We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (33408 )
5 star
 (23554)
4 star
 (6889)
3 star
 (2095)
2 star
 (516)
1 star
 (354)
Overall
4.6 (29682 )
5 star
 (21716)
4 star
 (5413)
3 star
 (1856)
2 star
 (445)
1 star
 (252)
Story
4.4 (29690 )
5 star
 (19406)
4 star
 (6097)
3 star
 (2767)
2 star
 (822)
1 star
 (598)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Elaine 05-20-16
    Elaine 05-20-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    7
    Overall
    Story
    "oh so disappointed that it ended....."

    Couldnt put it down, by now these characters are like family members. excited for the next release.....i know it will be worth the wait.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ryan 05-19-16
    Ryan 05-19-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I love this series."

    Great series. Narrator did a good job with several different voices and acting. This book lacks some of the qualities that made the first few books in this series so intriguing.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Adan Aguilera 05-17-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "awesomeness"

    Really great book only complaint would be narrator had trouble with female characters otherwise great.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    LJ 05-17-16
    LJ 05-17-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    147
    31
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The best story yet..."

    This is so the best book of the series. Also of note, it's no wonder the HBO series has caught up to the books... it skipped at least half of book 4 and probably 90% of book 5. I've seen up to season 5 and listened to all 5 books, and the books are a lot better.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    MattLisa San Diego, CA United States 05-15-16
    MattLisa San Diego, CA United States 05-15-16 Member Since 2013

    LiMat

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can't wait for the next one!"

    I'm obsessed with Game of Thrones and the way this book ends makes me understand why everyone is asking for the next book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    claudia boy 05-14-16
    claudia boy 05-14-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    34
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narrayor's female voices are a joke!"
    What would have made A Dance with Dragons better?

    To include a female narrator for the feminine roles! he takes all the power away from them and this diminishes the hole story its a shame.


    What did you like best about this story?

    The story itself is wonderful!


    Would you be willing to try another one of Roy Dotrice’s performances?

    Yes, as long as he doesn't play women.


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    disappointment.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Melvin l Wilcox 05-14-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A mummers farce"

    Love the tale but hated this edition, will watch the TV series instead . There is no way II would purchase book 6 after the dissspointment of book 5

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael early 05-14-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great story shaky reading"

    The story is beautiful. The narrator is good. The editing is terrible. So many jumps and pauses and repeated phrases.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dustin 05-13-16
    Dustin 05-13-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narration is blah"

    so little imagination I'm the different voices. Game of Thrones the voices were much better

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Madeleine 05-10-16
    Madeleine 05-10-16 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Where was the editor on this one?!?"

    If you've already listened to the first four, chances are you enjoyed Roy's amazing interpretation and voicing of the characters we've come to know and love or hate. We are used to hearing each character voiced in a particular manner. So it comes as a bit of a shock when we hear Roy change up the voices of certain characters; most notably Daenerys and Melisandre. He also changes the way that he pronounces some of the names from how he's pronounced them in the past. More than anything it's just an annoyance and a little bit disruptive to the listening flow if you've listened to the rest of the series. It's not anything you won't be able to get past. Strange at first, but you'll get used to it. As I understand this was recorded several years after the first few and I guess Roy forgot some of the voices. You'd think the editors would have caught this from the very beginning and maybe played him some samples of his previous voicing.

    Despite this issue, Roy still does a great narration job. Plus, you've already invested so much time and you have to find out what happens next. It's a thrilling return back our favorite characters after book 4. Just be prepared for the weird voice changes and pronunciations.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.