Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, and the Inklings met each week to read and discuss each other's work-in-progress, offering both encouragement and blistering critique. How did these conversations shape the books they were writing? How does creative collaboration enhance individual talent? And what can we learn from their example? Bandersnatch offers an inside look at the Inklings of Oxford, and a seat at their table at the Eagle and Child pub. It shows how encouragement and criticism made all the difference in The Lord of the Rings, The Chronicles of Narnia, and dozens of other books written by the members of their circle. You'll learn what made these writers tick, and more: inspired by their example, you'll discover how collaboration can help your own creative process and lead to genius breakthroughs in whatever work you do.

©2016 Diana Pavlac Glyer (P)2016 Diana Pavlac Glyer

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Inklings and the Creative Process Opened Up

This book is honest, thoroughly insightful, and sympathetic to the subject. The obvious work of love represented by this book becomes clear when considering how many letters, and documents must have been reviewed, and analyzed in order to produce the understanding presented in the book.

Although this work will most likely appeal to fans of Tolkien and Lewis who want to understand their relationship and that of the Inklings, it should also be read by anyone interested in writing or undertaking a creative endeavor. The insight derived from the author's effort is immeasurably valuable in that regard.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Stan
  • Hendersonville, NC, United States
  • 02-06-17

One of the best Inklings books ever

What made the experience of listening to Bandersnatch the most enjoyable?

Phenomenal research leads to a host of new information about CS Lewis, JRR Tolkien, and other Inklings. So well organized that you feel like you are easily following her outline. Extremely well read by Ward who is a Lewis scholar himself.

What did you like best about this story?

The research, new information, easily understood.

Which character – as performed by Michael Ward – was your favorite?

There are no characters but Ward's reading is exceptionally good.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

If possible yes

Any additional comments?

I have read scores of books about the Inklings - this is one of the very best.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superb!

First off, I love listening to Michael Ward. His voice can get you through even the driest of things. Secondly, I read this book through someone else's recommendation not really knowing what it was about. I was inspired and delighted. I had no idea it would give me cause to renew an old passion for creativity that has lain dormant for quite some time. Now, to find a tribe to write with!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great insight on creating and friendship.

Amazing book. Illustrates how influencers can change the course of writing and life in general.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A must for serious lover of CS Lewis & Tolkein

Great resource and very helpful to me as I read and re-read Lewis' works. A great pleasure indeed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Bandersnatchery at its best!

Dragons, lions, silver trumpets, and the tales of Arthur fill the halls of your mind while listening to Bandersnatch. It was Diana’s dream to unravel the complexity of “The Inklings” and their relationships and though told to end her pursuit she pressed forward to claim her prize. Diana dug through the Archives of the Wade Center like Gandalf in pursuit of the truth behind Bilbo’s ring, spoke to Christopher Tolkien the last surviving Inkling, and found the threads that would weave together the greatest view of this now legendary writing group.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Must read for any C.S. Lewis or writing enthusiast

Loved every minute of this book. Diana did a remarkable job at compiling the works and manuscripts of the Inkling's in order to give us an inside look at the inner workings of the most prolific authors of the 20th century. She gives us the keys to their success as writers and what we can learn from some of their mistakes when collaborating as a group. We get to see how the group flourished as they interacted with one another and how they struggled through their work. The wonderous works these authors left for us would not have been possible had it not been for the creativity they shared in their community. I can't say thank you enough to the author and for anyone that made this book possible. Thank you.

P.S. Michael Ward did a great job at narrating. Anyone with a British accent gets 5 stars in my book!

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Xander
  • 05-05-18

I absolutely love this book!

I absolutely loved this book! So much so that I read it twice, which is very rare for me. Not only did it give great insight into the world of C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and the Inklings but it very successfully argued that the Inklings worked together to influence, promote and support each other in all aspects of life. The idea of creative collaboration for writers and those concerned with writing strongly resonates with me and is a feature that is very important in my own life. I would strongly recommend this book not only to those interested in writing or the publishing of books, but also anyone who works collectively or in the creative arts. And best of all, this book was created for a more generalised audience from the academic work also by Diana Pavlac Glyer, "The Company They Keep: C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien as writers in community", which I am currently enjoying greatly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kassandra
  • 06-26-17

A thought provoking book

I thought this book was just going to be about the Inklings and their writing, but it was so much more. It made me think about how I write, and, more importantly, how I collaborate. If not quite 'life changing' it is 'life adjusting' that bit of my life that writes.