendencies) and has approaches for recognizing those traits in yourself, in someone else and what either person can do about it to enact change.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Ready to start!

I learned so much about myself and the relationships and people I have been attracted to. I’m making serious changes in my life and I’m attracted to much different men and relationships! I have hope again.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Concise and interesting

This book has the some of the best systematic approach to addressing how one may have developed inconsistent boundaries and negative messages from an incomplete upbringing. The author's compassion and empathy for people whether they're "survivors" or "abusers" is refreshing. She recognizes that people are only able to cause great pain because they've experienced pain.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very very Helpful

I like the way the author goes through different scenario's throughput her studies & you get to be outside of the picture & see all of the different ways from different aspects that you see in your relationship. Great Book i have kindle version ALSO..

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The book is perfect

Very interesting book - and written for both the abused and the abuser... from a very respectful perspective. If you're in an emotionally or verbally abusive relationship - this book might be helpful to LISTEN.