Regular price: $45.49

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In this epic fantasy debut (perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin), John Gwynne takes listeners to The Banished Lands - a broken world with a violent past. Corban wants nothing more than to be a warrior under King Brenin's rule - to protect and serve. But that day will come all too soon. And the price he pays will be in blood.

Evnis has sacrificed - too much it seems. But what he wants - the power to rule - will soon be in his grasp. And nothing will stop him once he has started on his path.

Veradis is the newest member of the warband for the High Prince, Nathair. He is one of the most skilled swordsman to come out of his homeland, yet he is always under the shadow of his older brother. Nathair has ideas - and a lot of plans. Many of them don't involve his father, the High King Aquilus. Nor does he agree with his father's idea to summon his fellow kings to council.

©2012 John Gwynne (P)2013 Recorded Books

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    220
  • 4 Stars
    123
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    26
  • 1 Stars
    19

Performance

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    201
  • 4 Stars
    116
  • 3 Stars
    48
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    21

Story

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    206
  • 4 Stars
    118
  • 3 Stars
    45
  • 2 Stars
    25
  • 1 Stars
    14
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Wonderful

I'm no stranger to epic fantasy books. They are by far my favorite type books to listen to. Malice is right up there with the Riyian Chronicles, The Blood Song, The Desert Spear, and yes even The Game of Thrones series. It may not rank #1 on my list, but it's right up there in my top-5.

Malice may start just a little slow, but you soon find yourself engrossed. It's the kind of book that you're listening to in the car and you get in the driveway of your home, only to spend the next 5-10 minutes listening for just a little longer. It won't disappoint!

12 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Can this guy narrate?

The narrator (pause) Spoke like (pause) this (pause) the whole time (pause). couldn't pass ch2

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good story...but the reader

Well crafted story and characters, but reader kept me from loving it. He gave even the most serious moments a lilting, skipping tra-la-la rhythm that didn't match the action. It was very distracting for me. A unique and engaging tale. I will get the other 2 in the trilogy and hope for a different reader.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

good book no sequels on here why

Any additional comments?

why are the sequels of this great book not on audible i have been looking for it since it first came out and it is driving me nuts that its not on here i wrote a review on amazon complaining of the same thing and i dont get it just put the 3 sequels on here already!!!!

9 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Best new author since Michael J. Sulivan

This was a great find. Not since I stumbled upon Michael J Sulivan's roguish characters Hadrian and Royce have I enjoyed a new novel so. Make no mistake, this is not exactly a similar journey. But it has a few things in common: An intriguing plot, great character development and edge-of-your-seat action! I truly enjoyed it and highly recommend it to all lovers of epic fantasy. Can't wait for the next one!

John Keating's narration may have missed a proper inflection here and there, but overall I enjoyed the amusing array of Scots, Irish and low English brogues he utilized to distinguished the characters.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

When will the rest of the books be on Audible?!?

I really loved this story. I wish I could keep listening to the next books, but they are not out yet.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

good book, not great narrator

amazing story. an efficient blend of standard fantasy and game of thrones to give it a dark setting and events but a hopeful feeling to the story.

the narrator hardly changes his voice for different characters which can make it difficult to distinguish who is talking, and the voices used for several don't seem to match their character.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Megan
  • San Diego, CA, USA
  • 03-30-14

Excellent book

Excellent book! One of the few I've given 5 stars. The narration was good, but could be better. The reader speaks in a halting manner, pausing in strange places. Regardless, the narration is good enough and the story is great. I bought the book as it was an Audible recommendation based on my having read the King of Thrones series, and it is similar. With only one book in the series published at this time (next book, Valor to release July 22, 14), I cannot say how it compares to KOT overall. I can say John Gwynne has made a great start with Malice. I hope the full series is as good.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Eric
  • FRUITA, Colombia
  • 10-11-16

Hard to listen to

The story seems like it has potential but hard to follow. The reader doesn't do a good job pulling you in and there are so many characters he can't change his voice well enough to understand whom is speaking. Recommend reading instead of listening.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Boring story and lackluster narration

I really tried with this one. I'd heard great things. But I just couldn't get all the way through it. The story was a very straightforward cookie-cutter fantasy. I really felt like I knew a lot of what was going to happen from the outset. But I also didn't care about any of the characters.

I listened to this and attempted to read the kindle version at the same time. I found that the book was a bit better when I read it than when I listened. The narration was just so flat that it was hard to stay focused. There were characters with similar names (especially when spoken). This was enough of a problem that even halfway through the book (which admittedly is about where I stopped) I would still have to stop and try to figure out who was who.

Eventually I got to the point where I had like 14 hours left and I just couldn't imagine spending that much time listening to a book that I don't really like. So I stopped.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful