We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Bandersnatch Audiobook

Bandersnatch: C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, and the Creative Collaboration of the Inklings

Regular Price:$19.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, and the Inklings met each week to read and discuss each other's work-in-progress, offering both encouragement and blistering critique. How did these conversations shape the books they were writing? How does creative collaboration enhance individual talent? And what can we learn from their example? Bandersnatch offers an inside look at the Inklings of Oxford, and a seat at their table at the Eagle and Child pub. It shows how encouragement and criticism made all the difference in The Lord of the Rings, The Chronicles of Narnia, and dozens of other books written by the members of their circle. You'll learn what made these writers tick, and more: inspired by their example, you'll discover how collaboration can help your own creative process and lead to genius breakthroughs in whatever work you do.

©2016 Diana Pavlac Glyer (P)2016 Diana Pavlac Glyer

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (21 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.7 (20 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.4 (20 )
5 star
 (13)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Stan Hendersonville, NC, United States 02-06-17
    Stan Hendersonville, NC, United States 02-06-17 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    266
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of the best Inklings books ever"
    What made the experience of listening to Bandersnatch the most enjoyable?

    Phenomenal research leads to a host of new information about CS Lewis, JRR Tolkien, and other Inklings. So well organized that you feel like you are easily following her outline. Extremely well read by Ward who is a Lewis scholar himself.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The research, new information, easily understood.


    Which character – as performed by Michael Ward – was your favorite?

    There are no characters but Ward's reading is exceptionally good.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    If possible yes


    Any additional comments?

    I have read scores of books about the Inklings - this is one of the very best.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer San Antonio, TX, United States 06-15-17
    Amazon Customer San Antonio, TX, United States 06-15-17 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    53
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    34
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Inklings and the Creative Process Opened Up"

    This book is honest, thoroughly insightful, and sympathetic to the subject. The obvious work of love represented by this book becomes clear when considering how many letters, and documents must have been reviewed, and analyzed in order to produce the understanding presented in the book.

    Although this work will most likely appeal to fans of Tolkien and Lewis who want to understand their relationship and that of the Inklings, it should also be read by anyone interested in writing or undertaking a creative endeavor. The insight derived from the author's effort is immeasurably valuable in that regard.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 02-02-17 Member Since 2016
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Must read for any C.S. Lewis or writing enthusiast"

    Loved every minute of this book. Diana did a remarkable job at compiling the works and manuscripts of the Inkling's in order to give us an inside look at the inner workings of the most prolific authors of the 20th century. She gives us the keys to their success as writers and what we can learn from some of their mistakes when collaborating as a group. We get to see how the group flourished as they interacted with one another and how they struggled through their work. The wonderous works these authors left for us would not have been possible had it not been for the creativity they shared in their community. I can't say thank you enough to the author and for anyone that made this book possible. Thank you.

    P.S. Michael Ward did a great job at narrating. Anyone with a British accent gets 5 stars in my book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Kassandra
    UK
    6/26/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A thought provoking book"

    I thought this book was just going to be about the Inklings and their writing, but it was so much more. It made me think about how I write, and, more importantly, how I collaborate. If not quite 'life changing' it is 'life adjusting' that bit of my life that writes.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.