We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Emergence Audiobook

Emergence: Dave vs. the Monsters

Regular Price:$27.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

John Birmingham is the master of alternate history adventure - and now he's mastered a new genre with the volcanically fast-paced and wildly inventive Dave Hooper urban fantasy series. The series is anchored by a thrilling high concept: An oil rig opens a rift deep in the ocean that unleashes terrifying monsters into the world. But perhaps its coolest asset is its hero, Dave Hooper, a tough, bleakly funny, down-on-his luck oil rig worker with an unlikely destiny as a monster-slayer and world savior. With a memorable concept and an unforgettable new hero, the Dave Hooper series will satisfy Birmingham's large fanbase and convert a new legion of devoted fans.

©2015 John Birmingham (P)2015 Recorded Books

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (341 )
5 star
 (168)
4 star
 (101)
3 star
 (51)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (12)
Overall
4.1 (316 )
5 star
 (148)
4 star
 (97)
3 star
 (43)
2 star
 (17)
1 star
 (11)
Story
4.4 (315 )
5 star
 (177)
4 star
 (99)
3 star
 (27)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (6)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Steve H. Caldwell Tacoma, WA 06-15-15
    Steve H. Caldwell Tacoma, WA 06-15-15 Member Since 2017

    Book Maniac

    HELPFUL VOTES
    325
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    198
    190
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    9
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A wild thrill ride of urban fantasy."

    I wasn't sure what to make of this one when I first got it, but it was great! I like John Birmingham's alternative history books, but Urban Fantasy is a whole other ball of wax. Well, this is a home run! The story centers around Dave Hooper, the Safety Manager of an offshore oil rig in the Gulf of Mexico. After a booze, drug and hooker filled week off on vacation, he goes back to the rig on the company helicopter hungover and just wishing the day was already over. On the way out to the rig, the call comes in that theres a fire on the rig, a safety guys worst nightmare. When they get to the rig, the workers are scrambling around trying to get off the rig. The reason for this is that the fire isn't really big, but the Demons who are slaughtering people on the rig are. Dave goes looking for the source of the trouble and he finds it: a big demon 7 foot tall demon that kind of looks like an Orc. He grabs one of his coworkers splitting maul, and in a fit of rage, kills the demon, who was drunk on the blood of one of his fellow workers. Dave wakes up in the hospital, on an IV drip. Dave rips out the IV, and long story short, ends up showing he now has super strength, super senses, and an increased healing factor.The Navy Spec ops team that has been tasked with discovering whats going on recruits him on the spot to help them check out the rig. In addition to everything else, Dave has all the knowledge of the Demon he killed, kind of a monsterpedia. They discover that the rig drilled through a dimensional breach, and the demons are escaping to our world, which they were banished from when humans were still wearing animal skins and living in caves. Dave has to help stop the Demon invasion with his trusty splitting maul, which is now charmed sort of like Thor's hammer (can't be picked up by anyone else, unbreakable, has a sort of sentience and energy) Dave faces off with the Demons in New Orleans, and after a heavy duty battle in which Dave finds his limitations, the Demons are stopped, at least for the moment. What happens next? Read book 2, Resistance: Dave vs. The Monsters to find out. Mark Zeisler did a fantastic job of narration. He got all the different voices and accents right, and I felt like I was right there in the middle of the action. I definitely recommend this for fans of Simon R. Green, Jim Butcher and Kevin Hearne.

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Vorthe Audubon, NJ, United States 07-29-15
    Vorthe Audubon, NJ, United States 07-29-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    76
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    570
    75
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Turned out pretty good."

    There was a point where I almost stopped reading, but I am glad I didn't. Midway thru the book, once it starts focusing on the invasion instead of Dave's past debauchery and Red State angst, The book gets a lot better.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dave Catt Auckland 07-25-16
    Dave Catt Auckland 07-25-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent audio version! "

    highly recommend. the narrator matched the book perfectly, and the story kicked arse! .

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rod 05-21-15
    Rod 05-21-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good Stuff"
    Which character – as performed by Mark Zeisler – was your favorite?

    DAVE!!!!


    Any additional comments?

    This is a pretty funny cool story. Best line in a book ever, "Seriously? Well same as before, Im Dave and these are all the F***s I don't really give about who you are" Dave kind of reminds me of Sandman Slim. If you enjoy those stories, chances are you will like this one.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael 08-03-15
    Michael 08-03-15 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    108
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story"

    I was not sure about this one when I first looked at it.
    But after I read about some of the reviews on how much the f word was used I had to check for myself.
    Great book!!

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Steelgator 06-20-15
    Steelgator 06-20-15 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    234
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love this series"

    Dave is awesome. well kind of an ass but funny as hell and plenty of action.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kim R. 06-14-17
    Kim R. 06-14-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Marinated in its own pastes and juices!"

    Meh..I really wanted to like it, but I was turned off by the way we were dumped into the hive mind of the demons. I think I would rather have heard about how they were forced under the capstone to begin with. I was not able to suspend disbelief long enough to enjoy this. I will return it, but I liked it well enough to check out some of the author's other books. Hoping that they are a little more rooted in reality.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mike harris 04-02-17
    mike harris 04-02-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A soft core porn ripoff of a Corriea novel."
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    Delete six hours of character development


    What could John Birmingham have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    not charge for it.


    What does Mark Zeisler bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Actually loved the narration. Was the only Saving grace of the mind numbing drivel of the author


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    All of the above.


    Any additional comments?

    There is nothing new or original about this story. Aside from a couple of chuckles at d$*% jokes it wasn't funny, it wasn't suspense, it wasn't action, it just wasn't. Sadly it will likely be nominated for an award but won't win anything because the author didn't include any trans species love interests.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    angela welty 03-16-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Good Start"

    Narrator was great, he fit the character awesomely. The writer may have been trying to set up a trilogy, but the story was slow and only occasionally picked up. About half way through, the writer begins to split his time between the main character and the perspective of the monsters, which is pretty disappointing. The whole book culminates in monsters in a city, which ends without Dave and practically no questions are answered, and nothing even remotely resembling a resolution. Sometimes, it can be good, but only get this book if you are certain you want to see the trilogy through to the end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    P6PTX 03-11-17
    P6PTX 03-11-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    63
    60
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Its very Orc and Minty..."

    What a take on fantasy meeting reality!Its excellent narrative and i can definitely get the "ive come here to kick a$$ and chew bubble gum" vibe LOL.I cant wait to check out more of the series,and will SPREAD THE WORD

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.