Regular price: $31.50

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed "the American Tolkien" by Time magazine, number-one New York Times best-selling author George R. R. Martin is a giant in the field of fantasy literature and one of the most exciting storytellers of our time. Now he delivers a rare treat for listeners: a compendium of his shorter works, collected into two stunning volumes, that offers fascinating insight into his journey from young writer to award-winning master.

BONUS: Each selection includes extensive commentary by author George R. R. Martin.

©2003 George R. R. Martin; (P)2007 Random House, Inc. Random House Audio, a division of Random House, Inc.

Critic Reviews

"Fans, genre historians, and aspiring writers alike will find this shelf-bending retrospective as impressive as it is intriguing." (Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings


  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
  • 4 Stars
  • 3 Stars
  • 2 Stars
  • 1 Stars


  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
  • 4 Stars
  • 3 Stars
  • 2 Stars
  • 1 Stars


  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
  • 4 Stars
  • 3 Stars
  • 2 Stars
  • 1 Stars
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Nancy
  • Brigantine, NJ, United States
  • 09-21-08


I'm a huge Martin fan!! But this collection was very disappointing; maybe I'm not a short story person, or maybe I expected stories with the impact of Songs of Fire & Ice. Many of these shorts were written early in his career, so his style is different than in his later work. Skin Trade is the best offering here, and I'd already read it. Also, a few of these are pieces pulled from a series, and therefore obscure.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Susan
  • Concord, NC, United States
  • 04-02-11

Skip this one

This book only contains two stories worth note, The Skin Trade and The Hedge Knight. The first part of the book is Martin's contribution to the Wild Card series. With only having Martin's part of this multi authored work there are huge holes in the stories so bad that I really had a hard time hanging in there. Skip this one and look for The Skin Trade and The Hedge Knight separately.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful