Regular price: $17.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

David Ryan is the designer of ELOPe, an email language optimization program, that if successful, will make his career. But when the project is suddenly in danger of being canceled, David embeds a hidden directive in the software accidentally creating a runaway artificial intelligence.

David and his team are initially thrilled when the project is allocated extra servers and programmers. But excitement turns to fear as the team realizes that they are being manipulated by an A.I. who is redirecting corporate funds, reassigning personnel and arming itself in pursuit of its own agenda.

©2011, 2012 William Hertling (P)2012 William Hertling

Critic Reviews

  • Science Fiction DIY Book Festival, Winner, 2011-12
  • Gold Winner, Science Fiction Book of the Year, 2011

"Avogadro Corp is a tremendous book that every single person needs to read. In the vein of Daniel Suarez's Daemon and Freedom(TM), William's book shows that science fiction is becoming science fact. Avogadro Corp describes issues, in solid technical detail, that we are dealing with today that will impact us by 2015, if not sooner. Not enough people have read these books. It's a problem for them, but not for the [emergent] machines." (Brad Feld, managing directory Foundry Group, co-founder Techstars)

"Highly entertaining, gripping, thought inspiring book. Don't start without the time to finish - it won't let you go.” (Gifford Pinchot III, founder Bainbridge Graduate Institute, author The Intelligent Organization)
"An alarming and jaw-dropping tale about how something as innocuous as email can subvert an entire organization. I found myself reading with a sense of awe, and read it way too late into the night." (Gene Kim, author of Visible Ops)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    270
  • 4 Stars
    339
  • 3 Stars
    158
  • 2 Stars
    42
  • 1 Stars
    13

Performance

  • 3.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    253
  • 4 Stars
    263
  • 3 Stars
    144
  • 2 Stars
    45
  • 1 Stars
    24

Story

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    251
  • 4 Stars
    286
  • 3 Stars
    134
  • 2 Stars
    55
  • 1 Stars
    11
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Corey
  • Rochelle, IL
  • 02-17-17

Definitely no Daniel Suarez, but a decent author!

I have seen many reviews comparing this book to "Daemon" and "Freedom". Hertling is no Suarez, nor would I want him to be! He has his own unique writing style that at times flows quite nicely yet he has a tendency to brush over critical parts. I will continue this series if nothing else, just to see this author develop.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

It's short but awesome

If you would like to explore what will undoubtedly be headline news at some point in the next fifty years, this series is really entertaining.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Exciting book

Whether the singularity will appear in my lifetime I don't know, but I feel it's not a question of if, but rather when

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Interesting story but not a great narration

I like AI stories and thought this one was pretty decent, but it felt like the narrator was reading a textbook to a classroom. I'd be very interested in seeing where this series goes, and listening to the rest of the books, as long as the narration improves.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

One of my favorite books

This is book one of one of my favorite series. The narration helps bring the characters to life.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Computer jargon.... More computer jargon

I was bored out of my mind through this whole book. It's all just technical talk with some story line thrown in. If you are into coding and computer talk, you'll love it. If you're looking for a good apocalyptic kind of book, look elsewhere!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Brian
  • Niagara Falls, NY
  • 07-10-16

The Singularity is close...

Avogadro Corp is the biggest company in the world. Think Google buys up Amazon, Apple, Microsoft, etc. They are a huge conglomerate that has the power to do almost anything. Inside this company, there are always ongoing projects to improve their core projects like AvoMail. One of these projects was meant to help people communicate better. Allowing people to request things like days off from their boss without worrying about how it was worded. Unfortunately, it was an incredible resource hog and about to be shut off for good. So the developers decided to take things into their own hands.

The narration for Avogadro Corp was done by Rob Granniss who does a wonderful job. I found myself drawn in by the story and kept there by Granniss's narration. He had the perfect voice for this book and I'm incredibly glad that I chose to listen to it.

The story in this starts off like any other technothriller: big company, big ideas, and really really smart people working on projects. At first, I wasn't sure where the story was going to go. But after the background info, it really picked up and became a thrill ride.

I've honestly had this book on my "to-read" shelf for a really long time and I'm glad that I finally pulled it out and gave it a listen. I couldn't wait to get in my car to listen to another 30 mins on my drives to and from work. The story had totally pulled me in and wouldn't let me go. It was like ELOPe was in my brain making me listen to it more and more.

I don't want to ruin the story, but it does take some unexpected twists and turns. And when you think it's over, you find out it might only simply be the beginning. The first book in (at least) a 4 book series. Avogadro Corp is a wonderful technothriller that will keep you up late reading/listening. It will also have an unintended effect (or at least it did to me): it will have you watching what you do with your email and phone around.

If you enjoyed this review, please vote for it. If you'd like to see more like it check out BriansBookBlog DOT com.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

good start

good start to a new series I'm anxiously looking forward to see what happens next

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Sverre
  • United States
  • 05-18-16

Predictable story

The fictional Avogadro corp in the book is obviously based off Google, so working for the actual Google may color my perception of the book.

Throughout the book it seemed like I always knew what was going to happen next. I much more thoroughly enjoyed Suarez' books, possibly due to the characters in this not being nearly as interesting.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Dana
  • Springdale, AR, United States
  • 04-28-16

Geek alert! In a good way.

Delighted to read a fiction so closely aligned with Ray Kurzweil's non-fiction "The singularity is near". Also, as someone who works in IT in one of the largest tech companies: the setting and interactions are dead-on. I'm not equipped to judge if the tech is 100%, but I dare say it probably is. This is a frighteningly or-- hopefully plausible tale. (Depending on your point of view) Very worth the credit. That said, the writing itself was 'only' very good, not great. (ily much?) and I found myself wishing for a narrator with more theater training for the dialogue. Nevertheless-- this is one story that you'll remember and will refer to in the break room at work.