Regular price: $11.19

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Steel Whispers is Book 2 of the Steele Chronicles.

Four dead Borg and counting. Serial killer, gang violence or civil war? While the Special Detection Unit hunts for answers, a terrified family searchs for their Disappeared daughter, and war between society's elites takes an even nastier turn. Borg and genetic technology is evolving exponentially and Frank Steele finds himself up against unfathomable enemies.Franks needs to find the key that ties it all together. He's sworn to protect every citizen. It's his duty as a cop. But now it's gotten personal and Frank has to face the ultimate test - investigating the death of his own son.

©2009 Hayden Trenholm (P)2012 Iambik Audio Inc.

Critic Reviews

"Steel Whispers is an edge-of-your seat amalgam of police procedural and razor-sharp science fiction. The streets of Calgary never seemed so mean! Fans of Dashiell Hammett and William Gibson both will love this; a great novel from one of Canada's fastest-rising SF stars." (Robert J. Sawyer, Hugo Award-winning author of Wake)
A taut, near-future police procedural with a plot as sinewy as that cyborg snake in Blade Runner. Hayden Trenholm works the mean streets and millionaires’ mansions of mid-21st century Calgary and comes up with a winner.” (Matthew Hughes, Author of the Tales of Henghis Hapthorn)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 3.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

much better narrator than the first book

The first book had a narrator that was totally crap and this one hes much better but still could be better with the different voices for each character, one of them Darwall Sing (spelling that wrong for sure) who is Asian he makes him sound a little like a person with a lisp but its ok.

The story in this book is pretty much the same but there is a family looking for there missing daughter and all sots of other strange things are happening that might be connected but its hard to tell.

This whole series was done pretty well and I would read more if there was any past the 3rd book but as of this review thats all there is.