We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (32942 )
5 star
 (23165)
4 star
 (6835)
3 star
 (2077)
2 star
 (512)
1 star
 (353)
Overall
4.6 (29264 )
5 star
 (21363)
4 star
 (5366)
3 star
 (1840)
2 star
 (444)
1 star
 (251)
Story
4.4 (29269 )
5 star
 (19109)
4 star
 (6020)
3 star
 (2742)
2 star
 (806)
1 star
 (592)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Jennifer L. Devall Carthage, NY 02-20-16
    Jennifer L. Devall Carthage, NY 02-20-16 Member Since 2016

    Jennifer L. DeVall

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Solid book"

    Great ending and I can't wait for the next one. I am not sure when the next one is, but I will get it when it does.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    R. Lagman 02-19-16
    R. Lagman 02-19-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Characters abound"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes


    What did you like best about this story?

    Fan of the series


    Which character – as performed by Roy Dotrice – was your favorite?

    Sam Tarly


    Any additional comments?

    These books would be better read by more than one voice actor. Roy Dotrice does wonderful job but at some point, you run out of voice intonations or accents that the listener has to rewind several times just to make sure they are keeping the characters intact in their heads.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brandy Lokey 02-18-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "love the narrator!"

    I love that the same narrator has done every book! I hope he does the next two as well. He seems as invested in the story as I am.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Marcus Harrisburg, PA, USA 02-17-16
    Marcus Harrisburg, PA, USA 02-17-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    18
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome."

    See above. Totally awesome. Verily, I tell you, awesome. This is the audio that will mount the world.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Drew Lackovic 02-12-16

    Dad, Husband, Writer, Corporate Wage Slave

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    67
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "In need of editing."

    this book could easily convey its entire content in about a third of the time. I like long books and long running series, but this installment really dragged into the doldrums. if I were reading the text instead of listening to the book, I would have put it down and probably never finished.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mr. 02-10-16
    Mr. 02-10-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "all the character women all sounded like irish"

    to many characters changed to sounding Irish and of lower decent. like Danieris now sounds like the maid of tath

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dr. Movies 02-10-16
    Dr. Movies 02-10-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I want more....."

    great book, can't wait for more, Roy Dotrice it's amazing again, I hope he can narrate the last two books. they won't be the same without him. can't wait for season 6 either.....what am I gonna do now?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tyler 02-07-16
    Tyler 02-07-16 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very entertaining!"

    The voiceover was well done, and the book very entertaining as the fifth in the series

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Thomas 02-07-16
    Thomas 02-07-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing Book! Not so great voice acting...."

    Roy Dotrice is an awesome storyteller, but he constantly mispronounces, or changes pronunciation of, words/names. Also has a tendency to change the voices of characters that he portraits over the series. if you can look past those things though, he does an excellent job at telling the story at a pace most can enjoy and be content.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 02-05-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    "great book"

    An awesome listen to while still being able to do other things. Enjoyed it very much.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.