Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Green is back in Copper Downs. Purchased from her father in sunny Selistan when she was four years old, she was harshly raised to be a courtesan, companion, and bedmate of the Immortal Duke of Copper Downs. But Green rebelled.Green killed the Duke, and many others, and won her freedom. Yet she is still claimed by the gods and goddesses of her world, and they still require her service. Their demands are greater than any duke's could have been.

Godslayers have come to the Stone Coast, magicians whose cult is dedicated to destroying the many gods of Green's world.In the turmoil following the Immortal Duke's murder, Green made a God out of her power and her memories.Now the gods turn to her to protect them from the Slayers.

Jay Lake brings us an epic fantasy not "in the tradition of Tolkien," but, instead, sensual, ominous, shot through with the sweat of fear and the intoxication of power.

Also listen to the first book, Green.
©2011 Joseph E. Lake, Jr. (P)2011 Audible, Inc.

Critic Reviews

"Lake deftly weaves complicated, stubborn characters into a plot that reaches the grandest and most personal scales without ever straining credulity… This complex, lonesome, haunting novel will appeal to fans of Valente, Monette, and Mieville." ( Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • MrBoobo
  • Bethpage, NY, United States
  • 12-26-11

Enjoyable

I enjoyed the book in many ways more than the first.

The performance was so good I sought out other things Katherine Kellgren did.

As with the last book there is enough action to keep things moving and enough surprises to keep you guessing.

The best and worst part is that clearly there needs to be another book in the series. Hopefully I won't have to wait long.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I couldn't wait for this to come out...

We loved Green and kept watching for the next book to come out. Green was just the build up for this adventure which left a wide opening for the next book. It might seem odd but I think we will like book 3 better than book 2. There is a little too much going on all the time and to much set up without conclususion. We will still go for book 3 and hope for the best as long as they keep Katherine Kellgren as the narrator.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not enjoyable

Any additional comments?

I liked the first book in the series. However, this book was really badly written. The author kept using the plot device of having the narrator tell the listener how badly they would later regret doing X, Y, or Z later on, as a way of highlighting something that she was about to do. The only problem is that it happens several times each chapter. It literally got to the point where I had to stop listening to the book because I couldn't take it anymore. Which is a shame, because the author had a real talent for creating worlds and interesting characters. I simply couldn't listen to yet another "little did I know how much I would regret doing _____ later on." Breaking the fourth wall and addressing the reader that often is just a very poor way to write a novel.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I could not get off the first chapter!

Would you try another book from Jay Lake and/or Katherine Kellgren?

I don't think so.

Has Endurance turned you off from other books in this genre?

No, between the story and the performance I just found I could not get off the first chapter

How did the narrator detract from the book?

I found her reading performance as artificial.

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

I did not get far enough to find out.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful