Regular price: $31.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Waters, here's a magnetic debut novel of wrenching family secrets, forbidden love, and heartbreaking loss housed within the grand gothic manor of Black Rabbit Hall.

Ghosts are everywhere - not just the ghost of Momma in the woods but ghosts of us, too, what we used to be like in those long summers....

Amber Alton knows that the hours pass differently at Black Rabbit Hall, her London family's country estate, where no two clocks read the same. Summers there are perfect, timeless. Not much ever happens. Until, of course, it does.

More than three decades later, Lorna is determined to be married within the grand, ivy-covered walls of Pencraw Hall, known as Black Rabbit Hall among the locals. But as she's drawn deeper into the overgrown grounds, half-buried memories of her mother begin to surface, and Lorna soon finds herself ensnared within the manor's labyrinthine history, overcome with an insatiable need for answers about her own past and that of the once-happy family whose memory still haunts the estate.

Stunning and atmospheric, this debut novel is a thrilling spiral into the hearts of two women separated by decades but inescapably linked by the dark and tangled secrets of Black Rabbit Hall.

©2016 Eve Chase (P)2016 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"The ominous tone of this audiobook draws in the curious listener from the first scene. Three narrators collaborate, stitching together the lives of the characters in a seamless listening experience.... Buscombe, Scarfe, and Campbell create artistic portraits of each character, including the gruff masculine ones." ( AudioFile)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    139
  • 4 Stars
    94
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    167
  • 4 Stars
    62
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    118
  • 4 Stars
    90
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A good story in the Kate Morton school of writing.

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I'm not sure I would as I really found one of the narrators very hard to listen to.In fact, she starts the story and I nearly gave up with the whole thing because of her. She has a terribly grating tone and their is something innately annoying about her. She manages to make Lorna and John terribly annoying too. I couldn't like Lorna because of the whiney voice the narrator gives her which makes her seem very weak. John is made overbearing and patronizing by what I think is overacting on the part of the reader. I have a feeling I would have enjoyed this story far more if I had read it myself. I would be likely to recommend the book, but not the audio.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Lucian because he was brave and honorable and kind.

Would you listen to another book narrated by the narrators?

No.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

All the losses were very moving and unsettling. I hated what happened to poor, Old Harry.

Any additional comments?

This is a good story which is most certainly in the school of Kate Morton. I wish the main character of Lorna had been portrayed as stronger and more positive, but I think a lot of my dislike of this character must stem from the narrator. I think I will avoid audiobooks that involve Nathalie Buscombe.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

If you love Kate Morton

If you love Kate Morton, Black Rabbit Hall is a must read. Like Morton, Eve Chase weaves together rich characters with scenery so breathtaking, it almost becomes a character itself. The storyline made me never want to pause. I loved this book and look forward to more books by this author.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A story that works into your soul

A mixture of love, horror, and the truth behind it all this is a strong novel that forces the listener to picture the haunted lives that are linked through time. Few books leave me rethinking my own darkest moments and thoughts but this one did, it will be with me for a long time as one of my favorites.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful and Haunting

I am SO glad that I took a stab in the dark and picked this audiobook. I am a commuter, so I listen to all of my books in the car. I was so captivated by the story and performance that I found myself turning on the story in the house too. Descriptive and dark, Eve Chase has done a splendid job. I enjoyed the ending of this book as well...I won't spoil it for you. If you enjoy feeling like you know the characters personally after reading a book, then you will want to give this one a chance.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

black rabbit hall, wish it could have gone on...

the narrator was really good I really enjoyed her! the kind of story you wish could go on and on further into the future with the family be able to know what happened to black rabbit hall afterwards thought that was Toby coming but wasn't sure of that. use the book for traveling 426 miles each way still wish it could have gone on

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Fan
  • Dunlap, Illinois United States
  • 02-15-16

Great book Go ahead and fall down the rabbit hole too.

Good adventure I have just poked my head up from the rabbit hole. Blinked and returned to present day and time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Audible, please define mystery

Finished the book, waiting for a mystery to unfold. The story was really about family deceit. Obviously the majority of reviews love it, I, however, feel cheated. Lovers of Hallmark movies will be happily satisfied.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

This One Got Me

This book really played with my emotions. First of all, it is well written. And the narrators are good--I don't think the importance of that can be overstated. A bad narrator can ruin a good book. But Nathalie Buscombe, Katie Scarfe, and Cassandra Campbell each narrates with just the right amount of emotion, without overacting, and they bring the characters to life in a way that makes this book even more affecting.

I am not really one to get outwardly emotional at books or movies, but even I found myself getting a bit misty at the end of this book. The characters are so engaging, they feel real. That is both a good and bad thing. It's a good thing because it's good writing. But it's a bad thing because this book is just so full of tragedy and unjustness and ruined innocence, and you, as the very engaged reader, are snatched through all that right with the characters. This is *not* a light read. It is heart-wrenching, and if I had known that beforehand, I might not have read this.

But I'm glad I did. Chase is masterful at creating atmosphere, and at building character. If I have any criticism of this book, it's that the justice is meager. There is one character who is so frustratingly awful, and since you're so emotionally attached to the characters, it affects you even more--it's not that there's no justice or comeuppance, it's just that it feels a bit disproportionate. There is romance in this book, and at times, it is a bit overwrought, but I wouldn't say it is that way overall. And I won't spoil anything, but I do think the very last part was unnecessary, and, in fact, may have detracted a bit from the nice place where the book should have ended.

I recommend this, but be ready for it. This is a book that will stay with me for a while.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect weekend listen!

This was the perfect listen for a snowy winter weekend. Characters you will fall in love with and one that you will love to hate. Great narration.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very well done

I really enjoy this story. The mystery kept you guessing. Good combo of YA and adult.