Regular price: $27.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

John Farrell is about to get "The Cure". Old age can never kill him now. The only problem is, everything else still can.

Imagine a near future where a cure for aging is discovered and - after much political and moral debate - made available to people worldwide. Immortality, however, comes with its own unique problems, including evil green people, government euthanasia programs, a disturbing new religious cult, and other horrors.

Witty, eerie, and full of humanity, The Postmortal is an unforgettable thriller that envisions a pre-apocalyptic world so real that it is completely terrifying.

©2011 Drew Magary (P)2011 Tantor

Critic Reviews

"A must-read for fans of postmodern dystopia in the vein of Margaret Atwood, Chuck Palahniuk, and Neil Gaiman." (Library Journal)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    109
  • 4 Stars
    110
  • 3 Stars
    64
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    9

Performance

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    115
  • 4 Stars
    89
  • 3 Stars
    57
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    7

Story

  • 3.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    102
  • 4 Stars
    95
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    28
  • 1 Stars
    8
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Interesting concept but bleak and wearing

I heard about this novel from Boing Boing's Gweek podcast. I was interested in the description and the thought provoking points the author was addressing. I confess to disappointment due to my own expectations and my review of the book is tainted by the fact that this story is simply not what I wanted it to be.

This is a story of the worst in humanity. Tragedy, cruelty and self destruction are the primary tenants of this novel and it seems to me that it pushes too far. My experience in life has not been one of villains at every corner and irreversible self destruction. These traits exist, and are not rare, but are not the norm. I have not read "The Road" because I heard enough about it to know I would not like it. It is a story about the failure of humanity, and so is this.

As I said, it is unfair for me to judge this book by comparing it to a story I wish I had heard, so I will attempt to review it for what it is. It is clever in its ability to be thought provoking and subtle in its ability to follow the cascade of seemingly unrelated problems to a potential correlation. The characters are far from flat, but most seem to be flawed in an un-compelling way, letting things happen to them.

The story is full of detail and thought, but the series of events is bleak and soul sucking. I feel it is a short sided product of the general "everything sucks" attitude of the moment. It is easy to look at the news for a day or a year or 10 and feel that we are doomed, but the majority of human history, while not all sunshine and daisies, trends upwards. I feel that stories like this err on the side of pessimism and nihilism.

The narration is fitting for the story, but that's not a good thing. What little brevity and hope there was in the story is squashed by the narrators depressed reading.

Enjoyment of this book is dependent, as with virtually anything, on your world view. If you want to like the protagonist in any story you are reading then you will most likely want to pass on The Post-Mortal. If you enjoy and good "life sucks and then you die" french film then this may be the book for you.

I may give another of the author's works a shot, it is not a bad book, I just didn't enjoy the story arc, the general outlook and the narration.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Excellent read. Everyone should read

Very thought provoking and very satisfying read. The best of science fiction, and a very human story with heart and realism

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good story

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes, it's good sci-fi with far reaching implications within the world

Who was your favorite character and why?

The father

What does Johnny Heller bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Good reader

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

It's the end of humanity and death

Any additional comments?

What sold me in this book, other than the interesting plot, were the reviews talking about how bleak and sad the story was. Sold! This book felt a little like John Scalzi's The Dispatcher which was great.<br/><br/>As far as bleak and sad, there are elements of it. The decent of man due to the limiting of death is interesting to watch. There are some elements and implications that are very logical to see and there were some surprises of the events covered. The way the story is written you're able to get a good picture of what's happening throughout the world without the main character having to exposition everything. Some of that happens but some points are explained in new feeds which feel pretty fluid within the stories. I wish there would have been more.<br/><br/>My biggest complaint is actually with the beginning. The start of the book almost acts as a big spoiler to everything else. I wish the story would have concluded with it. The actual ending isn't as hard hitting as it could be and the beginning would have a greater impact if on the final outcome.<br/><br/>The main character is pretty every man which is good. The changes he goes through as a normal guy makes a good juxtaposition to what path he takes. The events are pretty believable although I would have liked to see a few more details on how religion would develop or change. It does play a part in the story but the ethical changes to the world could have been even more interesting and was probably a detriment to the story. The changes to ethics just kind of happen.<br/><br/>Overall, the bleakness and sadness are the highlights of the story and the main character is the right fit for the need of the story. Final grade - B+

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Interesting headline. Falls apart at the end.

Would you try another book from Drew Magary and/or Johnny Heller?

No.

Has The Postmortal turned you off from other books in this genre?

absolutely not. this is a mediocore book in an amazing genre.

What does Johnny Heller bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

bad voices

Could you see The Postmortal being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

It's written like it wants to be optioned into a movie or tv show. that's one of the biggest problems with it.

Any additional comments?

Interesting premise and starts off pretty good but the whole 3rd act is basically a weak post appocalyptic movie.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Way more depressing than I expected

I was prepared for the exciting tone that accompanies most post apocalyptic /zombie/sci-fi novels but I was incorrect in my expectations. This book was more drama than any of the genres above.

It was an interesting premise. And it had a few really innovative moments.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Thought Provoking

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I would definitely recommend. It's a twisted storyline that always makes you wonder what is next.

What did you like best about this story?

It made me think. The author explored corners that I wouldn't have thought about on my own. Very inventive in story Iine.

Have you listened to any of Johnny Heller’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

First one.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

There were parts that were eye opening. Surprising.

Any additional comments?

Can't stop talking about. I want a friend to read it so I have someone to talk to about it

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Listening to a grown man's fantasies- dumb

I disliked this book. Though a sort of interesting predict initially. It dragged on and got bogged down.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • KTP
  • Buffalo Gap, TX United States
  • 08-17-14

Very Surprised! I loved it!

Bought this on a whim and figured it would be one of those books I never finish. Boy was I wrong! I found the writing to be very good, the storyline was excellent. I was sad when I finished the book as at that point I was so invested in the main character. I really think this book would make a fantastic movie.
Yes, it's a dark book, but it really makes you think too. The characters feel real.
It's worth the read, seriously, give it a go!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Fun thought-provoking work.

Fun and thought-provoking don't often come in pairs, but this book definitely was both for me.
I plan to get a couple of friends read it so we can discuss all the "what would you do" scenarios. Recommend!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Interesting and Engaging

Good dysropian fantasy. But the writing was a tad forced, with a great big similie in every paragraph. Magary skates dangerously close to "The moon was like an angry pregnant alien with bad skin" territory --whatever that means. Anyway, it's not in the same league as his brilliant "The Hike."