We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (31300 )
5 star
 (21807)
4 star
 (6624)
3 star
 (2028)
2 star
 (499)
1 star
 (342)
Overall
4.6 (27781 )
5 star
 (20111)
4 star
 (5192)
3 star
 (1799)
2 star
 (436)
1 star
 (243)
Story
4.4 (27779 )
5 star
 (17985)
4 star
 (5790)
3 star
 (2657)
2 star
 (777)
1 star
 (570)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Michal Romig 09-26-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "These books will be classics before finised"

    Narration was superb.
    .PLEASE TELL ME MORE TO COME..
    Real soon.I am very hooked.
    '

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mike 09-24-15
    Mike 09-24-15 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Incredible"

    Laughing out loud, feeling joy, sorrow, fear....he captures it all.

    and 5 stars for the wonderful Roy Dotrice!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brad 09-22-15
    Brad 09-22-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent!"

    Way better than book 4. This one is back up there at the level of the first three books. And of course, excellent reading performance once again by Roy Dotrice. Definitely worth the purchase for fans of the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Preston Scott Williams daytona beach, fl 09-21-15
    Preston Scott Williams daytona beach, fl 09-21-15 Member Since 2017

    preston, of course

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "you've gotten this far you don't need a review."

    these are the greatest books ever written and the narrator is amazing. but if you've gotten to book 5 you're already in love.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Candy 09-18-15
    Candy 09-18-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Story
    "some very slow spot"

    some spots are very slow, and felt they were just trying to fill in spots

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    kaly 09-18-15
    kaly 09-18-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "loved the book and Roy Dotrice is amazing"

    loved the book and Roy Dotrice is amazing. how he manages to make the voices of every one is way beyond me. the only thing I didn't like is the change he gave to Peter baelish's voice. but everything else is great

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tiamatzilla 09-17-15
    Tiamatzilla 09-17-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Khaleesi Messiah"

    Queen Daenerys needs to win the overall game with all three Dragons unscathed. Glad we still have all three in play, we need more to return reigning supreme. Khaleesi is Christ!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Henrik 09-16-15
    Henrik 09-16-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "its Good"

    its a Good story and i cant wait for The next one. well written all around

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Callie 09-15-15
    Callie 09-15-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    12
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Next book in the compelling series."

    the next compelling chapter in the tale of the 7 kingdoms. another enjoyable listen as the berries fashions fight for control of the room.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Arrowbear Lake, CA, US 09-14-15
    Amazon Customer Arrowbear Lake, CA, US 09-14-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great"

    Love the storyline. Some of the people sound alike. But still a.good performance.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.