Regular price: $27.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Editorial Reviews

Charlotte “Charley” Davidson is not your stereotypical Grim Reaper. She’s sexy, sassy, and likes to help dead people with unfinished business before they cross. She’s more of a bright light kind of girl than a hood with an axe. For her day job, Charley is an Albuquerque private investigator and a consultant to her police detective uncle. Lately, her nights have been steamed up with dreams of a hot mystery lover who may or may not be real. It’s chick-lit meets paranormal with a touch of mystery in the buzz-worthy First Grave on the Right.

Inevitably, this book will be compared to Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series. They both have feisty female protagonists, snappy dialogue, and zany characters. Veteran narrator Lorelei King also performs the Stephanie Plum books and is well-cast in this novel. What makes her fantastic in the Plum series is her ability to define the voices of all the secondary characters and inject them with interest and distinct personalities. In this performance, she does not disappoint. King seamlessly switches among the characters and has fantastic comedic timing. She elevates the work and keeps the laughs coming.

This is a debut novel from Darynda Jones. It will not be her last; this is clearly a launch for a series. There’s quite a bit of set-up as Charley begins to understand more of her abilities and the presence of other supernatural beings. Jones has created an interesting premise and characters. The mystery element is weak, however, and the writing is on the mediocre side. Jones is at her best with witty dialogue and keeps things moving at a brisk pace. Overall, it’s a fun, breezy listen and an enjoyable escape.

Fans of Janet Evanovich, Lorelei King, and paranormal romance will want to give this new series a listen. —Julie MacDonald

Publisher's Summary

A smashing, award-winning debut novel that introduces Charley Davidson: part-time private investigator and full-time Grim Reaper. Charley sees dead people. That’s right, she sees dead people. And it’s her job to convince them to “go into the light”. But when these very dead people have died under less than ideal circumstances (i.e. murder), sometimes they want Charley to bring the bad guys to justice.

Complicating matters are the intensely hot dreams she’s been having about an Entity who has been following her all her life...and it turns out he might not be dead after all. In fact, he might be something else entirely.

This is a thrilling debut novel from an exciting newcomer to the world of paranormal romantic suspense. The audio includes a sneak peak of Second Grave on the Left.

Keep chilled: spend some more time with Charley Davidson.
©2011 Darynda Jones (P)2011 Macmillan Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    3,988
  • 4 Stars
    2,340
  • 3 Stars
    1,029
  • 2 Stars
    351
  • 1 Stars
    257

Performance

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    4,245
  • 4 Stars
    1,746
  • 3 Stars
    620
  • 2 Stars
    174
  • 1 Stars
    132

Story

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    3,454
  • 4 Stars
    1,938
  • 3 Stars
    938
  • 2 Stars
    329
  • 1 Stars
    241
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

great listen

my second time listening to this series, funny, at times very erotic, storyline needs the listener to have an open mind.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Very funny writing

I haven't listened to or read anything that made me smile as much since Stephanie Plum started he career as a bounty hunter. Enjoyed it!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Entertaining, looking forward to next in series

For me it was slow to get started. Funny, but sometimes corny. Didn't know someone could be so persuaded to do things bc of coffee. It felt like she was trying a little too hard to throw in a joke and too many one-liners. I found myself putting it down quite a bit and not in a hurry to come back to it, unlike some books that I find myself driving slower to get places just so I can keep listening. Even though it Took me awhile to get into it and to follow it at times, as it started nearing the end that is when the meat of the story came in and I was beginning to be drawn to these characters. I am definitely interested in continuing this series now. Hopefully the one-liners will peter off a bit and we will get to join her as she discovers her true abilities. It's got great potential, and considering there are numerous books in this series, I can only believe that they just get better.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

love thi book

I a lover of books think this funny slightly ditzy girl riper rocked. while she stumbles on to crimes she has cool powrs to help her out. get it now!!!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

One of my favorites!

To keep it short and simple, this book was amazing.

Lorelei King captured the essence Darynda tried in portray in this book. She nailed each character. Her pace, tempo and overall narration was amazing. I could close my eyes and see everything and everyone she spoke about. She is hands down the best narrator.

Darynda Jones is marvelous. She is so descriptive with her writing that it leaves the whole scene painted for us. I loved the entire storyline, it was definitely something different. I felt a huge pool of emotions throughout various points in the book. Good stories should invoke an array of feelings, making it all the more realistic (because let's be honest, who likes everybody they've ever met, not even the Catholic priests). At one point my teenage cousin said she felt like she needed a dictionary to keep up, lol, but it's okay for the target audience. Darynda made me fall in love with fictional characters, which is always the aim for a good book. I would love to see this on the big screen.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Adolescent Girls only

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

Young girls, in middle school except for the semi-graphic sex scenes, so I guess nobody.

What was most disappointing about Darynda Jones’s story?

Story line, dialog, everything

What three words best describe Lorelei King’s voice?

effective narrator.

Any additional comments?

If it wasn't for the fact that this was the only book I had on a long drive, I would never have listened to it beyond the first five minutes.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Strange story but very intriguing!! Like it alot

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Definitely recommend. Kept me in my car listening and almost late for work!!

What was one of the most memorable moments of First Grave on the Right?

When Charley learned of her "Rayis"

What three words best describe Lorelei King’s voice?

muted- Not very exciting but still good

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • donna
  • Amarillo, TX, United States
  • 03-19-15

The Grim Reaper??

What a great start to what I hope will be an interesting series. Maybe a new joke--what do you get when you cross a grim reaper with the son of satan??? I can't wait to find out the answer!! The narrator was very good and the story is full of interesting characters. I will definitely be listening to more of the adventures of Charley Davidson!!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Mediocre plot, marginally entertaining

Sadly I didn't love this one. Not sure if it was the story itself, the narrator, or a combination of the two. Nothing about it was bad, per se, and I certainly listened all the way through... but I won't be following the rest of the series. Charlie's "sass" always seemed a bit too forced for me, and I just never really got engaged in the story.

  • Overall

interesting!

This was not a typical read for me but kept me on the edge of my seat, waiting to hear what happened next. Definitely worth the read!!