We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Wrath of the Royals Audiobook

Wrath of the Royals: The Darkslayer, Book 1

Regular Price:$24.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Fans of RA Salvatore's Drizzt Do' Urden, Frizt Leiber's Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser, David Gemmell's Druss the Legend, Raymond E. Feist's Pug the Wizard, and Robert E. Howard's Conan, like The Darkslayer series. Perhaps you will as well.

Welcome to the unwelcome world of Bish.

Bish is the land of constant strife and turmoil. The rise and fall of the blazing suns make the days long and the people disagreeable. Its barren Outlands are as comforting as a bed of thorns as there is little sanctuary to be found in the sweltering forests or the dank caves below the ground. Its caviling cities are overrun with death, greed, and corruption, but few complain. It is a place where tempers flare and alliances last as long as a tankard of ale. It is a place where the women are as beautiful as they are scarred and deranged. A place where good doesn't thrive, it endures. It is the land of fight or die.

Enter Venir the incorrigible, a fierce warrior, who has been secretly keeping the underling forces at bay for years. He is the Darkslayer, a man possessed by a mantle of power he cannot let go.

Enter Melegal the resilient, a crafty rogue, and Venir's reluctant shadow.

Enter the underlings, a purely evil race of sadistic killers bent on the destruction of mankind.

Enter the humans, a greedy, self-absorbed race of shameless survivors.

Enter the orcs, halflings, dwarves, ogres, and other races, some good, some bad, all caught in the maelstrom of treachery and seduction.

How will they survive to fight and skim another day? Only Bish knows.

©2010 Craig Halloran (P)2016 Craig Halloran

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (11 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
3.9 (11 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
3.6 (11 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amazon CustomerBeliever 04-16-17 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    615
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    570
    510
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good Endures Says it all"

    This book is filled with all manner of plot twists that twist you up then unwinds you. In the description, it tells us that good endures and there is a lot of enduring. I am reminded of the Clint Eastwood movie where the Native American says, "Endeavor to endure." Good continues in spite of evil trying to prevail. This was a dark story but not oo dark. The narrator was good and enhanced the story. I got this book via audiobook boom.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Craig H 01-24-17
    Craig H 01-24-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it"
    Any additional comments?

    I was very excited that the DarkSlayer had finally made it to audible after reading through the series twice already. The narration really brought the book to life. I can't wait to listen the rest of the series.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer 01-04-17 Member Since 2015

    Aspiring author, classic literature scholar, fantasy and horror junkie, all wrapped up in a cute little package.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    50
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    36
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Out of this world; And into the Fantasy Realms"

    Craig Halloran has expanded his universe to include the story of Bish, who is a man on a quest, like most standard fantasies. The thing with Halloran's writing is that the plots aren't too complicated, but the characters are tangible, and leap off the page. Halloran is very capable with ideas, and can really get you feeling for Bish, or Nath, or even Melegal.

    These books, or any of Halloran's work, are a great introductory to the Fantasy epic, for anyone interested in making a foray into this world, or a journey that anyone would like to start with their children. His books are a little young, and the narrator his very exaggerated, but they are solid work. They are also a quick real read, if you want to read the work before you listen with the kids.

    My nephews love all of the adventures that Halloran has so elegantly told. Mr. Lee Alan is a bit too much and obnoxious for me, but his sound effects, and his exuberance keeps my nephews enthralled for long sittings at a time.

    I highly recommend this book, and all of the Halloran-Mythtos for anyone who wants to be able to enjoy fantasy with their children, and be able to share their passions with a new generation.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JudyD Fort Lauderdale, FL, United States 04-22-17
    JudyD Fort Lauderdale, FL, United States 04-22-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    284
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Lots of action and fighting"

    This is definetly a book written by a man that will generally appeal mostly to men. Not my particular cup of tea, but interesting enough that I finished listening to it. The books starts with bar room fighting, then there are a variety of fights and battles almost nonstop on this rather unpleasant world that was created for the pleasure of another creature who checks in from time to time, for their entertainment and to just see how the inhabitants on Bish deal with their lives. The story line is interesting enough, if you keep in mind it is only the beginning of the series, yet there seems to be a history that might help to make this more understandable at first. As I had not read any of Mr. Halloran's books before, initially it was a little bit challenging as I am not inclined to read books that seem to be going from one fight or battle to another. I suspect this would be of interest to younger men, and perhaps those who enjoy computer games about wolds that are at war regardless of whether they are men or women, but suspect most women are attracted to a different type of story. The story itself was well written, the individual characters were quite well developed and easy to discern between them, and the story line followed a pattern that lead from one confrontation to the other well. Eventually some of the questionable areas in the story were filled in, and the story came together. In addition, at the end of the recording there seemed to be some bonus chapters from another book that may have actually been almost like a prequel, as they seemed to fill in some more about the history of the lead character. Overall, this was an okay Audible version of the book. In full disclosure, the author provided a free copy the Audible version in return for an honest review.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Trent 03-15-17
    Trent 03-15-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Underlings are a pain....or is the Dark Slayer?"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    HECK YES!
    Plainly put, if you want, action, adventure, a mixture of Lord of The Rings twist in evil goblins (Underlings) that are a menace, and a man set to kill every-single-one while they are on the destruction of trying to kill him, then this is a MUST!


    What did you like best about this story?

    Again, action, adventure, nonstop fun, twists in story line, a little of surprises indeed. The description and details helps picture everything in my mind, and it is done very well!


    Which character – as performed by Lee Alan – was your favorite?

    Well, Venir and Mood the Blood Ranger


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    Anything is possible in Bish!


    Any additional comments?

    I've read/listened to Craig Halloran and Lee Alan's work for a while (Smoke (Rock On Awesome- The Black List Meet X-Files), Chronicles of Dragon (1st series, and half of 2nd), Squawk (SO AWESOME!!!) ), and have never been disappointed! Right off the bat, if you just want just plain fun action, adventure, and everything else, The Dark Slayer (and many of their other works) is worth your $. If you like Rise of the Dragons by Megan Rice, Armies of the Silver Mage by Christian Warren Freed, Magic of Thieves by C Greenwood, A Quest of Heroes by Megan Rice, Skip by Berrin Briar, The Sanctuary Series by Robert J. Crane, and The book of Deacon by Joseph R Lallo, then you will enjoy this series. Great reading and enjoyable listening!!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ann44 12-22-16
    Ann44 12-22-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Darkslayer is one bad dude! Fun and Grisly!"
    Would you listen to Wrath of the Royals again? Why?

    Maybe, once I've finished the complete series. Mr. Halloran has a lot of books I want to try.


    What other book might you compare Wrath of the Royals to and why?

    R.A. Salvatorre, Icewind Dale seires, with Drizz't , also, David Gemmel, Druss the Legend, Conan, and a flare of the LOR settings.


    Which character – as performed by Lee Alan – was your favorite?

    Venir, the Darkslayer, but Melegal has some classic lines.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    FIGHT OR DIE!


    Any additional comments?

    Craig Halloran's stories have an edge I like. Everytime I read or listen, he brings personalities I can relate too and a new surprising creative element. The many characters have nice layers, each with a distinct personality. The stories had a lot of brutal battle scenes, but the overall content is clean, like traditional fantasy, and without those seedier elements that invade literature today. Meets my approval for my teenagers. I enjoyed rooting for Venir and his allies battling those nasty Royals, half-ogres, forest magi, vicious and Underlings.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Claudia KALISPELL, MT, United States 01-04-17
    Claudia KALISPELL, MT, United States 01-04-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    60
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    33
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Poor production work"

    The recording production/mixing was sub-par. The story was not half bad but the production ruined it for me.

    0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.