Regular price: $23.93

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Continuing the saga of the award-winning Xbox game....

The Spartan-II Program has gone public. Tales of super-soldiers fending off thousands of Covenant attacks have become the stuff of legend. But just how many Spartans are left?

While the Master Chief defends a besieged Earth, and the myriad factions of the Covenant continue their crusade to eliminate humanity, an ultra-secret cell of the Office of Naval Intelligence, known as Section Three, devises a plan to buy the UNSC vital time. They're going to need hundreds of willing soldiers, though...and one more Spartan to get the job done.

The planet Onyx is virtually abandoned and the perfect place to set this new plan in motion. But when the Master Chief destroys Halo, something is triggered deep within Onyx: Ancient Forerunner technology stirs, and fleets of UNSC and Covenant race to claim it and change the course of the Human-Covenant War.

But this reawakened and ancient force may have plans of its own.

©2006 Microsoft Corporation; (P)2006 Audio Renaissance, a division of Holtzbrinck Publishers LLC

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1,035
  • 4 Stars
    323
  • 3 Stars
    103
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    10

Performance

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    807
  • 4 Stars
    275
  • 3 Stars
    71
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    7

Story

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    869
  • 4 Stars
    212
  • 3 Stars
    76
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    6
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Engaging and fun. A good light listen

Where does Halo rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

I've only listened to Halo books so far, so #1! I've listened to radio plays and the like before, and this ranks up there. I've been warned to stay with the unabridged versions like this, though.

What other book might you compare Halo to and why?

Starship Troopers and The Mote in God's Eye were both good as well. There are a number of decent parallels that were drawn from those two for the Halo stories. They're older works, but still good--I preferred Starship Troopers. Just don't confuse it with the movie.

Which character – as performed by Jonathan Davis – was your favorite?

I enjoyed them all, except for Dr. Halsey. The way he performed her character just seemed too cold... very calculating and unlikable.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

Sometimes for a Spartan MIA really means MIA....

Any additional comments?

Thank goodness they finally got someone that knows how to pronounce "Mjolnir." If I had to hear another audio book where the reader pronunced "Mjolnir" as "Muh-jol-neer" I don't know what I would have done. And what's with previous readers saying "USNC" instead of "UNSC" and "Fujikawa-Shaw" instead of "Shaw-Fujikawa?" Nit picky, I know, but....

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

Not Bad

The beginning of the book is tough as the plot jumps around and sometimes becomes hard to follow. I nearly gave up on it, but I'm glad I didn't because the end brings everything together and overall it was quite good.

This book is not about Master Chief, but about other Spartans and continues the story started in First Strike. Don't expect this book to have to much to do with Halo 3 when it comes out.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good

Awesome story and ties remakes sly with the halo games closes a lot of open thoughts regarding the Spartans and many of their abilities. Wonder what's going to happen next, can't wait to listen to the next book and maybe finish the series in time for halo5 and its upcoming stories and Gina adventures.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Jake
  • Ohio
  • 01-14-15

Amazing

This a great book with an amazing story, good themes, and fun action. The guy who reads it does a great job as well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Desmond
  • Grand Prairie, Texas, United States
  • 01-19-13

Wow, what a great story

I cant say it enough, what a great story. I am glad I got this book. You cant help but feel for the Key Spartans on this story, especially at the end. I found myself beaming with pride at the sacrifice of the key characters and the great choice I made in purchasing this book.

everything from the narrator, who is always good at narrating, to the incredibly detailed military sci-fi story is captivating. The attention to details given to the science makes it more believable than most fiction. if you liked any of the "Black Jack Geary" story's you will love this book. The key character just seem to have such similar personalities.

Great book. highly recommended, even if you don't play the game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Daniel
  • 1601 Massachusetts Ave, NW Washington DC 20036
  • 02-20-08

Good Fun

Took a little while but I got into it and really enjoyed it. At times the chapter titles are ridiculously long and meaningless, when read to you. The story was good fun, I was sad to hear it finish.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

What can I say? HALO!

This was a good story for all those who enjoy the video game. It opens up a whole new light on the Master Chief and the Spartans. I hope there are more to follow.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Very enjoyable!

While I wouldn't describe the Halo novels as "instant classics" in the vein of Starship Troopers or Enders Game, it really is a lot of fun, particularly if, like me, you enjoy military-themed science fiction. This is the first audiobook I've had the chance to listen to in the Halo series and I can only hope that the rest will soon follow. Johnathan Davis is a fantastic narrator and the books by Eric Nyland are really quite fun to read as they actually create characters and history for the Halo universe in a way the video games simply have not accomplished.

I only give it 4 out of 5 stars since I don't feel the books are *quite* as compelling as the very best of science fiction (like the aforementioned Starship Troopers or Ender's Game) though on a purely "fun" scale, I definitely enjoyed it more than most books I listen to during my daily commute.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great book. Does the series justice.

Loved every bit of it. The only thing that threw me off sometimes was the Italian-esque accent the narrator prescribed to the Elites, lol.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Welcome to Blue

My favorite halo book. possibly my favorite book period. Eric Nylund is the reason I started down my love for military science fiction.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Charles
  • 04-01-08

I want more!

i thought this audio book was absolutely amazing, the story was not only one of the best stories i have listened to in a long time but it was also very well narrated. Please sort out more halo stories or anything along the same lines!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Hackanimus
  • 08-15-08

Please sir... can I have some more?

The pace and imagery of this novel is spot on. I admit to being a Halo fan, but was completely surprised by the quality and my enjoyment of this audiobook. Also the science fiction extends from our own reality of technology and human motivations in such an intelligent way it makes it all so tangible. The narration is also excellent.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amazon Customer
  • 10-23-17

stilted reading brings the performance down

the reader puts no emotion into what he reads. it sounds unbelievably robotic, as his pauses seem out of place. there's no flow to the speech, which detracts greatly from the experience. he's also incapable of pronouncing jiralhanae, which to me shows a certain indifference to professionalism (not bothering to practise the "lingo" particular to a series to me shows a lack of respect to its fan base - this is clearly not a book which will be read or listened to by anyone and everyone). the story itself is beautiful, the text descriptive and rich. let down greatly by the performance.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • reece aitken
  • 07-21-17

amazing

this is a great story and the narration was perfect I loved every second such tension and emotion this is why I love the halo franchise 😛😛

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • DCWood
  • 06-10-17

astounding

started very captivating then suddenly switched up pace to broaden the picture

the jumps of perspective were a 1st a little distracting but allowed for the passage of time in the other arcs. it was all really well done

after just finishing it I'm left with the same empty feeling I was after the halo game series or major film. if you let it, this book will really connect you with the universe and it characters in a way on par with the games

any halo fan should listen to this

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • daniel
  • 02-19-17

ghost of onyx

really got into this audio book worth buying without audio credits want to read next one in series

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mark Roper
  • 12-07-16

awesome

it was a beautiful reminder of when i read the paperback, the joy of being able to read it again hands free and on the move was brilliant and the halo universe is truely captured in depth in this Halo masterpiece.

top marks

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • james
  • 07-06-16

Amazing

Such an emotional ending loved it look fotward to more audio books from the franchisex

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • llewellyn lewis
  • 01-21-16

Compelling...

A well read story set in the Halo universe, a must buy for science fiction fans everywhere.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Rumble
  • 11-03-15

great story. poor narration choice.

great story with a lot of lore and information Hut the narrator just lacked any enthusiasm or energy, was very difficult to listen to without drifting off.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Elijah
  • 05-23-15

Incredible

This is the first audio book that I have bought and listened to. The natation was far better then I had hoped/expectef and was easy to listen to while driving and doing other activities. The story of the book was amazing always left you wanting more. All in all a great introduction to audio books

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Anonymous User
  • 09-21-17

loved it

first halo book I've listened too and it was amazing, well written and well narrated

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Luke
  • 08-29-15

Great story and narration.

Really enjoyed this book. Narrator was easy to listen to. Highly recommended. This was my first audio book and was very surprised .