We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Spider's War Audiobook

The Spider's War

Regular Price:$34.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The epic conclusion to The Dagger and the Coin series, perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin.

Lord Regent Geder Palliako's great war has spilled across the world, nation after nation falling before the ancient priesthood and weapon of dragons. But even as conquest follows conquest, the final victory retreats before him like a mirage. Schism and revolt begin to erode the foundations of the empire, and the great conquest threatens to collapse into a permanent war of all against all.

In Carse, with armies on all borders, Cithrin bel Sarcour, Marcus Wester, and Clara Kalliam are faced with the impossible task of bringing a lasting peace to the world. Their tools: traitors high in the imperial army, the last survivor of the dragon empire, and a financial scheme that is either a revolution or the greatest fraud in the history of the world.

©2016 Daniel Abraham (P)2016 Recorded Books

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (756 )
5 star
 (482)
4 star
 (229)
3 star
 (37)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.5 (698 )
5 star
 (419)
4 star
 (220)
3 star
 (49)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.8 (696 )
5 star
 (550)
4 star
 (135)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Mr. Jared C. Serra st. louis, MO USA 03-14-16
    Mr. Jared C. Serra st. louis, MO USA 03-14-16 Member Since 2017

    Fathers Face Remembered

    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    25
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Satisfying and Epic Conclusion"
    If you could sum up The Spider's War in three words, what would they be?

    Satisfying Epic Conclusion


    What other book might you compare The Spider's War to and why?

    Game of Thrones a bit. Yet with the mixture of money and war that this series has is quite unique.


    What does Pete Bradbury bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    He is great. I listened to this book for 10 hours straight one Saturday. His characterizations are spot on. When I read my Kindle versions it is his voices I hear.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    ***Spoilers***** <br/>When Cithrin and Markus have a heart to heart towards the end. Such an honest and warm chapter.


    Any additional comments?

    This comes from my Amazon review. "When I read decent fantasy, it is almost like playing chess. I watch and observe. Sometimes I care, but they are just pieces to be moved around with little to no attachment. When I read great fantasy, I stress over what this, and that will mean. I worry about them as if they are real people. I care for them and wish them well. The Dagger and the Coin series is great fantasy! I am happy to report that this last book is everything I had hoped for!"

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Light928 03-26-16
    Light928 03-26-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    31
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great ending to a fantastic series."

    From the story, to the characters, to the unique unfolding of events, and the superb reader, this series is the best I've ever read. And I'm not a big fan of fantasy either, but the fantasy is wisely used. Second to fascinating individuals. Highly recommended.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sailfish 03-26-16
    Sailfish 03-26-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    487
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    646
    299
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    10
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Sad for it to end, 'twas a good ending, though"

    While there was no harrowing new revelations, the author still made it interesting to work through the completion of the saga. What with creating a whole slew of interesting and endearing characters during the telling of the story, each with their own mini-story arcs, it was enjoyable to find their arcs were mostly completed in a fitting way.

    I'm definitely putting this saga on my must listen again list.

    Both the writing and narration was superb throughout.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Josh 07-18-17
    Josh 07-18-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic conclusion."

    Abraham is a master at capturing the many nuances of humanity, and telling a story from varied and unique points of view. This is a human story with a fantasy wrapper. Bradbury is one of the best readers I've come across to date. He imbues each character with depth and a voice all their own.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    lorienra 03-29-17
    lorienra 03-29-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good but dissatisfied"

    I felt unsatisfied. Certain parties got away with it. And Cithrin comes off as a benign Medici.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    j merritt 03-17-17
    j merritt 03-17-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wow"

    Terrific fifth book !!! What an ending!!! Never saw the twists coming, well worth the time.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amanda Hobbs 01-31-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great ending"

    Great ending to a good series. I really enjoyed the way the author wrapped up the major story but left open options for novellas or another book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pondo Arcata, CA United States 12-22-16
    Pondo Arcata, CA United States 12-22-16 Member Since 2015

    pondo13

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    33
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not quite satisfying ending"

    The conclusion to the Dagger & Coin series was disappointing, lacked the political and financial intrigue that was established in the previous books.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    chris 10-17-16
    chris 10-17-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    59
    10
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good book, good story, worth the read."

    The Coin and Dagger series is a great story, I enjoyed all the books, this last in the series best of all.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    colleen ROCHESTER, NH, United States 09-12-16
    colleen ROCHESTER, NH, United States 09-12-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Addicting series"

    I'm absolutely in love with the characters and writing in this series. I knew it would have to come to a conclusion at some point. I want more, even so. Farewell Marcus...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.