Regular price: $20.72

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The universe has been explored - and humanity has all but given up on finding other intelligent life. Then an alien satellite orbiting a distant star sends out an unreadable signal. Is it the final programmed gasp of an ancient, long-dead race? Or the first greeting of an undiscovered life form?
©2003 Jack McDevitt; (P)2009 Audible, Inc.

Critic Reviews

"Chindi is an ambitious, exciting, big-idea hard-SF novel that ventures successfully into Rendezvous with Rama territory, and beyond." (Amazon.com review)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    103
  • 4 Stars
    114
  • 3 Stars
    51
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    7

Performance

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    87
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    71
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Robert
  • Apopka, Florida, United States
  • 05-02-13

Everything You Want in a Sci-Fi Novel

Would you consider the audio edition of Chindi to be better than the print version?

Comparing the audio version to the printed word is comparing apple to oranges, but the advantage to the audio version is the ability to continue to story while on the go. The written version is better curled up in bed with book in hand and a cup of tea on the night-stand.

What other book might you compare Chindi to and why?

Chindi follows in the tradition of Deepsix and Engines of the Gods, but only better. Jack McDevitt really hits his stride with this one.

What does Khristine Hvam and Oliver Wyman bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Having two readers enhances the reading experience by breaking up the monotony and bringing the novel to life. Wyman's role is primarily delivering quotes during the chapter divisions and Hvan narrates the story..

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The excitement is sprinkled throughout the novel but reaches a major crescento as the expedition explores the Chindi vessel.

Any additional comments?

Chindi length is slightly greater than many of the Sci-fi novels and so the listener will invest extra time reaching the end, but the end is worth it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

All around a fun novel, narrated well!

First - I really enjoyed Khristine Hvam's reading of the book. She does a very good job.
Second - yes, there is far too much time spent on one of the plot points (the rescue operation, as noted by others) - but getting to the plot device is fun adventure with some decent suspense along the way.
Third - if you can get past #2, Chindi is a pretty good adventure novel w/ some pretty interesting personalities in the characters, believable physics, a great heroine character with a catchy name (really, who names people "Hutch" these days? that's a hoot!)
Fourth - I'm about 85% through, and really looking forward to the culmination of the books' namesake - what is the purpose of the Chindi?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Kevin
  • Australind, WA, Australia
  • 03-31-10

Fantastic!

This was both my first audio book and the first Jack McDevitt book I have encountered. I have a 2 hour commute each day and thought an audio book would make a change to the technology podcasts I usually listen to. Thanks to the character formation, pace of the story and narration, I looked forward to the drive to and from work - and even listened to the book when I got home (something I never did with the podcasts!)

The story is exciting and very well developed, at times you are literally on the edge of your seat (I found I was gripping the steering wheel very hard at times). I also found I became very emotionally connected to the characters, partly because of the wonderful narration by Khristine Hvam, and partly because of the skilful way McDevitt introduced and developed the characters.

I can recommend this audio book to anyone interested in the Sci Fi genre, and to anyone who enjoys an exciting story. I will definitely be buying other Jack McDevitt audio books.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

Outstanding Read

I don't usually comment on titles I listen to but must do it on this. It was one of the best that I have listen to in a long while. Khristine Hvam was outstanding in the reading of the book. Would reccmmend this book to all.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

Good adventure

I've grown to love Jack McDevitt's visual detail writing, especially his character Hutch.. The Chindi I enjoyed reading and all that I enjoyed of can't wait to get to the next page was just as fun hearing it on audio.. Good twist and turns through out. Enjoyed a story line that I didn't know where it was going even after when we got there, he found a way to slip one more suprise in there through out... Always a good story to return to again and again.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Timothy
  • College Station, TX, United States
  • 05-14-14

One of my favorite books ever, narration not great

This is one of my favorite sci-fi books of all time. I read it (print version) many years ago and it blew me away.

I was very exited to find this available on Audible, so I got it, but I was less than thrilled with the audio version because of the narrator. She sounds too young and ... well, kind of valley-girl-ish. I don't know if that's an apt description -- she did not sound like I expected Priscilla Hutchins to sound. Not enough gravitas. Too teeny-bopper-ish, or something.

I did not get the same vibe from "Deepsix", yet I see that it's narrated by the same person. "The Engines of God" has a different narrator, and it is far and away the best of the series so far, in audiobook form.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

What a story! A must listen for the SF fan.

Almost listen to it in one rush. This is the second audiobook where I was IN the story (next to RAMA). Well plotted storyline, original ideas! Where is the sequel!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Excellent story

A tremendous story of first contact. It just keeps getting better as you read. You'll love it!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

my Favorite!!!

I found it through the talking book library for the blind.
Done with an expansive imagination and painted with words. ln Beautiful colors!! I love it!!! Thank You!!!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Solid Story

McDevitt provides a good story for Khristine Hvam and the great Oliver Wyman to narrate. As with all McDevitt's stories they are set in the far future and have the air mystery about them. This one doesn't disappoint, even though it might not be one of the better of his works. But, with Oliver Wyman around to narrate - he can turn a bland story into something special.