Sample

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Rosewater  By  cover art

Rosewater

By: Tade Thompson
Narrated by: Bayo Gbadamosi
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Interview: Tade Thompson talks about the 'Frankenstein of influences' that helped create his buzzy sci-fi debut.

It's a stealth character-driven story masquerading as a plot-driven story.
-0.00
  • Rosewater
  • It's a stealth character-driven story masquerading as a plot-driven story.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's summary

Rosewater is the start of an award-winning trilogy set in Nigeria, by one of science fiction's most engaging voices.

*Arthur C. Clarke Award for Best Science Fiction Novel, winner

*Nommo Award for Best Speculative Fiction Novel, winner

*John W. Campbell Award, runner-up

Rosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious alien biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry, and the helpless—people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumored healing powers.

Kaaro is a government agent with a criminal past. He has seen inside the biodome, and doesn't care to again—but when something begins killing off others like himself, Kaaro must defy his masters to search for an answer, facing his dark history and coming to a realization about a horrifying future.

Tade Thompson's innovative, genre-bending, Afrofuturist series, the Wormwood Trilogy, is perfect for fans of Jeff Vandermeer, N. K. Jemisin, and Ann Leckie.

Praise for Rosewater:

"Smart. Gripping. Fabulous!"—Ann Leckie, award winning-author of Ancillary Justice

"Mesmerising. There are echoes of Neuromancer and Arrival in here, but this astonishing debut is beholden to no one."—M. R. Carey, bestselling author of The Girl with All the Gifts

"A magnificent tour de force, skillfully written and full of original and disturbing ideas."—Adrian Tchaikovsky, Arthur C. Clarke Award-winning author of Children of Time

The Wormwood Trilogy

Rosewater

Rosewater Insurrection

Rosewater Redemption

©2017 Tade Thompson (P)2018 Hachette Audio

Critic reviews

"Nothing short of brilliant.... A captivating, cerebral work of science fiction that may very well signal a new definitive voice in the genre."—Kirkus

"Thompson's genius in displacing his tale of successive xenobiological attacks from the West onto the developing world is matched by his breathtakingly smart prose.... Deeply engrossing."—The Seattle Review of Books

"One of the most thoughtful and inventive alien contact tales of recent decades."Locus

Featured Article: The best audiobooks about aliens for curious humans


Throughout the history of storytelling, we humans have been curious about the possibility of worlds beyond Earth and its inhabitants. Thanks to our endless fascination with extraterrestrial life, there is a mountain of literature, from novels to memoirs, exploring the potential outcomes of interacting with creatures from other planets. Without further ado, here are 20 of our favorite listens about alien life.