Regular price: $49.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.
©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

Critic Reviews

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)
"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)
"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    25,557
  • 4 Stars
    7,200
  • 3 Stars
    2,196
  • 2 Stars
    531
  • 1 Stars
    365

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    21,091
  • 4 Stars
    6,421
  • 3 Stars
    2,898
  • 2 Stars
    860
  • 1 Stars
    628

Story

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    23,558
  • 4 Stars
    5,670
  • 3 Stars
    1,935
  • 2 Stars
    466
  • 1 Stars
    257
Sort by:
  • Overall

Words are wind.

Great story and wonderful characters. but i am becoming increasingly worried that this story is growing too much in scope. there are way too many characters and loose ends to tie up in the next few books. can't wait for more.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Alas, no book 6

Wonderful, but couldn't Dotrice have listened to his earlier readings to get the names and voices right?

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

ASOIAF: You cannot go wrong adding this

Would you consider the audio edition of A Dance with Dragons to be better than the print version?

No and simply because it is difficult to distinguish between internal and external dialogue in the audio version. The ability to do this is crucial to the story.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Wyman Manderly! He is bold and brilliant and I have a soft spot for fat, smart men.

Have you listened to any of Roy Dotrice’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

He has a strong speaking voice.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

Two Hours Is Not Enough

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Roy Isn't Bad

Roy isn't as bad as everyone makes him out to be. I've listened to him twice now for all 5 books, and while it's annoying that voices and some pronunciations change in books 4 and 5, it's nothing to give horrible reviews over. Honestly, it should have been on the producer and/or publisher to review the old voices with Roy. There were several years between the recording of books 3 and 4. Anyway, great performance by Roy as always. Can't imagine not having him for TWOW, so GRRM better hurry up, or they both might die before its complete!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Invonsistent voices

The voice actor needs to get more voices and even more consistency. He defaults to a leprechaun voice for many of the characters like Dany. even worse done voices changes mid book.

  • Overall
  • Story
  • T-dub
  • Clyde, TX
  • 06-27-16

audio book is a great way to experience it again!

Great book. So easy to get wrapped up in the story. I caught things while listening that I don't remember from reading the book.

I thought the narrator did a fine job except on the female voices. Making Dany sound like a little old women was just so strange. I would preferred he just read her parts in his regular voice.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

love got

best book series I've ever listened to. love the narrator. can't wait for book 6

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

variable voices

i prefer there be a variety of voices for the characters in these stories.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

An endless game fo power, intrigue, life and death

If you could sum up A Dance with Dragons in three words, what would they be?

This is a impossible task, because the book can't be sum up only in three words....

What did you like best about this story?

I love the way George R.R. Martin let all the characters with their stories in abeyance. The author didn't wrute a end to Stark's, Jon Snow, Daenerys Targaryens, The Night Watch, or Lannisters ... The chapter for each character ends leaving an unexplored world of possibilities.

What about Roy Dotrice’s performance did you like?

For me, Roy Dotrice was the better choice to narrate this series.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes. Every free time I had, I used to listening this book.

Any additional comments?

This book needs a sequel.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Saying "NO" to Roy Dotrice

Having completed the entire audio series of A Song of Ice and Fire, I have edited all my ratings of the narrator's performance. Roy Dotrice ruined my perceptions of the characters with inconsistent character tones.

I would rather have had the books read in a monotone voice free of all inflections than listen to him make manly men sound like some whimpy teenage boy and Danny like some old crone (referencing ADWD narration).

With that being said, the series is still so damn good that I'm listening again for a second go around. I just work harder at dreaming of a world where the actors of the HBO series are providing the voices for the audio series and Dotrice only supplies the narration!