We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Thick as Thieves Audiobook

Thick as Thieves

Regular Price:$28.51
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Discover the world of the Queen's Thief

Thick as Thieves is the eagerly anticipated new stand-alone novel set in the world of the Queen's Thief. New York Times best-selling author Megan Whalen Turner's entrancing and award-winning Queen's Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner's Queen's Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin.

Kamet, a secretary and slave to his Mede master, has the ambition and the means to become one of the most powerful people in the Empire. But with a whispered warning the future he envisioned is wrenched away, and he is forced onto a very different path. Set in the world of the Queen's Thief, this epic adventure sees an ordinary hero take on an extraordinary mission. The Queen's Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans, and have been honored with glowing reviews, "best of" citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companion stories The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen's Thief.

©2017 Megan Whalen Turner (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (116 )
5 star
 (85)
4 star
 (19)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.6 (111 )
5 star
 (78)
4 star
 (20)
3 star
 (13)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (112 )
5 star
 (90)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    HEK 06-19-17
    HEK 06-19-17 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    91
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Worthy addition to Attolia series"

    I've been waiting for this book for years, and Turner didn't disappoint. I adore this series, and have from the very first book, and this was a great addition. I loved that Kamet was the main character in this book; we got to see a little of him in The Queen of Attolia, and he was such an interesting side character. He made an even more interesting main character. It was also fun to see "the Attolian" as a side character versus a main character, to see him through someone else's eyes, similar to how we got to see Eugenides through Costis's eyes in The King of Attolia. It's always fun to see someone misjudge a character you know so well, but also find out things about that character you didn't when everything was in their perspective. I loved the twists and turns of the plot, the never-ending journey through the Mede Empire, the surprises at the end (similar to the surprises we always get at the end of these books), all the bumps in the road, and Eugenides. Always Eugenides.

    I was also pleasantly surprised by Steve West's narration. I had a strong prejudice going in because I love Jeff Woodman's narration of the first four books so much, but West was lovely. He has such a pleasant voice, and he really nailed the subtle humor and bantering and tones Turner always includes. I'm reserving judgment about his narrations for the rest of the series until I can listen, but I'm hopeful rather than disgruntled now. If only Audible offered both narrators' versions; I'd really dig that.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ROBIN L WARREN 06-07-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Absolutely Awesome!"

    I love Megan Whalen Turner's books. The narration by Steve West was fantastic and I'm so excited that they are finally available in audible form!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kyahgirl Alberta 11-08-17
    Kyahgirl Alberta 11-08-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    56
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    83
    62
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story;Not as beloved as others in the series"

    3/5; 3 stars; B-

    This was another adventure story, told mostly on the road, like "The Thief". However, this one didn't catch and hold my interest quite so well as The Thief. I think the 'road' part went on a bit too long and the story would have been stronger if they characters had spent more time in Attolia.

    Still, Steve West did another great job narrating the story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Consumer scientist 09-15-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love the series"

    Just wish each book was longer. The story, like the others, does not disappoint with clever characters, plot twists and reveals.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 07-25-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "She did it again..."

    This book like the others in the series have twists, and I dare say you will be caught by at least one of these twist. I give this book a ten out of ten.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Katrina JAMESTOWN, ND, United States 06-26-17
    Katrina JAMESTOWN, ND, United States 06-26-17 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    52
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "stand alone yes but fits so well into the story."

    if you ha e read the the other four you will appreciate the story and even if you have not. but you should read or listen to the other four books.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ADB 06-03-17
    ADB 06-03-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    51
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    30
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Badly botched production. Bring back Jeff Woodman."

    First, I'm a long-time fan of Whalen-Turner's books. I have listened and re-listened to the first four in this series in the Jeff Woodman recordings, and they are excellent. Fortunately, I still have them on CD.

    The current production is such a disappointment. In descriptive/exposition narrative, West apparently never met a phrase he couldn't break up into disconnected little bits. In dialog, he puts the emphasis on the wrong word(s) in the sentence more than half the time.

    He seems incapable of ending a question with an upward inflection (you know, like it's kind of a question).

    But the worst problem by far is an error I still can't believe got past the producers. In first-person narrative, the voice of the narrator should be the same as the voice of the character in dialog. But West uses a completely different voice for the slave's thoughts and observations than he does for the slave's dialog. To make matters more distracting--and at times downright confusing--the voice he uses for the slave's narrative is actually identical to the dialog voice of the Attolian (the character he is most open speaking *to*).

    This is not a mistake Jeff Woodman would have made. And in the previous four books in the series, Woodman consistently understands and expresses the nuances and tone that fit both the narrative and dialog of the story.

    If these were second-rate books, I wouldn't care. But Whalen-Turner's work deserves better. This recording is tragic.
    For those new to the series, you can still get books 1-4 on CD at Amazon in the Jeff Woodman recordings. Better off with your local library, though, since the CDs are expensive.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Zoe 06-01-17
    Zoe 06-01-17 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    40
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not as good as the others"

    One of the two main characters, his spoken voice was done with an accent, while his thought voice was not, which made the narrative confusing. And most of the story was them traveling, which was not that exciting compared to previous casts of characters and castle intrigue. Overall, kind of a yawn in comparison. Looking forward to the next in this normally great series!

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Olivia 05-18-17
    Olivia 05-18-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great narration"

    I loved this book and I LOVED the narrator. He really made the words and story come alive.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ronnie R 05-16-17
    Ronnie R 05-16-17 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    45
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of the funnest reads"

    This story is one of the funniest stories to read. I'm very excited to see audible pick up this writer. This is a story that is clean and fun to listen to for young folks and adults alike. Thanks again RPR

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.