Regular price: $31.49

Free with 30-day trial Membership
Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free - plus an audiobook, on us.
  • 1 credit a month after trial - good for any title.
  • Easy exchange. Don't love book? swap it for free.
  • Exchange books you don't like
  • After your free trial, Audible is $14.95 a month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Set against the lavish backdrop of the French Court in the early years of the 18th century, The Sisters of Versailles is the extraordinary tale of the five Nesle sisters - Louise, Pauline, Diane, Hortense, and Marie-Anne - four of whom became mistresses to King Louis XV. Their scandalous story is stranger than fiction but true in every shocking, amusing, and heartbreaking detail.Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best foot - and women - forward. The king's scheming ministers push Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the king. Over the following decade, the four sisters - sweet, naïve Louise; ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne - will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power. In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versailles is a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie's stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood - of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough.

©2015 Sally Christie (P)2015 Tantor

Critic Reviews

"Filled with lush backdrops, rich detail, and colorful characters, fans of historical fiction will enjoy this glimpse into the lost golden era of the French monarchy." (Allison Pataki, author of The Accidental Empress)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    67
  • 4 Stars
    65
  • 3 Stars
    41
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    15

Performance

  • 3.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    74
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    14

Story

  • 3.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    64
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    37
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    16
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Alexis
  • OAKLAND, CA, United States
  • 01-09-16

Best book I've listened to in ages

Would you listen to The Sisters of Versailles again? Why?

This book is just amazing and totally fascinating to listen to. The story is told in the form of letters and is like a multi-person memoir. The subject of the book is the relationship that 5 sisters had with Louis the XV over about 10 years, and it is personal history at its finest. If you love that type of book, this is one of the best I have read.

What did you like best about this story?

The story has a lot of different authors and viewpoints, which ends up being really interesting, and all the characters are extremely believable.

Any additional comments?

Also, the narrator for this book does an amazing job! Her "voices" for each sister seem really appropriate and are consistent through the book. I really think that this narrator is an artist at doing what she does. To me that really makes a different in an audio book, some narrators can really ruin a great book.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Stay with it.

Initially I was bored, however, I'm glad I persisted. Give it a chance and you will enjoy the story.. quite humorous at times!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Like listening to a narrated movie!

Was looking for something a little different from the typical romance story and this was perfect. Good story with hints of romance but more for story purpose. This is told from each sisters point of view at varying times and the narrator did an excellent job. The first few minutes I wasn't sure if I would like it, then I realized I had already progressed to hooked. I felt like I had a visual movie playing out in my head the whole time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Hated the narration

I thought the peculiar accents and voices distracted me from the story. They didn't suit the theme of the book.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

lov3s it

made the characters quite real. like the authora style. may read the next 2 in the series.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Sorry, I can't finish it

I tried to like this but it was a ridiculous book made more so by an overacting reader.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Boring! What a waste of a credit and time.

I tried to like this book but after listening for 6 hours I could care less about any of the characters. This story goes nowhere. The characters have zero personality and the dialogue is redundant and frustrating. The accent of the reader was often hard to understand. I guess I am spoiled authors Phillipa Gregory and Diana Gabaldon. If you want a good book this is not it.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Excellent

I enjoyed every second of the listen. Highly recommended for anyone interested in historical icons.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Magnificent

The story was wonderful and the narrative was perfect. I am so glad I purchased this audio book.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.