We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Spider's War Audiobook

The Spider's War

Regular Price:$34.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The epic conclusion to The Dagger and the Coin series, perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin.

Lord Regent Geder Palliako's great war has spilled across the world, nation after nation falling before the ancient priesthood and weapon of dragons. But even as conquest follows conquest, the final victory retreats before him like a mirage. Schism and revolt begin to erode the foundations of the empire, and the great conquest threatens to collapse into a permanent war of all against all.

In Carse, with armies on all borders, Cithrin bel Sarcour, Marcus Wester, and Clara Kalliam are faced with the impossible task of bringing a lasting peace to the world. Their tools: traitors high in the imperial army, the last survivor of the dragon empire, and a financial scheme that is either a revolution or the greatest fraud in the history of the world.

©2016 Daniel Abraham (P)2016 Recorded Books

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (819 )
5 star
 (525)
4 star
 (246)
3 star
 (40)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.5 (755 )
5 star
 (456)
4 star
 (235)
3 star
 (53)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.8 (752 )
5 star
 (595)
4 star
 (143)
3 star
 (13)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Mr. Jared C. Serra st. louis, MO USA 03-14-16
    Mr. Jared C. Serra st. louis, MO USA 03-14-16 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    25
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    45
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Satisfying and Epic Conclusion"
    If you could sum up The Spider's War in three words, what would they be?

    Satisfying Epic Conclusion


    What other book might you compare The Spider's War to and why?

    Game of Thrones a bit. Yet with the mixture of money and war that this series has is quite unique.


    What does Pete Bradbury bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    He is great. I listened to this book for 10 hours straight one Saturday. His characterizations are spot on. When I read my Kindle versions it is his voices I hear.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    ***Spoilers*****
    When Cithrin and Markus have a heart to heart towards the end. Such an honest and warm chapter.


    Any additional comments?

    This comes from my Amazon review. "When I read decent fantasy, it is almost like playing chess. I watch and observe. Sometimes I care, but they are just pieces to be moved around with little to no attachment. When I read great fantasy, I stress over what this, and that will mean. I worry about them as if they are real people. I care for them and wish them well. The Dagger and the Coin series is great fantasy! I am happy to report that this last book is everything I had hoped for!"

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Light928 03-26-16
    Light928 03-26-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    31
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great ending to a fantastic series."

    From the story, to the characters, to the unique unfolding of events, and the superb reader, this series is the best I've ever read. And I'm not a big fan of fantasy either, but the fantasy is wisely used. Second to fascinating individuals. Highly recommended.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sailfish 03-26-16
    Sailfish 03-26-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    574
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    669
    322
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    14
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Sad for it to end, 'twas a good ending, though"

    While there was no harrowing new revelations, the author still made it interesting to work through the completion of the saga. What with creating a whole slew of interesting and endearing characters during the telling of the story, each with their own mini-story arcs, it was enjoyable to find their arcs were mostly completed in a fitting way.

    I'm definitely putting this saga on my must listen again list.

    Both the writing and narration was superb throughout.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Gary Kelly 11-15-17
    Gary Kelly 11-15-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    377
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A rare delight"

    Tried the first book on an Audible special. Then went straight thru the five book series. A most enjoyable listen, with varied characters, and plot streams. Will look at more from both author and narrator. Recommended.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lore SAN JOSE, CA, United States 11-14-17
    Lore SAN JOSE, CA, United States 11-14-17 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2349
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    250
    172
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1239
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A satisfying finish to a unique series"

    Daniel Abraham does not disappoint as he delivers an excellent finish to his epic fantasy series The Dagger and the Coin. The war has raged on for 4 books and it is finally time for it to end, one way or the other. The spider priests have led Antea to the brink of destruction and their ability to manipulate the truth has most everyone in the kingdom blind to that fact. As the armies of Antea's enemies close in seeking retribution, Cithrin devises a desperate plan to save the day but it may be too late to pull it off. This one is full of build up that leads to one final gambit with the future of the kingdom of Antea at stake and Daniel Abraham delivers a clever and satisfying conclusion when it all finally plays out.

    For a series that started slowly this one built up nicely and eventually established itself as worthy of attention in a crowded genre. The myriad races of humanity presented here are not your standard ones and they bring a unique flavor to a detailed, complex world. Despite the fact that the majority of the story does wrap up nicely there is also an epilogue that offers up some intriguing options should Daniel Abraham decide that the series isn't actually over. Either way I can definitely recommend this series despite a confusing start with the first book. It all does pay off in the end.

    Pete Bradbury provides the narration for all five audiobooks in the series and his delivery is excellent. He makes listening to the series a better option than reading it.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    majkia Niceville, FL USA 10-27-17
    majkia Niceville, FL USA 10-27-17 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    25
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    189
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Complex and Satisfying Conclusion to the series"

    Rating: Pretty impressive wrapup to an really interesting series.

    Hmm. What to say. I loved: Yardam. The fact that banking is used as a weapon. Pirates! "Your soul is a circle." Conversations between Yardam and Michael Weston. Kit. The players. The fact that the Big Bad is presented as a human being with immense flaws but is still loved by some despite them.

    For an epic fantasy series, Sword and Magic series, it is remarkably complex in its presentation of war and what war does to people, nations, hope, and the amount of misery caused by the decisions of only a few. I also liked the take on religion as seen as justification for endless, mindless war. Ignore everything but the belief you are told to accept, reject your own mind, intelligence and experience. Listen to my voice.

    Highly recommended.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Josh 07-18-17
    Josh 07-18-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic conclusion."

    Abraham is a master at capturing the many nuances of humanity, and telling a story from varied and unique points of view. This is a human story with a fantasy wrapper. Bradbury is one of the best readers I've come across to date. He imbues each character with depth and a voice all their own.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    lorienra 03-29-17
    lorienra 03-29-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good but dissatisfied"

    I felt unsatisfied. Certain parties got away with it. And Cithrin comes off as a benign Medici.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    j merritt 03-17-17
    j merritt 03-17-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow"

    Terrific fifth book !!! What an ending!!! Never saw the twists coming, well worth the time.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amanda Hobbs 01-31-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great ending"

    Great ending to a good series. I really enjoyed the way the author wrapped up the major story but left open options for novellas or another book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.